Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Rossview Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 800 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Friday, April 18, 2014

First and foremost I will say this, my children are both A/B students, have attended for three years and the school academically is great. Here is what I don't like...if you want to send your kids to a penitentiary everyday where all they care about is a TCAP test to guarantee funding, then it is great. They also believe in group punishment and will punish the whole class if one is out of line...by taking recess. My kids will sometimes go a week without recess for a slew of reasons; recess is constantly threatened. Kids cannot touch the walls without being disciplined, cannot go outside if there has been an inkling of rain in fear of tracking in "mud". I am happy to leave and not look back, so are my kids. For the most part, the teachers are great and they care; however, the principle is set in her ways and turns a blind eye to parental input. So, if you want your kids to go to a school for strictly good grades, then Rossview is great. If you want to deprive your kids of their happy childhood school days then Rossview is also great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2013

The only reason I didn't give Rossview 5 stars is because they are experiencing over crowding, which is not their fault. Dispite that, the staff is great, I found both secretaries to be professional, the teachers really care about the kids, the school is kept clean, they have a wonderful art program, music program...I really feel fortunate that my daughter has gone to K and 1st grade here, she has had a very nice experience. I also like that even at the kindergarten level, they teach the kids about bulling and encourage them not to behave that way towards each other.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2012

The secretary is rude to military families. I pulled the kids out after one long, frustrating year. As the face of the school, and the person who gets to decide whom you speak to next, you would think that they'd stick someone personable in that job. I'm so glad that I never have to deal with her again, and that she won't be able to sneer at my husband in his uniform anymore.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2011

My daughter attends kindergarten here! Her teacher Mrs. Williams is great. My daughter tells me everyday how much she loves her teacher and her friends (including specialty teachers like p.e. & music). They have a lot of nice things to offer the kids for learning. The building is really nice and the office & staff have been great on any encounter I had. I like the awards they do because my daughter works hard not to mark stars or get in trouble and I think it is good for the kids! Also one of my daughters friends in her class learns sign language and because of this my daughter even bemefits she knows her colors, alphabet and some key words! Honestly, I hope her friend is in a class with her every year because I think that is an amazing learning experience! I don't think I could be more pleased then I'am now! Gladly looking forward to the next 4 years at this school. The way it is zoned right now were zoned for northeast middle and high after rossview elementary and Im not to excited about that; if the zoning don't change by the time she is in middle school I will be moving to keep my daughter in all of the Rossview Schools! I think this school is wonderful in every way!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2010

We have been very pleased with Rossview Elementary. The teachers worked very hard with our children and treated them as individuals. We were previously at Sango, where we weren't very happy and the warmth and change has been tremendous.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2010

Our family recently moved to the Rossview area, and have been very pleased with both the teachers and administration of Rossview Elementary. The children have a great sense of school pride, and really take the school's mission statement to heart....this would indicate great leadership and clear communication. As a new school, there were times of struggle with organization and/or consistent communication, but I feel confident this will improve with each school year. The PTO is outstanding, and the technology that is provided for the children is terrific. My children looked forward to the awards ceremonies each 9 weeks, and knew that awards are given for excellence and excellence takes extra effort. This was a great learning tool to use with both my children. We look forward to the 2010-2011 school year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2010

Great school year, however I along with other parents have a great concern about how academic and character awards are given. Some students received the same awards each 9 weeks, while others never received an award, which were very well behaved students. Some students were relatives of administration and faculty and did not do anything out of the ordinary that other students in the school had done. Many students left awards feeling down and upset because they received nothing. Some students were on the honors list for report card, however did not get their name called out at awards. A great many parents have expressed their concern about the way awards are carried out. I hope next year awards are given out differently, or non at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

With it being a brand new school and a new principal, many had reservations. I believe this school is one of the best in Clarksville! My 4th and 5th grader loves the school and their teachers. They are both doing great academically and psychosocially!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2010

I love the school... I love the teachers!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

150 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
81%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 49% in 2013.

150 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
71%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

150 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
88%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 84% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

149 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
45%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 48% in 2013.

149 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
58%
Science

The state average for Science was 56% in 2013.

149 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
62%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 57% in 2013.

178 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
45%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

178 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
68%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

178 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
75%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students79%
African American68%
Asiann/a
Hispanic46%
White86%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilities67%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students74%
African American57%
Asiann/a
Hispanic64%
White79%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilities58%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students92%
African American93%
Asiann/a
Hispanic73%
White94%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities75%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilities92%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students60%
African American53%
Asiann/a
Hispanic31%
White63%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities48%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students73%
African American67%
Asiann/a
Hispanic62%
White74%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilities43%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students82%
African American80%
Asiann/a
Hispanic69%
White83%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilities48%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African American80%
Asiann/a
Hispanic92%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities76%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students91%
African American87%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilities67%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students77%
African American63%
Asian91%
Hispanicn/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilities56%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students90%
African American77%
Asian91%
Hispanicn/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilities70%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 67% 67%
Black 15% 24%
Hispanic 9% 6%
Two or more races 6% 1%
Asian 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 28%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2235 Cardinal Ln
Clarksville, TN 37043
Phone: (931) 648-5600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT