Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 31 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Rossview Elementary School 5

Posted February 06, 2016
- a parent
Wonderful school!! My child has been at Rossview for 4 years and each one has exceeded our expectations. The teachers truly care and the administration does a great job! The school itself is bright, clean and beautiful. We are truly thankful to be zoned for Rossview!

Rossview Elementary School 3

Posted October 22, 2015
- a parent
Rossview is a good school for academics. It lacks in everything else. I have liked the teachers we have had, but I don't agree with recess being taken away as punishment, or the kids not being able to talk during lunch, as these are the only free times for students. I also don't like how extra activities are only for 3-5 graders, and that most of those are try out activities even though they are not competitive teams. Art, music, and athletics should be offered to all students who show an interest. After all, 8-10 year olds are still learning. Running club is offered to all 3-5 graders and the total kids who want to participate are split into two semesters. This way they all get a chance to join. I believe the other clubs at school should be the same. I also think k-2 should be offered something. In society today parents have their kids in extra curriculars as young as 18 months. Not all parents can afford those activities so something offered through school would be great. Rossview does have high parent support so it would be possible. Overall, it's a good school, but not great


Rossview Elementary School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted October 21, 2015
- a parent
We love the library staff!! They are awesome women and very helpful to the students. They also have fun reward systems and contests for reading, and I love the AR program.

Rossview Elementary School 5

Posted July 10, 2015
- a parent
My daughter learned so much from going to Rossview, academically and socially. The teachers are very efficient and I know they work extra hard because of the information they give to us parents - homework packets, summer packets, children-made books, resources, etc. My child would come home with treats and rewards that I know the teachers bought with their own money. She even received a card over the summer. The administrators care for the students too. Not only that I am confident that my child is receiving great education, I also have no worries when my child is at school.

Rossview Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted July 10, 2015
- a parent
The teachers are experts in teaching the curriculum, they communicate with parents positively and professionally, they go out of their way to make school a positive experience for their students, and use their own money to give students treats and rewards. Hats off to them!


Rossview Elementary School 1

Posted April 18, 2014
- a parent
First and foremost I will say this, my children are both A/B students, have attended for three years and the school academically is great. Here is what I don't like...if you want to send your kids to a penitentiary everyday where all they care about is a TCAP test to guarantee funding, then it is great. They also believe in group punishment and will punish the whole class if one is out of line...by taking recess. My kids will sometimes go a week without recess for a slew of reasons; recess is constantly threatened. Kids cannot touch the walls without being disciplined, cannot go outside if there has been an inkling of rain in fear of tracking in "mud". I am happy to leave and not look back, so are my kids. For the most part, the teachers are great and they care; however, the principle is set in her ways and turns a blind eye to parental input. So, if you want your kids to go to a school for strictly good grades, then Rossview is great. If you want to deprive your kids of their happy childhood school days then Rossview is also great.

Rossview Elementary School 4

Posted August 31, 2013
- a parent
The only reason I didn't give Rossview 5 stars is because they are experiencing over crowding, which is not their fault. Dispite that, the staff is great, I found both secretaries to be professional, the teachers really care about the kids, the school is kept clean, they have a wonderful art program, music program...I really feel fortunate that my daughter has gone to K and 1st grade here, she has had a very nice experience. I also like that even at the kindergarten level, they teach the kids about bulling and encourage them not to behave that way towards each other.

Rossview Elementary School 2

Posted August 07, 2012
- a parent
The secretary is rude to military families. I pulled the kids out after one long, frustrating year. As the face of the school, and the person who gets to decide whom you speak to next, you would think that they'd stick someone personable in that job. I'm so glad that I never have to deal with her again, and that she won't be able to sneer at my husband in his uniform anymore.


Rossview Elementary School 5

Posted January 08, 2011
- a parent
My daughter attends kindergarten here! Her teacher Mrs. Williams is great. My daughter tells me everyday how much she loves her teacher and her friends (including specialty teachers like p.e. & music). They have a lot of nice things to offer the kids for learning. The building is really nice and the office & staff have been great on any encounter I had. I like the awards they do because my daughter works hard not to mark stars or get in trouble and I think it is good for the kids! Also one of my daughters friends in her class learns sign language and because of this my daughter even bemefits she knows her colors, alphabet and some key words! Honestly, I hope her friend is in a class with her every year because I think that is an amazing learning experience! I don't think I could be more pleased then I'am now! Gladly looking forward to the next 4 years at this school. The way it is zoned right now were zoned for northeast middle and high after rossview elementary and Im not to excited about that; if the zoning don't change by the time she is in middle school I will be moving to keep my daughter in all of the Rossview Schools! I think this school is wonderful in every way!

Rossview Elementary School 5

Posted July 13, 2010
- a parent
We have been very pleased with Rossview Elementary. The teachers worked very hard with our children and treated them as individuals. We were previously at Sango, where we weren't very happy and the warmth and change has been tremendous.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Rossview Elementary School
2235 Cardinal Lane, Clarksville, TN  37043
(931) 645-1403
Last modified Rossview Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Rossview Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 31 reviews. Top