Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Liberty Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 29, 2014

My child has been at Liberty for three years and has excelled in his growth and studies. All his teachers have been above par and dedicated and involved with us in all aspects.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2014

I am pleased how teachers are involved with students and when needed attention is given. My children have attended this school for two years and looking forward for my little one to attend soon.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2014

My daughter is in Kindergarten this year and was enrolled in the Pre K program last year. We both couldn't be more pleased with the amount of time her teachers have put towards her advancement. She is extremely happy with the teachers she has had. Any time I have had a concern her teachers have got back to me very quickly. I have had nothing but wonderful experiences with all the staff there. I loved it when I attended the school and now my daughter loves it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2014

If I could give NO stars I would!!! My son attended this school in 2012 in Mrs. McQuilkins class. By January I had pulled him out of the school all together w/o warning! My son was bullied by McQuilkin, yelled at, hit and smacked, constantly targeted by her for one reason or another for this reason and that reason. Until I picked him up one day, after he escorted to my vehicle still sobbing, in front of the other 'riders' whom were pointing and laughing and making fun of him(calling him names like "what a big cry baby"). He was humiliated in front of his fellow students at the hands of the staff. Because of this school, Mrs. McQuilkin and the Liberty staff, my son has now been diagnosed with PTSD and age regression. He's 7 and and flinches whenever someone raises hands in the air too close to him. His love of learning has gone because of her! He has also regressed in some areas whereas he has frequents mannerisms and reactions of a 4 or 5 yr old now. Our family has payed dearly since homeschooling my son, but it's been worth every debt after the damage this school has done to my child!!!! Just listen, pay attention, and fight for your kids if somethings not right!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2013

This is my son first year is school and he hates it he does not want to go to school says the tracher Mrs. Mcquilkin is always yelling at them I helped with math class and 2 boys told me that same thing they don't like her and she yells at them my son is always clipping down he says he is board she repeats the mae thing over and over. I work with the PTO and am forced to sign my son out if I want to walk out of the school at the end of the day and have recieved a kletter that I sign him out too much but he stays in the classroom till school is out. ASo even if parents want to be involved with the school and helping out they get letters saying they are signing their child out too much so what is the point of being involved
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2013

I love how involved the teachers are with the students. my daughter has a learning disability and since moving here and going to this school she has made a major improvement
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2013

My children are happy at Liberty. the teachers care and the administration listens to concerns. We need more parents to be active in the PTO.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2011

My kids have attended Liberty for a total of almost 5 years. For the most part the school is lacking respect for other cultures and deversities. I can't help feel that when my son advances finally to middle school next year he may receive the respect he deserves. He has been bullied, and the prinicipal can care less. I continue to pray that my other child will have a better experience than her older brother. I even had a teacher write on my sons report card that it was basically an accident that he received all A's. I kept this and it has been my sons motivation ever since, guess what Liberty he continues to be on the A B honor roll.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2011

My son has been there for 2 years now and he love it. The teachears he had so far had been great and dedicate to the students. The reading leves are amazing. And they focus and care for the students. But what the school neads are more parents to get involved. Teaches can not do our jobs as parents we need to support our kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2010

My son is in 1st grade at Liberty and it is amazing how far he has come this year and how much he has learned. Being from Illinois, I was initially apprehensive as to what the quality of education would be in Tennessee, but after the strides my son has made both academically and behaviorally this year, I must admit I am nothing but impressed with the quality of education my son has received at Liberty this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2010

My daughter has been there for three years now and I love the courtesy and the safety measures the school has in place. Teachers are prompt with repsonses to questions it is a wonderful school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2009

My doughtor attended liberty for 2 years, and my son attended PK. All the teachers they had were so great. They both had lots of fun, and I loved the musinc performances. school building were clean, and most of the staff were understanding and helpful. However, the front office staffs are not friendry; rather, rude, nor are the most of transeportation staff. also, the lunch time seems to be too short, especially for younger grade students. note:There is a limit to how many PK student they can have.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2009

i love this school so does my daughter the teachers are amazing the classrooms are not to big so it gives time for the teacher to have time for each child and i love all the extras the school has the music program the recess and labs we are going to miss this school hope there is an awesome school like this in bragg.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2008

My daughter is currently in Kindergarten at Liberty. She was in pre-k last year and they were wonderful. if you have young kids going to school there is no need to worry about Liberty they truly love the kids and take every step needed to protect them
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2007

I have had four children in Liberty Elementary and I currently have three. My oldest son has since progressed to middle school. My children love Liberty Elementary. They think it s one of the best places in the world. My children have experienced other schools; military, civilian, home school and private school. It is clear that they like this school and are doing well. They enjoy their teachers and their principals. I have had children in Liberty now for four years. I have sat in the classrooms with my sons and daughters and observed the interaction between them and their teachers. This is a Great School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2007

my daughter and son go to this school and they both love it, very good teachers and friendly environment
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2006

I have two children at Liberty Elem. and it has been a wonderful experience. My son is now going into the sixth grade and says he is going to miss Liberty so much. My daughter is so excited about going into third. The teachers are wonderful and the office staff is always ready to help with any questions. The principals and staff are always ready with a smile and encouraging word for all the students as they enter and exit the building. It was easy to communicate with the teachers and they really cared about my children's progress. I would recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2005

My son went to this school in K and part of 1st grade. I couldn't have asked for a better teacher in either grade. They acknowledged that my son was a little more advanced in certain subjects and didn't limit him but supported him and us as the parents greatly. We now live in Virginia (military) and wish the teachers here cared about the kids more than the children just being a number. I loved Liberty and so did my son. He can't wait to move back to clarksville and go back to liberty. Thank you very much for a great learning experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2005

I believe that my son is being provided a truly average curriculum in this school. The school work he brings home is 95% ditto work, which requires exremely little teaching by the teacher. This may be just the teacher, but each teacher's curriculum is reviewed by higher authorities in the school. Also, the playground is a joke compared with any school from California. The children seldom get to have recess. It's not every day. I believe that this is a serious flaw in their instruction to my child. New facilities do not always equal quality education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

liberty is a school where the teachers and faculty members really care about the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
60%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 49% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
39%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
69%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 84% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
27%

2010

 
 
28%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 48% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
43%
Science

The state average for Science was 56% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
43%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 57% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
29%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
53%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
62%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students55%
African American38%
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
White67%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Students with disabilities27%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students38%
African American18%
Asiann/a
Hispanic33%
White53%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Students with disabilities8%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students63%
African American40%
Asiann/a
Hispanic58%
White80%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilities35%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students87%
African American80%
Asiann/a
Hispanic75%
White93%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities58%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students52%
African American39%
Asiann/a
Hispanic67%
White54%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilities44%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students59%
African American49%
Asiann/a
Hispanic61%
White62%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilities45%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students65%
African American52%
Asiann/a
Hispanic56%
White75%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilities50%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African American91%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities83%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students57%
African American57%
Asiann/a
Hispanic52%
White58%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities80%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students62%
African American57%
Asiann/a
Hispanic67%
White65%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilities53%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students67%
African American61%
Asiann/a
Hispanic76%
White67%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilities73%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities87%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 52% 67%
Black 22% 23%
Hispanic 15% 7%
Two or more races 11% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 66%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

849 South Liberty Church Rd
Clarksville, TN 37042
Phone: (931) 905-5729

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT