Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cleveland High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 27, 2008

Cleveland High School is an excellent high school in spite of the fact that the school has had a marked increase in student population without benefit of increased teachers to lower teacher/pupil ratios. There are many excellent teachers throughout this school in a variety of subject areas. Our faculty has learned to do more with less because CHS has not been a priority with system administrators due to their laser focus on elementary and middle schools. Our school of excellence could very well be in peril if the needs for expanded faculty, class offerings, and building needs are not addressed immediately. Our system is funded well for city systems in the state, we just need to do a better job of maintaining the only city school in our system that will serve each and every child. Cleveland High has fabulous teachers, coaches, and administration. They just need help from the top.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2008

CHS is a great school! The principal is respected by all. He is very approachable and easy to work with. Parent involvement is high and encouraged. The honors courses at Cleveland High School are certainly equal to the best private schools around. And the marching band program is the best in the state!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2008

I think that the school is amazing especially the choral department. We also have a new library and brand new computers. A state of the are cooling and heating system and great teachers. Although the math is alittle weak the english and science classes are exceptionally great. Mr. Gibson and Mrs. Pace have made a big impact in my life. You two rock!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 2, 2007

Academic programs are weak, the honors classes were easier than the regular courses. CHS left me completley unprepared for college. I achieved a 24 my ACT during my Junior year at that school, and I attribute very little to the shool. Poor leadership, and even worse dicipline. As a former student (class 03), I felt like I was in prision there. The faculty is always watching over your shoulder. Teachers are lazy, power-tripping, and just want to get into everyone's home business. The school is getting on the verge of overcrowding too. The library is bad, and never was used. The computers are bad too, except for in the new additions. I agree w/ the previous post about the band dept. Mr. Burton and the marching band was the only thing that made going to that school bearable.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 21, 2007

The test scores for CHS are misleading. Excellence continues all the way through this school-especially the upper grades!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 16, 2006

This is a great school. The academic standards stress that students put forth an effort to attain the content and a level of comprehension. The athletic programs at Cleveland are top in the state. Its past history of state championships include Football, basketball, and wrestling. There are many clubs with which students can actively participate. In a single word Cleveland High School is Great!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 12, 2006

I attended CHS for all of my high school career, and might i say that the experience was very poor. In all my 4 years, i had 2 teachers that i liked, not counting my 2 band directors. The administration is poorly handled, along with discipline. The football players will pass any class, no matter how much they goof off and don't do their work, when the other kids have to work their butts off to get a decent grade. Props to the band program though. That is all that kept me in high school. Mr. Burton and Mr. Riggins are top notch!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 26, 2005

My child has attended CHS for the past 2 years with 2 more to go. She has thrived there....the Marching Band program is fantastic and has provided her with leadership and travel opportunities. The academic program for those on the college track is challenging and offers lots of individual choices while still empasizing core curriculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2004

The school has a history of being a quality school. The teachers, besides the coaches, are great. The coaches are great at coaching but poor at teaching. The math department is extremely weak, but the science and English departments are tops.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2004

School seems to choose battles wisely. Concerned with what is important, not the picky things that do not matter in the long run. My child much prefers it over middle school. Teachers as a whole do well, coaches however should be left to coach - kids deserve teachers who are really into the subjects they teach. Right on to the principal & band! Overall a great school for resposible young people. If your child is prone to get into or cause trouble, that is not the school's fault .. we like this school .. good to have a principal with backbone for his students.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

263 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
45%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 42% in 2013.

329 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
37%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 62% in 2013.

358 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
58%
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

329 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
69%
English II

The state average for English II was 59% in 2013.

377 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
62%
English III

The state average for English III was 40% in 2013.

324 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
49%
U.S. History

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students58%
African American50%
Asiann/a
Hispanic54%
White61%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities25%
English language learners42%

Algebra II

All Students42%
African American20%
Asian71%
Hispanic22%
White48%
Economically disadvantaged24%
Students with disabilities18%
English language learnersn/a

Biology I

All Students64%
African American52%
Asiann/a
Hispanic43%
White72%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Students with disabilities44%
English language learnersn/a

English I

All Students75%
African American55%
Asiann/a
Hispanic67%
White81%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities22%
English language learnersn/a

English II

All Students66%
African American48%
Asian82%
Hispanic50%
White74%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Students with disabilities31%
English language learnersn/a

English III

All Students51%
African American21%
Asiann/a
Hispanic24%
White60%
Economically disadvantaged29%
Students with disabilities7%
English language learnersn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic95%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 67%
Black 14% 23%
Hispanic 10% 7%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 48%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

850 Raider Dr
Cleveland, TN 37312
Phone: (423) 478-1113

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Harvest Chr Academy
Cleveland, TN






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT