Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cleveland Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 10, 2013

a very caring ,clean and of all the staff I have met they are so professional and interested in the students education and not just putting there time in.the school of the future!!


Posted January 31, 2012

Not good, they don't care about the students don't return calls, and just think they are king. Parents if you can get out of it don't send your kids to this achool
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2010

Awsome school and most of the teachers were nice. And I loved it there :P


Posted February 15, 2010

Wonderful school. Offers many facets for the students to reach their goals, as well motivates them to achieve their full potential. The ICU Program is a program that gives the student a second chance and helps them learn the material that they missed from the previous quarter. Another opportunity for improvement is the YMCA Rockets After School Program. They have such a great program that helps reach out to students and their needs. This After School Program provides opportunities to grow in their academic, physical, and social careers. An A+ School!!!!


Posted January 26, 2010

I am so proud to be a part of Cleveland Middle School. The Administration, staff, faculty and parents are top shelf in my opinion. The communication is excellent between teachers and parents and the teachers go out of their way to prepare your children for high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2008

As a mom of a second year CMS student I feel so good about the choice of schools. She had attended a county school fro K-5th and after complete review and tours of the other schools in our area CMS won our vote hands down. As a mom of a transitioning 6th grader of course we were very nervous.. Our nerves were quickly calmed.. the safety of this school is top notch and the administration and staff of CMS are A+++.....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2008

My child is a sixth grader at CMS and a special needs child. I cannot begin to tell you how blessed we feel that he chose to attend CMS. Our transition has been so smooth. His self-confidence has blossomed under the caring and exceptional teachers on 6 Purple. Because of their innovative teaching, the team teachers were recently asked to present at the National Middle School Conference. WOW! There is also no other school in Cleveland City or Bradley County with the kind of daily parental involvement seen at CMS. I would recommend it in a heartbeat!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2008

This is our 2nd year at CMS and we love it. My child is a 7th grader who is very active in sports, clubs, etc. and still makes honor roll. All of the staff are great to work with and we feel very welcome at CMS. We have always heard that city schools are better in education than county and it is true. We have a lot of friends that have come to CMS from county schools and the children are trying to catch up academically because county is behind some. We could not ask for a better experience so far. Thank you to the staff at CMS for open communication for the parents and the child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2008

We have had nothing but positive experiences at CMS. My kids are not sports kids, but they've found mentors and interests in Robotics and the Library, and really feel part of the community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2008

We have had a great experience at Cleveland Middle School. The teachers are all top notch. Mr. Elliott the principal is on top of things, very informed and is interested in parent involvement. I look forward to many more years at CMS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2008

We made the decision to enroll our son at Cleveland Middle school after attending a private Christian elementary school. What a great decision!! The building is state of the art. There are several computer labs, an on campus television studio and classes in engineering....all at a middle school! The teachers are amazing and willing to help. The extra curricular activites range from all sports to chess, Robotics, and an amazing muscial program. The muscial dinner theater that CMS puts on each spring rivals any high school production. The principal is great. He will meet with you and take the take to listen to your ideas. He has creative ideas that make CMS a great place to be. The PTO is active in making the school a great place to be. CMS is an amazing school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2008

My child was a 6th grader entering a whole new world with middle school. His color(group) was Green. We had a great experience with his teachers. Yes, my child does plays sports so not having 2 hours of homework every night was a blessing. We have had a positive experience in the City Schools so far. Thank You!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2007

Cleveland Middle is a great school. Most of the comments before me had horrible grammar.I love Cleveland Middle School. I think it's awsome. I'd recomend it to anyone, really.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 27, 2006

My child has gone to CMS for 2 years now, has played sports and gotten good grades. I don't know what is up with some of the teachers but they seem to hate kids and their ruining it for the other teachers that love them and still love to teach. Yes I believe change is needed there, my child will go to a county school next year. JR
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2006

What has happened in the city schools? I t seems if you have an troubled child, there's noone to help. The schools idea ofdealing with behavior problems is to outsource to an appointed judge or lawyer. If you are not living on the north side of Cleveland with a padded pocket you child wont survive. Another problem in CMS is the dress code. This again was handed down from a elected financailly stable school official. It hasn't helped any thing just caused parents to have to spend more money. Again this above and beyond the parents- whose the kids belong to. THey have no say so about raising there very own children. The schools tell us anymore what to do with 'our kids'. The start time shoud be considered maybe changing itfor the children- so thery can get a good nights sleep.. Anymore it is hard for theme to get8 hourssleep.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2005

CMS is in desperate need of some major changes. If your child is not in sports and his parents are not rich or influential in the community then your child gets no consideration. They simply do not matter. School officials are experts in avoiding parents of the 'nobody's'. Even simple things like being left off the Honor Roll list printed in the local paper at the end of each semester even they maintained the required grades or never making the Beta Club list that is reported nationwide. All awards are presented according to the prestige attached to the last name of the childs parents. It is a real shame.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2005

I am disappointed in CMS. Principle and teachers. If a student is having a problem in classes parents are not notified, you find out when grade cards are sent home. A requested conference from a parent is treated as an imposition and correspondence with the principle is ignored. Parent involvement is limited to the 'chosen' few. We are limited in Cleveland in our choices of Middle Schools but things at CMS need to change drastically. We shouldn't have to chose the lesser of the two evils when it comes to our childrens education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2005

I feel its the best Clev. has to offer but am not pleased when I compare it to my other childs school outside of Clev. High turnover in the sports area with coaches and the fund raiser money not being applied to the area for the sport that raises the money should be a deterrent for any family who has multiple athletes. I do not feel I can communicate openly with many teachers because children in the past have been treated unfairly from that point on and eventually have left the school all together.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2005

I cannot say I would recommend this school to anyone. When you attempt to resolve any problems they are only answered via email. When you schedule parent/teacher conferences, the teacher you most need to see is never in the meeting. Attempts to reach the principal also go ignored. If you have any questions, concerns or problems they do not want to know about it. The only way I could recommend this school to anyone is if they never needed to communicate with teachers or staff and they didn't mind their child having 6 hours of homework everynight.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2004

Cleveland Middle School strives to be a leader in Middle School Education. Numerous extracurricular activities are offered both before and after school. Teachers are willing to assist students in learning. Clevelans Middle School is community oriented, having recently raised over $10,000 to build a Habitat for Humanity home for a handicapped couple. Great things are happening at Cleveland Middle! Parents are always welcome!
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2013.

406 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
46%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

404 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
58%
Science

The state average for Science was 62% in 2013.

405 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
53%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

405 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

399 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
45%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 47% in 2013.

399 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
50%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

401 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
61%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

400 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 41% in 2013.

282 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
23%

2011

 
 
17%

2010

 
 
18%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 47% in 2013.

370 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
50%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

370 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
60%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 82% in 2013.

370 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students49%
African American28%
Asiann/a
Hispanic51%
White52%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Students with disabilities35%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students54%
African American32%
Asiann/a
Hispanic59%
White58%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Students with disabilities30%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students54%
African American33%
Asiann/a
Hispanic51%
White59%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Students with disabilities21%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students84%
African American78%
Asiann/a
Hispanic86%
White84%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities41%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students56%
African American38%
Asian80%
Hispanic50%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White60%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Students with disabilities32%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students52%
African American33%
Asian50%
Hispanic49%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White56%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Students with disabilities28%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students74%
African American58%
Asiann/a
Hispanic63%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilities47%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students83%
African American73%
Asiann/a
Hispanic76%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities45%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students38%
African American36%
Asiann/a
Hispanic47%
White36%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Students with disabilities15%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students46%
African American32%
Asiann/a
Hispanic32%
White51%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Students with disabilities28%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students69%
African American61%
Asiann/a
Hispanic61%
White71%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilities41%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students84%
African American80%
Asian90%
Hispanic73%
White86%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilities53%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
93%
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

English I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 74% 67%
Black 14% 23%
Hispanic 10% 7%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 2%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 58%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3635 Georgetown Rd North West
Cleveland, TN 37312
Phone: (423) 479-9641

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Harvest Chr Academy
Cleveland, TN





Bowman Hills School
Cleveland, TN


Ocoee Middle School
Cleveland, TN


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT