Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
20 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Black Fox Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted July 26, 2015
- a parent
After sending 2 students all the way through Black Fox, I can certainly attest to the focus and development of character issues and why they matter. Students are rewarded often and disciplined when necessary.

Black Fox Elementary School 5

Posted July 26, 2015
- a parent
The principal, teachers and SRO make the students feel safe, important and encouraged. The sense of community that they create and sustain is unmatched anywhere else. I wish the school still went through 8th grade like it did in the past. Black Fox quickly becomes part of your family - and the principal is second to none! I have never known one person to care so sincerely about so many students every need, inside of school and out. Priceless!


Black Fox Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted July 26, 2015
- a parent
I have 2 kids that spent all of their elementary years at Black Fox. As a parent, the teachers we had went way beyond the extra mile to get to know each of the children in their class. They care about what is going on in their lives. My children learned so many formative qualities while at this school. One quality was definitely compassion for others - modeled by their exceptional principal! Each teacher we had was accessible by phone & email & I was never turned away when requesting a one-on-one conference. Several teachers, including the reading recovery teacher, went far and above in working with our son & his challenges in learning. We loved the atmosphere of Black Fox and still return for events because of the amazing sense of community that still exists there.

Black Fox Elementary School 1

Posted November 21, 2014
- a parent
I have family that goes to black fox and they love the teachers. They learn a lot but the school in general is horrible. The cafe staff is horrible. They give kids that are allergic to stuff to eat for lunch. They write on them. The principal is horrible. They need a new one.

Black Fox Elementary School 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a community member
We are grandparents who have a granddaughter in the first grade at Black Fox. We went to the Grandparents' Day Night and loved her teacher. We were very impressed with the learning materials available for students and individual student's work displayed on the hall walls. We were impressed with the computer lab also. Everyone was friendly and enthusiastic. We could tell our granddaughter really loves her teachers, friends, and has learned so much already. Keep up the great work Black Fox Elementary! You know a school is great when your granddaughter looks forward to climbing the bus steps each weekday to begin another exciting day of learning with teachers who really care.:)


Black Fox Elementary School 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a community member
Great school! Granddaughter loves it. Great teachers. Wonderful learning surroundings in the classrooms. Displays of work in hallways indicate an effective learning environment.

Black Fox Elementary School 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
Great school. Energetic and enthusiastic teachers who love teaching children. The cafeteria has very healthy food. The after school program is fantastic.Friendly, safe bus drivers .

Black Fox Elementary School 5

Posted August 04, 2011
- a parent
My family LOVES Black Fox. When my oldest graduated from 5th grade last spring, he was so upset that he wouldn't be able to come back to Black Fox. The teachers are wonderful and very caring. The principal is amazing. She really makes it feel like a family. She knows every student's name and which parent they go with. Kudos! My youngest will bein second grade and I look forward to more wonderful experiences at Black Fox.


Black Fox Elementary School 5

Posted July 12, 2011
- a parent
I have three grown children who attended Black Fox, and now my grandchildren will start in the fall. My children have excelled in academics through college and in their careers thanks to their excellent education base at Black Fox Elementary School. I look forward to my grandkids achieving even greater heights!

Black Fox Elementary School 5

Posted October 30, 2009
- a parent
we moved from the UK to TN. to Black fox school.. Every School should be like this school. Its a wonderful school, the teachers are happy, the kids are happy, happy kids are keen kids. I recommend the school to everyone.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Black Fox Elementary School
3119 Varnell Road, Cleveland, TN  37311
(423) 478-8800
Last modified Black Fox Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Black Fox Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. Top