Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Blue Springs Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 15, 2009

Everything the other parents said is absolutely true. When we went to register last year, Princpal Bailey personally escorted us around the school. She was so friendly and personable, as was every other staff member we met this year. The teachers maintained excellent communication with us concerning our kids' grades and behaviour. If they spotted a potential problem area, they were on it immediately, with constant communication with us, going above and beyond the call of duty many times. I can't say enough! I almost cried when we met the teachers, it was such a welcome change from the uncaring, harried teachers my children were used to. We are looking to buy a house that will allow us to stay at BSE...they are that good!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2008

I have two wonderful granddaughters who attend this school my youngest one is in k we were told by doctors she would be about 2 years behind her grade level she has a wonderful teacher whom she really likes and they all work with her so well she is at the level of all the other students her doctors are amazed. Belive it or not her specialist recomened this school to us because ot its location and the learnig possiblites. It was a blessing i would recomend it to anyone. All the teachers and princiaple and staff are great.


Posted April 18, 2008

I can't say enough about this school. Blue Springs is a family. You walk in and immediately feel a warm welcome from the school secretary and nine times out of ten the principal, Deb Bailey is there to welcome you with a smile! My oldest child has been to other schools before moving to the area and WOW what a difference! I always felt like I was a bother when I wanted to volunteer but Blue Springs always welcomes you with open arms. The computer lab is outstanding and all classrooms have up to date computers. The teachers care more than I could ever believe teachers could for their students. They work hard on each child's learning level to make sure every child is progressing. My oldest child attended a couple of years while my youngest has attended K-5. We are lucky to have BSE in our community! WONDERFUL SCHOOL!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2007

Although the school is small and the buildings old, the sense of community and level of education is excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2007

I absolutely love Blue Springs School. The teachers are all wonderful and my son is learning so much. I would definitely recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2005

I love how the school really cares that our children get an education , I have seen such a difference in both of my kids that attend this school , it is a small but functional school with very caring teachers , pricipal, and SRO.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2004

This is the best disciplined school in Bradley County. My child has learned so much. We are proud of our principle who is a true visionary, and also proud of our National Champion Cheerleaders.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2004

My daughter has had the honor of attending Blue Springs for 5 years now. Principal Newman is the best addition to Blue Springs that has ever occurred. The staff is excellent, as well as the technology grant that we have received. Amazingly, the cheerleaders are the 2004 TN State and National Champs. It may be a small school, but don't let that fool you! It is a representation of some of the tremendous future that will be exhibited to our community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2004

Both of my children have attended this school K-5. It is absolutely a model envonment for learning. Each and every teacher is a wonderfully caring person with the childrens' best interests at heart. Every child is known by name to all, and likewise are the parents. Every child is treated like an individual, and the teachers know just how to help them explore and expand their virtues, and conquer their weaknesses. 150 words just aren't enough to speak of the good things happening in this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

Bluesprings, great teachesr loving careing theyreally make the shcool good. Thanks to all the hard work all of them do each day. I rate this school one of the best in the state. Have had 2 student here and 2 more to go.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2003

My children will be attending this school for the first time this year, they will be in in 1st and 3rd grade. I switched my children to here from waterville. Waterville has no interest in the childs overall education, all they worry about is AR reading program and lesson line.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2003

Sheena Newman has done an outstanding job bringing Blue Springs Elementary into the media to allow the community to see the great school that it is.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
44%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 49% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
38%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
56%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 84% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
28%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 48% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
46%
Science

The state average for Science was 56% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
41%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 57% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
15%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
41%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
51%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 93% 67%
Black 4% 24%
Hispanic 2% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 75%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (423) 478-8851

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4832 Blue Springs Rd
Cleveland, TN 37311
Phone: (423) 478-8801

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



George R Stuart
Cleveland, TN





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT