Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Oak Grove Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 11, 2010

Absolute awesome school. My family and I moved from NY and we have been fortunate to be admitted to this school. Although there are gripes about out of zone parents, I find the school the be very diverse in it curriculm and offerings of perfoming arts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2010

This is our first year at Oak Grove and my girls absolutely love the school, the teachers and especially Mr. Bryson. He truly cares about each and every student in the school. Oak Grove rocks!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2010

This is our first year at Oak Grove and my girls absolutely LOVE the school, the teachers and especially Mr. Bryson. He truly cares about each and every student in the school. Oak Grove rocks!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2009

Oak Grove is an outstanding school. The teachers are all so wonderful. You can tell they truly love their students and their school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2009

I love Oak Grove. My son went there K-5 and my daughter is in the 3rd grade. Every teacher is amazing. They each bring a different, but, exciting viewpoint to teaching. The programs are great and the parents really bond together to make this a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2009

I am so happy to be a part of the staff of the the best school in Bradley County
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 6, 2009

Staff, parents, students are the best I have ever been around. Very postive learning environment. Children are always number one.


Posted October 6, 2009

My child looks forward to going to school at Oak Grove every day. He shares what he has learned with our family every night at dinner! It is quite obvious that he has a most dedicated and remarkable teacher. He also loves the Principal. Mr. Bryson has the best interest and well-being of each student in his heart every day. What a great experience for my child to have. We are most fortunate to have discovered this great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2009

Oak Grove is a fantastic school. My daughter is proud of the fact her school is one of only six arts intergrated schools in Tennessee.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2009

the teachers at Oak Grove work really hard to tend to every students needs.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 6, 2009

It is great to work in a place where there is so much support between the parents, faculty and community. I went to Oak Grove as a student and I am proud to teach there. Both of my wonderful sons attended Oak Grove, and are very successful adults, thanks in part to the wonderful teachers they had at Oak Grove.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 6, 2009

I am so proud to work at Oak Grove School. I wouldn't be able to find a more caring principal and staff members anywhere else!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 6, 2009

I cannot imagine working any other place!!! Mr. Bryson truly loves his staff and wants what is best for us. I know that each day I will be encouraged to give my best and do my best!!! Oak Grove is my home away from home.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 6, 2009

I am so glad to be a part of this awesome school! Oak Grove Rocks!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 6, 2009

I cannot imagine working any other place!!! Mr. Bryson truly wants what is best for his staff. I know that my fellow co-workers will always give me their support and encouragement. Oak Grove is my home away from home..
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 6, 2009

Oak Grove is a great place to be!!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 6, 2009

I love Oak Grove! My son is flourishing under the instruction of the teachers and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2009

Oak Grove is a positive community-based school. We have beneficial particpation by parents and volunteers who support us in providing a welcoming and nurturing environment. We value the worth of the individual and their strengths, while striving to support academic achievement for all students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 4, 2009

My child loves the computer lab. I love that the school's curriculum is centered around the arts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2009

This is a great school where the teachers really care about their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
61%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 49% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
49%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
73%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 84% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
41%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 48% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
52%
Science

The state average for Science was 56% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
41%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 57% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
23%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
42%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
30%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students61%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White63%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students51%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White55%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students67%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students86%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students53%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White53%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students55%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White55%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students60%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White61%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students91%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students70%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White69%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students62%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White63%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students65%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White66%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students92%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 94% 67%
Hispanic 4% 7%
Black 2% 23%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 61%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (423) 478-8866

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

400 South East Durkee Rd
Cleveland, TN 37323
Phone: (423) 478-8812

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


George R Stuart
Cleveland, TN



Michigan Avenue
Cleveland, TN




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT