Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Crosswind Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 734 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 12, 2011

Excellent school with gifted teachers. Enrichment available to all students in all grades. Our children have excelled at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2010

This is great elementary school because each child is an individual, and is treated like they are important,and are taught to their level regardless of grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2009

This is the best school in the area right now. We selected Crosswind over private because it is better. If they gave us private for free and charged for Crosswinds, we would pay. I went to a local private school by the way. If you value parental involvement and great performance at every level then this is the school to choose. Did I mention that it is free!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2008

We have moved alot and and have had children in elementary schools in three states. We have always been deeply concerned in the value of our children's education. We have had 2 children attend Crosswinds, including our first grader this year. This is a great school with involved, professional teachers and staff. Mrs. Lamkins is amazing - she knows every child's name! Any parent should rest easy knowing that their child will receive a quality, well rounded experience at Crosswinds.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2008

I agree, Kindergarten is very rigid. My daughter just completed kindergarten but she did learn a lot and received a good foundation for her learning. I do believe that more creativity and social opportunity would benefit the children at this age. What happened to show and tell?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2008

Kindergarten is extremely rigid, little value is placed on the value of the individual child. Children begin kindergarten here with the expectation that they will misbehave and the teaching approach is consistently punitive. Play in kindergarten is openly discouraged and environment is heavily structured. I found it to be an inappropriate learning environment for 5 and 6 year olds, one that seems to disregard lastest learning and research on the best ways to teach young children. We withdrew our child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2008

There are plenty of extra curricular activities at crosswind. This is our first year at Crosswind and we are truly impressed. Moving my kids from an extreamly expensive private school in Germantown I was nervous but this school has more than exceeded my expectations. My husband and I feel like fools for spending all the money on private shcool when this school is run just as well (mabey even better because Ms Lampkins-the principle is wonderful and runs an fabulous school). The teachers are great and really care for the kids and the parent involvement is extremely high,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2007

When parents get involved in school, they know what is happening. My son has been at Crosswind since Kindergarten and now he is in fifth grade. This is a wonderful school and a school that really cares about children. They do provide extra curricular activities, let me list just a few: Tutoring for Math and Reading, Chorus and Drama, Hands on Science, Reading enrichment, Newspaper, Chess Club, Club Invention, Chinese Language Club, Knitting, S.E.L.F. fitness, Tech Club and BEST Club. Thanks Crosswind for providing my son a well round education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2007

No extracurricular activies. too many parents wandering around not doing anything but gossip and visiting. let the teachers teach! less cutsy stuff!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2007

I have nothing but great things to say about Crosswind. Moving to a new area with kids with special needs can be stressful because of not knowing what to expect from a new school. But from day one, Ms. Lampkins, principal, office staff, teachers, and everyone made us feel welcome. The kids have adapted very well and love this school! We are very sad that we will be moving at the end of the school year. We will miss Crosswind Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2007

Crosswind is a fantastic school!! My son has been there for 3 years and we are very pleased. The principal knows everyone by their first name and she makes every child feel special. I love the parental involvement!! I think parents can make a difference and this is demonstrated at Crosswind. I am very sad that we will be moving at the end of this school year. Your child would be lucky to attend such an excellent school. The teachers are great as well. We have been blessed with such caring teachers...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2006

My son is in his final year at Crosswind and started in the second grade. This is a wonderful school with excellent teachers and staff. The principal is firm but very caring. She is always present throughout the school day and actively participates in afternoon dismissal (standing in the crosswalk while kids cross the street, helping them onto their buses or into their cars). She lets them know just how important they are to her. My son had difficulties in class, but teachers & couselors were always ready & willing to help or lend support in any way they could. We will miss this school so much! They welcome and appreciate parental involvement. We highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2006

My 3rd grade daughter has been in Crosswind since Kindergarten. We were very pleased with all aspects of the school at that time and, somewhat remarkably, it has managed to get better in each successive year. The leadership is fully engaged, interested, proactive, responsive, and exceptionally competent. The teachers are knowledgeable, caring, disciplined, and dedicated. The parents are consistently involved, supportive, and encouraging. With the recent opening of another local elementary school, the class sizes have been reduced (they were never too large), and all of the special purpose rooms have been reclaimed for their original purpose. The material being taught is broad and enriched by the overall educational experience. I couldn't be more pleased with Crosswind.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2006

I have reviewed this school in the past, but now they have a new principal. What a difference! The response to any problems or inquiries has been fast and very helpful. The principal takes a personal interest in what is happening at the school and puts the kids first. I felt the previous principal was there to pad her resume. My child experienced a tough year during fourth grade. After talking with the principal during the summer, she made sure things were handled differently, and my child has been like a different kid this year. Happy, doing so much better at school, etc. The teachers are great and responsive to our requests and keep us informed of any problems or great things that go on in the classroom. The parent involvement and fund-raising is high, and allows our school to have programs and teaching materials that the regular budget can't provide.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2006

This school has been a God-send. This is the kind of school where principals and teachers know all of the kids AND their parents by their FIRST NAMES! You are greeted and welcomed each time you come through the front door. They expect and receive one of the highest parent-participation rates in the state. Academically, their scores are consistently rated at the top.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2005

My daughter attended Crosswind, as well as, I have been the School Resource Officer there for six years. This has always been a strong academic school with huge parental involvement. I can go on and on about what a great school this is. The leadership and staff are excellent! The students are challenged and developed on their own learning level. Crosswind's atmosphere is like one big family and the students know the staff have their safety and academic and social progress as the highest priority.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2004

LEADERSHIP IS THE KEY!!! Crosswind has the BEST LEADERSHIP!!! Our principal is very dedicated to her profession. I wake up every morning with a positive outlook toward my classroom, lots of energy and love for my school because here at Crosswind we have a principal that CARES about the students, parents, school and faculty. Standards are set very high at Crosswind and we are very fortunate to have a principal that makes sure we reach our goals for our school. Our principal treats everyone with dignity and respect. Hopefully, I can retire here. What a great place to work!!!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 28, 2004

The teachers at Crosswind are excellent! I was particularly pleased with my child's fourth grade teacher, Ms. McGee, who made learning fun and encouraged her students to do their best. She inspired my child to take care of the environment - a lesson I hope he carries with him throughout his life. Thank you, Crosswind! And thank you, Ms. McGee!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2004

My son is in kindergarten this year and I couldn't be more pleased! His teacher, Mrs. Beesinger, is the most competent and caring teacher I've had the priveledge to know. The whole staff really cares and the PTA involvement is outstanding. It is a wonderful school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2004

I have two children attending Crosswind and mostly we have been quite happy. While I agree that the parent involvement is wonderful at Crosswind, I think it is a vital role. This school could not function without it in many aspects. I am concerned about class size and over crowding. Kindergarten held gym in their classrooms at times as well as many other activities. Some inclusion kids did not receive enough individual supervision which resulted in overwhelming the class and the teacher. I will say though that the staff I had involvement with was loving and attentive as well as being great educators!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
85%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 49% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 84% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
70%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 48% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 56% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
88%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 57% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
74%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
93%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students95%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities86%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students87%
African Americann/a
Asian92%
Hispanicn/a
White89%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities62%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities81%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students66%
African American27%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged23%
Students with disabilities43%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students75%
African American46%
Asian69%
Hispanicn/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Students with disabilities44%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students82%
African American46%
Asian92%
Hispanicn/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilities70%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students77%
African American46%
Asian93%
Hispanicn/a
White78%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities30%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students93%
African American82%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White93%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities75%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students94%
African American73%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities75%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities95%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 67%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 12% 2%
Black 6% 23%
Hispanic 2% 7%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 6%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

831 West Shelton Rd
Collierville, TN 38017
Phone: (901) 853-3330

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Central Day School
Collierville, TN


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT