Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Collierville High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

40 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 18, 2014

It's a great school two of my sons graduated from there and I am looking forward to my grand and great grand going to CHS


Posted August 4, 2013

New administration came on board in 2012, and they are doing an outstanding job with this school. The academics are challenging, the number of AP classes offered is higher than any school in the Memphis area. Although most students are on a college track, there are offerings for other areas like cosmetology. The class of 2013, with fewer than 500 had 7 Advanced Placement International Diploma recipients 44 Cum Laude Society members (CHS is the only public school in TN with this distinction) 11 National AP Scholars, 46 AP Scholars with Distinction, 26 AP Scholars with Honor 76 AP Scholars and 1 US Presidential Scholar candidate. Athletics and the arts are strong. The PTSA is active and involved, great communication through Facebook and Twitter. This is truly a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2012

This school continually distinguishes itself from the pack. They recently became the only public school in TN with a Cum Laude chapter. This process took 10 years of looking at the top 20% of students. They encourage the kids to take the most challenging classes that they can, while offering other avenues and support for kids who need extra help. Great extracurricular activities as well. The block scheduling implemented in 2010 has proved to improve learning even more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2011

As an alum of CHS, I am proud to say that I got to spend my 4 years of high school here. Yes, the hallways are crowded, but I think it made high school fun. You always saw people you knew while switching classes and it was an easy way to meet others. I had issues with a few teachers, but most of them were great. It provides SO many opportunities to get involved too! It's a great school and definitely better than any Memphis High School!


Posted August 15, 2011

This is school is excellent and has provided a safe learning environment. There are so many opportunities for the students to get involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2011

This is overall a great school. I believe that according to national studies, this school ranks among the top 10-15% of high schools in the United States. I can only give a students view of this school as a freshman here. The teachers here are very good. They care about their classes, and lessons are thought about and information is presented understandably and easy to grasp. I quickly learned that it isn't easy making A's and B's by doing minimal work, but work isn't brutal, it simply needs attention. While the teachers are good, they're not perfect, and some I suggest staying away from. If you are an incoming freshman honors student, you might want to consider having a sophomore geometry teacher rather than the freshman one. Unfortunately, you can tell she's trying to teach, cares about the class and the material, and is delivering important information, but she does not know how to control a rowdy class, and she does not know how to deliver the information, and end result is the feeling of not learning much. Other than that, I enjoyed my classes. All Extracurricular activities at the school are good as well, but I suggest that all grade levels avoid the orchestra program here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 29, 2011

I have had all four of my children graduate from CHS. They have all been proficient in English, Math and Science at the college level. Although no school is perfect CHS works hard at improving their areas of deficiency. Leadership staff is excellent. Can't find a public school any better than this. Great job
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2011

Collierville High School is truly a wonderful school. There are numerous ways to get involved, such as SGA, theater, newspaper, yearbook, sports, etc. Almost all of the teachers are superb and really care about the students. As the editor of the school newspaper, I've learned a lot more than most students about the different aspects of the school, and because of this, I can rightly say that our school has a lot to offer any student--whatever his or her strongest point may be! I have noticed, however, that our administration is heavily driven by rankings and test scores. I believe this has caused a blind spot when it comes to students who are troublesome or struggling academically and need special attention. Overall, though, the students and teachers make the school a tremendous place and provide the school with a great atmosphere.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 21, 2010

Collerville High School is an O.K. School. In order to get the best education possible at the school you need to take the AP and horors classes. Mrs. Janis Martin, Stephen Blake, and Coach Brock are some of the best teachers i've seen at this school. They all care greatly for the student and want to help them succeed. The school has many faults too. The administration is ok but could use some improvement. The punishments for fiting are handled well but there are little or no incentives for being good. The dress code has gotten less strict but still rediculous because of getting Saturday school right off the bat for being out of code. The school is very very OVERCROUDED there is not enough time to change classes. Overall CHS is a school with good academics but NEEDS new facilities to meet the needs for such a large school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 25, 2010

I was an alumni and now a parent of a student there. I can honestly say if you can afford to put your child in a private school please do. This is honestly one of the worst high schools I have ever dealt with. The Administration is out of touch with the children and parents. Many of the teachers ought to have been fired due to performance but are still there due to tenure and most of all the school looks and is run like a prison. Common sense and thinking do not rate high in the admonostrations views. Rules for the sake of rules seems to be their motto. Not a place I would have ever wanted to have to send my children to. I hope to move soon and put my children in a better school district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2008

As a CHS alumni (c/o '05) I can honestly say that Collierville High was a really great school. I do agree however that it was extremely overcrowded and is probably even worse than it was 3 years ago. Also, the six minutes to get to and from class was never long enough! I was so ready to graduate and never look back but now I am starting to miss those old high school days with clubs, pep rallies, and football games. It may sound crazy guys but enjoy high school while you can.


Posted May 1, 2008

The hallways are way overcrowded. Many of us have 2 choices: 1. Carry multiple (3-4+) books around to each class. or 2. Get to class 1-2 minutes late each day, and get saturday school or iss. We get 6 minutes (I think?) between classes, but it takes most of us at least 3 minutes just to get through ONE hallway, let alone 2 or 3, PLUS the staircases. I don't think we should have more time in the halls, because the problem is the kids that stand in the way, & the kids that walk reallllly slow. I THINK that each class should have their own set of books for the students, so we don't have to carry books to each class. It would be much easier, and less stress getting to our lockers and class.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 26, 2008

This is one of the best high school in TN. The courses are challenging. I don't know what some of these previous posts are talking about. No talking in hallways? When did you visit? And no recess? We are not in elementary school. Last time I checked, middle school didn't have recess either.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 5, 2008

Because of the size it offers many different programs for the students. It has the highest number of AP classes in Tennessee. But becuase of it's size some students can get lost in the crowd. If your child can handle the size it is great, but large schools are not for all students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2008

This was the best High School I've ever been to. I really loved all of my teachers and the curriculms.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 22, 2007

I met with the principal to discuss his mission and value system for the school. I thought we could have some common ground. That didn t happen, He is very opposed to reviewing his Draconian rules. No Physical Education (other than Freshman), Overcrowded halls with too short of time to change class, Saturday school if you are late changing classes. Corporal punishment, No talking in halls and no recess. He thinks that fights will break out all over if people are allowed to talk. He also says that he is not responsible for their social outlet. With such an oppressive environment, something needs to give. Rules for the sake of rules only serve to shut down the growth and spirit of a child. Nancy Smith is a wonderful Algebra II teacher I wish there was a checks and balance system, the kids need a voice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2007

I am an alumni of CHS. I also agree that it has declined in many aspects. Dr. Setterlund, while tough on the rules, was an excellent principal while I was there. He was incredibly friendly and helpful. Unfortunately, my education was not what many experienced. I struggled with Mathematics and Science, and, while repeatedly asking for help, never recieved it until my Senior year. If not for the Theater program and my constant involvement, I would not have a diploma, for I would have dropped out. Overall, it was a good school, just not enough teacher involvement.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 8, 2007

I am a alumni of Collierville High School. Though, it still is a great school, it has rapidly decreased in some things since I've graduated. The students are great and I actually love how the dress code was recently enforced. Some of the teachers were great but many hated their job and it showed through their laziness and complaining. As for the administration.well it's absolutely horrible. The administration needs to start caring about the school itself more, rather than their own needs, and start cleaning things up that have gone downhill lately (like sports, some teachers, etc.) Also, Collierville needs to prepare students for college better. Overall a good school though.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 24, 2007

I am a former student of Collierville and very proud to be so. In fact so proud that I moved back to Collierville so my children could come to Collierville as well. My oldest has already graduated from Collierville and is in college, my youngest is a sophomore and active w/Football and track They also are very proud to be a part of Collierville high school. Dr. Setterland keep up the good work. We are proud of you and this school. I know my children are safe at CHS. Thank You!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2006

Collierville High School was once a great school but is rapidly eroding. you WILL not learn unless you take several honors/AP courses. While most teachers are OK, many are apathetic towards their jobs. Administration borders on ridiculousness, enforcing nonsensical, arbitary rules and failing to notify parents of major safety incidents. Other problems: - overcrowded hallways, - maintenance issues, - an abysmal cafeteria, - a poorly-funded school library, - the irrevelance of clubs - Clubs now only meet once a month for 25 minutes. On the positive side, CHS has an excellent theatre department.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

415 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
71%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 42% in 2013.

428 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
89%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 62% in 2013.

463 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
89%
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

509 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
86%
English II

The state average for English II was 59% in 2013.

499 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
88%
English III

The state average for English III was 40% in 2013.

304 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
69%
U.S. History

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students75%
African American47%
Asian80%
Hispanic75%
White80%
Economically disadvantaged49%
Students with disabilities34%
English language learnersn/a

Algebra II

All Students78%
African American46%
Asian91%
Hispanic76%
White81%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilities28%
English language learnersn/a

Biology I

All Students81%
African American58%
Asian86%
Hispanic73%
White85%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilities43%
English language learnersn/a

English I

All Students88%
African American54%
Asian92%
Hispanic87%
White93%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilities57%
English language learnersn/a

English II

All Students83%
African American65%
Asian83%
Hispanic83%
White86%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilities31%
English language learnersn/a

English III

All Students57%
African American20%
Asian27%
Hispanic67%
White67%
Economically disadvantaged17%
Students with disabilities9%
English language learnersn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilities93%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 67%
Black 12% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 2%
Hispanic 4% 7%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 11%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Ice hockey
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1101 North Byhalia Rd
Collierville, TN 38017
Phone: (901) 853-3310

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Houston High School
Germantown, TN



Heritage Baptist Academy
Shelby County, TN



Germantown High School
Germantown, TN


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT