Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Collierville Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 900 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 4, 2013

I went to CMS 3 years ago and I enjoyed it quite a bit! I thought all of the teachers were great and they truly love teaching too. The teachers made each subject easy to understand and fun! The older CMS was very old and in rough condition but the kids and teachers definitely made up for it. I'm also actually considering visiting the newer CMS because I miss the staff and my old teachers so much!


Posted July 20, 2011

I taught at CMS for 10 years and miss it greatly! The faculty and staff are one big family and the teachers really care about each other, and the students. The administration gives you the freedom to teach your lessons effectively and offers tremendous support. The students work hard and are very altruistic. They are always coming up with ways to help other not as fortunate as them, CMS is a great school that provides a quality education with a nurturing environment. GO DRAGONS!!!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 15, 2010

My son attended this school before his mom insisted on taking him over to Dexter Middle. I am horrified that he now attends a school which I consider to be a downgrade. CMS is great and I hope that soon my son will be able to continue his education there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2007

We are an active duty military family and our decision to live 45 minutes away from the Navy base was based on our strong desire for our children to go to Collierville schools. The CMS curriculum is current and competitive with classes in enriched (advanced) math and english offered at all three grade levels. The teachers are committed and approachable. The music and art departments are impressive for a middle school with various venues offered for the kids to showcase their talents. Many opportunities exist for sports and/or extracurricular actvities. there really is something available for everyone here! The PTA is very active and, although school security is a priority, as it should be, there are numerous opportunities for parental volunteers and lunchtime visits. After listening to other area middle school parents vent their school-related frustrations, we know we made the right decision to live where our daughter could attend CMS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2006

I feel that this school is great for a learning enviorment and has an awesome band. All do i feel like they were a little to strict on dresscode.I attended this school for one year.I was really looking forward to going ,but I moved to Millington.So if you have a chance to go here don't pass it up.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 28, 2006

I have had one child complete 3 years at CMS and my middle child is in her last year here and I will have my youngest starting there next year. I have been able to spend many hours at the school and have found the majority of the teachers to be interested in our children's education and very willing to work with the parents to help the child best achieve their goals. The principal is somewhat hard to talk to, but the asst. principals will work with you and they have your childs best interest at heart. There are several ways to be involved at school besides parties. Work in the healthroom, chaperone a dance, work in the library once a week and you will get to know your child's friends and teachers. I feel my children have had an excellent education at CMS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

Academically, this school is above average, probably more due to the quality of the students than anything else. The administration is present and competitent, although slow in returning parent phone calls. Front office staff is not friendly. Teachers often don't respond promptly or at all to emails. Definitely opportunities for communication and involvement for parents is a weakness here. I feel sure my child will be academically prepared for high school, but she won't get much practice in lifeskills such as independent decision making. The website needs to include teacher emails and also info on planning for upper grades; for example, I cannot seem to find out what classes are optional in the seventh or eighth grade. Overall, I rate it as acceptable but with room for improvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2006

This is a great school! It has nice teachers and good methods of teaching. The school needs some new text books (especially Pre Algebra, but is otherwise wonderful. I wish that the parents had more involvement in the school, but I can understand the reasonings as to why they aren't.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2006

Great leadership! great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2005

The administration is very much present at this school. The principal has been there for a long time and is a bit omnipotent but eventually responds in her own way to parents requests/questions. The teachers are wonderful, although my one complaint is that the sixth grade teachers do not give out their email addresses to parents! Communication is vital especially when sixth graders starting at a new school, and email is the best way for most parents to do this. There are several clubs for the students with most meeting one or two times per month after school for a short period of time. While the instruction is very good at this school, parents are not as welcome as they could be; for example, parents are only invited to come to 2 classroom events (one holiday party and one field day) during the entire year (not exactly an 'open door .'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2005

Wonderful school. The leadership by the administration is incredible. We are so blessed to have such a safe and caring school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2005

The school is good, but the doors to the restrooms don't have locks! The door has been opened on my child twice. Something needs to be done. Other than that the school is great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2004

Fantastic school! This is my son's third year at CMS. It's been a great school. The quality of the administration and staff is excellant.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

My daughter went to CMS a few years ago and now my son attends. The principal is super and really cares about the kids. Parental involvement is welcomed at CMS. The campus includes a beautiful older building that has been well maintained.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2013.

292 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
59%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

292 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 62% in 2013.

292 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
82%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

279 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
49%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 47% in 2013.

280 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
68%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

280 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
77%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 41% in 2013.

235 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
38%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 47% in 2013.

293 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
72%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

241 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
87%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 82% in 2013.

293 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students74%
African American38%
Asian92%
Hispanicn/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Students with disabilities43%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students83%
African American51%
Asian75%
Hispanicn/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilities37%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students88%
African American56%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilities54%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African American82%
Asian92%
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities71%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students79%
African American54%
Asian90%
Hispanicn/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilities30%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students77%
African American65%
Asian90%
Hispanic91%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilities26%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students92%
African American81%
Asian90%
Hispanicn/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities67%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African American88%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities70%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students62%
African American36%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White68%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Students with disabilities30%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students73%
African American47%
Asian83%
Hispanic70%
White77%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Students with disabilities31%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students88%
African American64%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilities55%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students95%
African American77%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities73%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
100%
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

English I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 81% 67%
Black 12% 24%
Asian 3% 2%
Hispanic 3% 6%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 16%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

146 College St
Collierville, TN 38017
Phone: (901) 853-3320

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Central Day School
Collierville, TN




Houston Middle School
Germantown, TN


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT