Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
22 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 30 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Collierville Middle School 5

Posted April 28, 2016
- a student
Collierville Middle School develops the whole child. Teachers and administrators truly care! My son attended 6th-8th and is a better student and a better person because of this school

Collierville Middle School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted April 28, 2016
- a student
Thank you Mrs Swindle, Mrs. Nall, Mrs. Talarico for all you do to help my student be successful. I can not be easy to teach middle school. It MUST be a calling from God. Thank you for your patience, integrity and determination. You Rock!


Collierville Middle School 4

Posted April 19, 2015
- a parent
This is my son's first year at CMS and for the most part he loves it. The school curriculum is challenging and the school itself is very organized. The students get along with each other and it seems to me that students truly like each other. Now here comes the bad part. My son has attended Collierville schools since kindergarten. He has liked some of his teachers and disliked some of his teachers. But never has he came home crying several days in a row because he thinks a teacher hates him. The stories that he told me about this teacher really hurt my feeling. I'm not going to play the race card because I don't know. She could just be a mean teacher. All I know is what I see. My son crying his eye's out. Overall the good out weigh the bad. Whats one teacher when everything else is perfect.

Collierville Middle School 5

Posted March 04, 2015
- a parent
Being my child's first year at this school and he's already loving it!! Great curriculum, outstanding teachers and they are all very helpful and really care about our kids.

Collierville Middle School 4

Posted August 04, 2013
- a community member
I went to CMS 3 years ago and I enjoyed it quite a bit! I thought all of the teachers were great and they truly love teaching too. The teachers made each subject easy to understand and fun! The older CMS was very old and in rough condition but the kids and teachers definitely made up for it. I'm also actually considering visiting the newer CMS because I miss the staff and my old teachers so much!


Collierville Middle School 5

Posted July 20, 2011
- a teacher
I taught at CMS for 10 years and miss it greatly! The faculty and staff are one big family and the teachers really care about each other, and the students. The administration gives you the freedom to teach your lessons effectively and offers tremendous support. The students work hard and are very altruistic. They are always coming up with ways to help other not as fortunate as them, CMS is a great school that provides a quality education with a nurturing environment. GO DRAGONS!!!

Collierville Middle School
no rating

Posted March 15, 2010
- a parent
My son attended this school before his mom insisted on taking him over to Dexter Middle. I am horrified that he now attends a school which I consider to be a downgrade. CMS is great and I hope that soon my son will be able to continue his education there.

Collierville Middle School 5

Posted May 15, 2007
- a parent
We are an active duty military family and our decision to live 45 minutes away from the Navy base was based on our strong desire for our children to go to Collierville schools. The CMS curriculum is current and competitive with classes in enriched (advanced) math and english offered at all three grade levels. The teachers are committed and approachable. The music and art departments are impressive for a middle school with various venues offered for the kids to showcase their talents. Many opportunities exist for sports and/or extracurricular actvities. there really is something available for everyone here! The PTA is very active and, although school security is a priority, as it should be, there are numerous opportunities for parental volunteers and lunchtime visits. After listening to other area middle school parents vent their school-related frustrations, we know we made the right decision to live where our daughter could attend CMS!


Collierville Middle School 5

Posted November 29, 2006
- a student
I feel that this school is great for a learning enviorment and has an awesome band. All do i feel like they were a little to strict on dresscode.I attended this school for one year.I was really looking forward to going ,but I moved to Millington.So if you have a chance to go here don't pass it up.

Collierville Middle School 5

Posted September 28, 2006
- a parent
I have had one child complete 3 years at CMS and my middle child is in her last year here and I will have my youngest starting there next year. I have been able to spend many hours at the school and have found the majority of the teachers to be interested in our children's education and very willing to work with the parents to help the child best achieve their goals. The principal is somewhat hard to talk to, but the asst. principals will work with you and they have your childs best interest at heart. There are several ways to be involved at school besides parties. Work in the healthroom, chaperone a dance, work in the library once a week and you will get to know your child's friends and teachers. I feel my children have had an excellent education at CMS.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Collierville Middle School
580 Quinn Rd, Collierville, TN  38017
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. (901) 853-3320
Last modified Collierville Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top