Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bailey Station Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 933 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 17, 2014

Bailey Station el is one of top rated schools in the state. Exceptional educators and top notch administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2012

My son went to Bailey Station when it opened through 5th grade and I cannot say enough positive things about the school and it's staff. All of the faculty and staff at this school are excellent! They all did a great job ensuring my son got additional help when needed, he learned alot, and really enjoyed going to school there. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2012

Bailey Station is one of the premier public schools in Memphis and considered tops in Collierville. The student body is made up of a variety of backgrounds. This has benefited the education of both my children which attend as I want to raise them in an international environment which will prepare them for the ever globalized workplace. Many highly educated employees from top tier companies send their children to this public school as it provides 'above private school' value for the cost of your paying tax dollars. The staff at Bailey Station are all highly motivated and positive. They care about the well being of every child and put 100% effort into making them succeed. My children have been attending for their first three years here and have been given independent assignments as they require accelerated curriculum. In addition, the parents are extremely involved here. It almost feels like a family when you enter. You will run into parents you are familiar with who volunteer their time and energy here (which is not required but appreciated). During lunch, you may also find that a large section of tables are filled with parents eating with their children. You will enjoy
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2011

I have 2 children at Bailey Station. Both have excelled and been instilled with a love of learning. Not only do the the faculty and teachers take the time to get to know each child and address parental concerns in a timely manner, but they also take on these tasks with a positive attitude. There is an active pool of parent volunteers too. I am proud to be a parent of a BSE Bear.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2011

Bailey Station is an awesome school with many exceptional teachers! The administration is so friendly and helpful. My husband and I prayed last year around this time for my son to be in Mrs. Powell's room because we heard she was awesome. She won the BSE Tennessee Teacher of the Year Award and the Shelby County Schools Tennessee Teacher of the Year Award. Then I read that she was the West Tennessee Teacher of the Year for 2011. God answered our prayers and more! Mrs. Powell's awards don't measure how outstanding she is! She was always encouraging to my son. He knew that she loved him & that's a great thing. She challenged him and helped mold him into a great student. He was reading on a K level at the beginning of first grade and now he's on a fourth grade level! We are so proud of all he accomplished and learned thanks to her fabulous teaching! She created the slideshow for the whole first grade students and families at the end of the year. It was outstanding! My son's moving on to 2nd grade will be a bittersweet experience for us. He had such a good year with Mrs. Powell and we will miss her. Hopefully, she will someday have my other 2 children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2011

we love bailey station !! we moved here 5 yrs ago and before buying a house decided to go to every school personally and check the atmosphere ...the other schools were either snobby or the faculty did not have time for a tour even after making an appointment ...whereas we just walked into bailey station and were received very warmily and given a tour ....like its motto they love the kids teachers ,principal et all ..if you can you must send your kids here so glad my little one starts school there this year thumbs up !! and keep it up !!...Ms cindy , Ms straube , Ms Honeycutt , Ms Johnson , Ms Storey we love you
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2009

Last year was our first at Bailey Station and WE LOVE IT!!! Mrs. Roper is so kind and loves her students as well as does her parents. There is so much love in that school and both children have learned so much.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2009

My daughter is in 1st grade at Bailey Station. My greatest desire when she started kindergarten was for her to develop a love of learning. My wish was granted . . . she adored her teacher, enjoyed school, and even got upset one day after a dental appointment because there wasn't enough time left for her to get back to school. I continue to be impressed by the amount she has learned at BSE over the past 2 years. The teachers, principals, and other school employees are extremely friendly and are obviously committed to BSE.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2009

I love this school, most importantly, my son loves this school as well. I feel as though we are in a private school setting. I could not ask for a better administration, faculty, etc... We have been to other Collierville schools, and by far this elementary school far surpasses the others. I do not have a single thing negative to say about this school. If considering Collierville as your home town, consider finding a home in this district, you will not be disappointed! My son has attended 3 other C'ville schools and by far this is the best in our family's opinion. Good luck with finding the right school for you : )
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2008

My daughter just completed second grade. She loved her teacher and school. Her teacher provided enrichment and hands on learning opportunities. We want her to move to 3rd grade! Her class motto is 'Once a guppy....always a guppy'. We will always remember her and everything she has done.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2008

Wonderful school! Wonderful teachers! The teachers work with each child at their level and according to their needs. The principal and assistant principals are very accessible if you have questions, ideas, or concerns. The class sizes are perfect! And...we have a ton of great parental involvement!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2007

We have been extremely pleased with our child's education here. She loves to attend and receives instruction in many different disciplines, including music, art, and computers. I understand that Spanish will also be a part of the curriculum this year. The parents are extremely involved in the school through PTA, room mothers and Box Tops for education. I feel that my child gets an education equal to or exceeding the local private schools. My goals for my child's school are a safe school, a challenging curriculum, and a love of learning. I know that my child receives all three at Bailey Station.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2007

I have been thrilled with the confidence my son has since attending Bailey Station. The Staff is wonderful and the most enthusiastic and helpful I have seen anywhere. I would be happy to recommend BSE to any one. Debbie Tyler
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2007

Our daughter just completed kind. We toured 10 private schools before sending her here. We were very impressed that it offered the same pull out programs with certified teachers to teach just like the private schools. ex. music, art, p.e. computer lab. The school is friendly and clean. We are proud to send her there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2007

Bailey Station is a great school! Since coming to BSE, my son is thriving and once again feels positive and excited about going to school everyday. The teachers and administrators at Bailey Station truly are committed to the success and well-being of every child who attends their school. No matter their race or background.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2007

Unbelievable academic environment for my children age ranging 5-11. Friendly and loving environment, great staff, latest technology, and a beautiful new building. Looking forward to the new Fitness Park, coming soon. A fabulous public school experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

164 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
70%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 49% in 2013.

164 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
72%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

164 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
83%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 84% in 2013.

164 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

150 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
51%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 48% in 2013.

150 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
63%
Science

The state average for Science was 56% in 2013.

150 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
70%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 57% in 2013.

155 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
62%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

155 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

155 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
77%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students70%
African American41%
Asian83%
Hispanicn/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Students with disabilities31%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students70%
African American46%
Asian79%
Hispanicn/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Students with disabilities31%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students85%
African American67%
Asian88%
Hispanicn/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilities50%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students95%
African American87%
Asian92%
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilities75%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students67%
African American41%
Asian75%
Hispanicn/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students74%
African American51%
Asian75%
Hispanicn/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students79%
African American57%
Asian81%
Hispanicn/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African American89%
Asian94%
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students79%
African American47%
Asian90%
Hispanicn/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilities64%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students84%
African American61%
Asian85%
Hispanicn/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilities71%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students85%
African American56%
Asian90%
Hispanicn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilities57%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities86%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 58% 67%
Black 23% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 13% 2%
Hispanic 3% 7%
Two or more races 3% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 16%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Music teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Programs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3435 Bailey Station Rd
Collierville, TN 38017
Phone: (901) 853-6380

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Central Day School
Collierville, TN







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT