Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Columbia Academy

Private | PK-12 | 763 students

"Christian education in a tradition of excellence since 1979"

 
 

Living in Columbia

Situated in a small town neighborhood. The median home value is $100,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $990.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 13, 2014

My son has attended CA since preschool & he is in H.S. now. My family & I feel so blessed. The teachers & staff are great! Praise God for a school you are free to pray, sing, study, & worship. God is good all the time & all the time God is good. This mom has peace knowing here son is exactly where he should be. Thanks CA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2013

Columbia Academy is a wonderful learning place that we have chosen to send our child!! Our child can grow in spirit as well as academically. They teach appropriate level Bible stories and how the Bible times reflected on history and science. They teach how wonderful God has created themselves as individuals! Our child has had a great childhood at Columbia Academy. They allow for them to be children!!, and not have the stress of learning. They believe in family time and they send an appropriate amount of homework each week. We have been at CA for 3 years going on our 4th. It has been a wonderful investment to us, on all levels. They trully love our child and care for their eternal well being. We have been Blessed to be apart of this wonderful family at Columbia Academy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2013

Columbia Academy has a wonderful Christian and loving environment. We couldn't ask for better staff than what we have found here. They are truly like having a very large family:)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2013

This is our 2nd year at CA. We love it there, My children will always continue to attend CA For as long as I can send them there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2012

My children have attended this school for 8 years so far. I have been very happy with the academics and teachers. I have one child who learns in a different way and they have programs in place to help her to thrive. I am very thankful for Columbia Academy
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2012

Excellent school, excellent teachers, excellent staff, excellent faculty. We are so thrilled our children are able to attend such a wonderful school, whith parents and teachers and administration that truly love and care for not only their education, but their well being, as well. We feel grateful to have such a fine school in our area, and know, as we place our children in their hands, that, not only are their minds are guided, but their hearts, as well. Private school education can be a sacrifice, but well worth the investment. We know that our children are being taught courage, honor, respect and leadership skills. We are proud to be parents of Columbia Academy students. We know you will be, as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2011

I cannot be happier with CA. The teachers are caring, compassionate, understanding, and with that comes strict discipline and academics. Our kids LOVE to go to school. Yes, they do have homework and it's not always done in 30 minutes, but they are learning how to study. I have kids in elementary and high school, and in both schools, the teachers are great Christian examples to the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2010

My child attends Jr-K so we are newbies to CA. I think the staff and school are great. My child really enjoys attending and has learned so much already. There is excellent communication between staff and parents to let you know all that is going on. I am so glad we have this great school in our area. So far, I am very impressed with CA and all it has to offer my child now and in the future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2010

My son, nor are we involved in sports and are not financial contributors but we have nothing but great things to say about CA. The few complaints from parents I do hear are typically excuses because CA is challenging and is not content to let our children skate through their education. Parents need to take responsibility and make sure they study instead of making excuses. I can state without hesitation that if you do some online research you will see that the surrounding public schools are not even close to being up to par in testing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2008

What a great school start to the 2008-2009 school year. Thank you teachers and Principal Gates. My children are so happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2008

Wonderful school with wonderful Christian examples. My children love going there. Great education. Thanks to the faculty and staff at CA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2008

CA has a wonderful Christian environment where parents are always welcomed. Lower School principal is the best I've ever seen. Teachers are kind and loving. My children are very happy there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2008

We have 3 childrenat CA. We have been overwhelmed with the love and attention our children receive. The teachers' academic standards are high. Thank you CA
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 29, 2008

CA is not perfect but a strong school. The new administration is really moving the school forward. It is a relatively young school, but has a veyr impressive campus and unlike the former comment, has no debt.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2005

Administration is very inconsistent with rules, dress code and serving detentions. A lot depends on who your parents are and if you play a major sport. Administration does not seek feedback from parents concerning teachers or other inconsistencies. Parents concern about excessive homework falls on deaf ears. Several teachers are more concerned with giving detentions instead of doing a better job in the classroom. Since pay scale is low, quality of teaching is not as good as public school. If your child is a good self learner and you want a good moral environment, then CA would be a good choice. The norm for most of the students is to do what is right. Two of my children went to CA. One loved most of it and one transfered to a public school. Math is very weak. Academically, high school is the weakest. School has heavy debt.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 95% 69%
Black 3% 25%
Asian 1% N/A
Hispanic 1% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

College readiness and student pathways

Percentage of students going to 2-year college 25% (2012)
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 75% (2012)
Colleges most students attend after graduation Lipscomb University
Freed-Hardeman University
Harding University
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Special education coordinator
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
Clubs
  • Science club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Industrial / graphic design
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
Clubs
  • Drama club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 2:55 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 5:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Dr. James A. Thomas
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • churches of Christ
Fax number
  • (931) 380-8506

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Independent Study
  • STEM
  • Standards-based
  • Teacher-run
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Industrial / graphic design

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
Transportation options
  • Spring Hill & Chapel Hill bus
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Bowling/Trap Shooting
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Bowling/Trap Shooting
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Boy scouts
  • Cub scouts
  • Drama club
  • Girl scouts
  • Mock trial competition club
  • National Honor Society
  • Science club
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Columbia Academy is a PreK-12th grade college preparatory school founded in 1979 to provide high quality academics from a Christian perspective. With an enrollment of more than 700 students, CA is located on a beautiful 67-acre campus in Columbia, Tenn., formerly home to the Columbia Military Academy. CA also maintains a satellite campus for Jr. K- 5th grade students in Spring Hill, Tenn.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$6000 - $7000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Lipscomb University
Freed-Hardeman University
Harding University
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
Community college courses
SAT/ACT prep classes
Students' post-graduation plans in 2012
2 year college - 25%
4 year college - 75%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1101 West 7th St
Columbia, TN 38401
Website: Click here
Phone: (931) 388-5363

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT