Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

E. A. Cox Middle School

Public | 5-8

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

25 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 27, 2014

This school is filled with disrespectful and rude children that do not value an education. I feel sorry for the children that want and value an education because the environment they have to be educated in is so disruptive. It is hard to rate the teachers when they are teaching to a class that has at least 6 or more children that are rude, disruptive and disrespectful. There should be some sort of program that reaches out to these children that do not care about education and lets them know how important education is and without an education they have no future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2013

good, regular school. It is normal. No crazy shootings.No suicides.so i got to use 15 words or cant post this just wasting words


Posted August 28, 2009

. Everyone has been so harsh on the E.A. Cox s principle! I have talked to her a few times and she does have a hard shell. However she really does care that s why she is so strict. A few people have made great comments about the special ed/resource program; these are all because of the principle. Her goal is to get every child into the regular classroom before high school. This truly makes or breaks a student's future. I guarantee if you go to the school and ask the principle if there is anything you can do to help out you will see another side of her. Everything she does is for the students. There is no way the school board is going to take her out of the school and I wouldn t either.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2008

I think this school is exellent for my child. There is maybe only two teachers I dont like the rest are pretty amazing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2008

Cox has a few great teachers that seem to really care about the kids. I am not pleased with the principal. She doesnt have very good communication skills with the kids or the parents. I wish this school would find a new one. Over all this is the only reason why Im not pleased. My childs teachers have all done a great job. The other thing that worrys me as a parent is the lack of supervision.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2008

This school is in dire need of a principal-one who is concerned about addressing problems with workable solutions. There are some extremely good teachers at this school-it's the leadership that needs to be corrected.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2008

Awful. Absolutely no structure and discipline is inconsistent. The overall focus of the school is is not on helping the children thrive and most definitely not on the students safety.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2007

I'll echo the great band, music and sports programs. My son has been involved in all and has learned so much.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2007

Great band, music, art, athletic programs. Academically one of the best in Middle Tennessee. Could use more teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2007

I have two children at E.A. Cox and one of them is special needs. Her teacher was great with her and has moved her out into the regular curriculum with much caution and concern. I feel the Special Education teachers are doing their best with what they have to be able to help the children. I wish that the Maury County Board of Education had a summer program to help the children that are slower than normal. Especially a program for reading that helps instead of discouraging children by the scoring on tests that comes from the AR program. I have been discourage from the tutors and special education teachers that this program discourages the children instead of making their reading experiences more pleasurable and encouraging.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2007

We had a wonderful first year at Cox but it was all due to the teachers that my child had. As for the leadership I would give anything to see the assistant principal take the lead as he is so much more of a communicator and a fair leader. The communication leaves much to be desired but for the most part the kids who are there listening and behaving everyday, and who have strong family support are learning and that is the goal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2007

My daughter has been at Coxx for about 9 months and so far it seems to be a pretty good school. We came from Nashville public school system, so this has been a refreshing change. I do agree with what one of the other parents said about all being punished for actions of a few, we have seen that on several occasions. My daughter made the cheerleading team for next year so I'm sure I will get much more 'aquainted' with the staff and students in the coming year. Hopefully it will be a good expereince for the both of us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2007

I was astonished when I came across these reviews! It is reassuring to know that I am not alone when it comes to my opinion about the leadership at E.A. Cox Middle School. I must say that Cox Middle school is by far the worst educational experience we have had to endure. Of course there are a 'few good teachers' who truly care about their students, but there are far more bullying dictators than teachers. The principal is a total disgrace to our educational system. It seems as many parents who have complained about her the Board of Education would further investigate and reprimand. Something is not right about the situation and obviously I am not the only one with my eyes wide open!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2007

Only one word can sum up EA Cox and its principal.terrible!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2007

I have a child in the seventh grade at E.A. Cox. I must say after almost two years of dealing with this school, my disappointment grows weekly. I feel the principal is more concerned with dress code violations than actual learning processes. I have had a conversation with her over an academic issue. She was less than helpful, and in fact, acted surprised I cared. I don't feel this is the way a principal should react to a concerned parent. I will say the conversation never turned ugly, but I do feel I was talked down to! Anything fun for the students is seemingly discouraged. I realize they are at school to learn, but this is not a concentration camp. Lastly, I must say that the all are frequently punished for the actions of the few.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

I have two children currently in E.A. cox both in the 8th grade. Compared to Florida schools they are doing really well in the Tenn. school. I dislike some of the things the principal does. But I know that when my children have troubles in school they take care of it and they've been very helpful to my children. They are doing really good as of right now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2006

My son attended E.A. Cox Middle School for three years. We experienced many problems with Cox. If it was up to me, E. A. Cox Middle School would have a new principal. The teachers are rude and don't care about teaching the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2006

My son is now a freshmen in Johnson City Schools after one year of E.A. Cox we had an opportunity to move and took it partially in search of better a school, because we could not withstand another two years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2006

I have had 3 boys go through the school and one currently. It is a decent school,however only if you are tough. With my first son (adhd),I had to pull him out and home school until HS. The regular teachers did not seem willing to put forth the effort. My second son was fine because he was a very tough young man. My third who is very easy going was harrassed in the bathrooms and halls by bullies. This is what is happening to my last child. He is not tough and cries very easlily so he is an easy target for bullies. He doesn't want to ride the bus anymore and when he lashed out to scream at a boy who was tormenting him on the bus, he was suspended. Other than that, it's a good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2006

I have 2 boys currently in E A Cox. My older one in the 8th grade is doing well after a difficult year last year. My younger son in the 6th grade is add. I am having a very difficult time getting the teachers to stay in contact with me about his progress. My experience with the principal is that she is more task oriented than people oriented. The special ed teachers are the ones that I have been impressed with however. They have been the most understanding and willing to help. For the most part, the other teachers I've dealt with seem to see it as a burden rather than a priveledge to teach children. I would like to know if there are other parents who have had the same difficulties at E A Cox.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 57% in 2013.

211 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
19%

2010

 
 
6%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

208 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
46%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

205 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
64%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

207 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2013.

208 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
19%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
21%

2010

 
 
21%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

207 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
51%
Science

The state average for Science was 62% in 2013.

202 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
54%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

206 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

191 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
23%

2011

 
 
24%

2010

 
 
13%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 47% in 2013.

190 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
38%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

188 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
51%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

189 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 41% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
19%

2010

 
 
9%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 47% in 2013.

200 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
48%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

197 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
60%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 82% in 2013.

199 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students22%
African American13%
Asiann/a
Hispanic8%
White29%
Economically disadvantaged16%
Students with disabilities7%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students33%
African American24%
Asiann/a
Hispanic33%
White36%
Economically disadvantaged27%
Students with disabilities17%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students45%
African American23%
Asiann/a
Hispanic40%
White59%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Students with disabilities21%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students84%
African American77%
Asiann/a
Hispanic80%
White88%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilities55%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students19%
African American11%
Asiann/a
Hispanic8%
White23%
Economically disadvantaged10%
Students with disabilities13%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students39%
African American28%
Asiann/a
Hispanic19%
White48%
Economically disadvantaged30%
Students with disabilities23%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students47%
African American32%
Asiann/a
Hispanic38%
White55%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Students with disabilities27%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students74%
African American68%
Asiann/a
Hispanic58%
White80%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilities42%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students24%
African American11%
Asiann/a
Hispanic13%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White35%
Economically disadvantaged21%
Students with disabilities6%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students39%
African American28%
Asiann/a
Hispanic29%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White47%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Students with disabilities17%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students51%
African American34%
Asiann/a
Hispanic47%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White63%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Students with disabilities11%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students79%
African American71%
Asiann/a
Hispanic71%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilities45%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic7%
White6%
Economically disadvantaged5%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students38%
African American33%
Asiann/a
Hispanic13%
White42%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Students with disabilities8%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students57%
African American47%
Asiann/a
Hispanic47%
White64%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilities8%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students84%
African American78%
Asiann/a
Hispanic67%
White90%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilities36%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

English I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 62% 67%
Black 26% 23%
Hispanic 9% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
Two or more races 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 65%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

633 Bear Creek Pk
Columbia, TN 38401
Phone: (931) 840-3902

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Columbia Academy
Columbia, TN




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT