Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
35 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 36 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


E. A. Cox Middle School 1

Posted April 07, 2016
- a community member
Little to no communication from teachers to parents! And when expressing your concerns the teachers are very ugly and rude with their feedback! (Positive reinforcement over- negative reinforcement )

E. A. Cox Middle School 2

Posted April 10, 2015
- a community member
teachers and administration are not very understanding and but there are some good teachers at this school


E. A. Cox Middle School 2

Posted March 27, 2014
- a parent
This school is filled with disrespectful and rude children that do not value an education. I feel sorry for the children that want and value an education because the environment they have to be educated in is so disruptive. It is hard to rate the teachers when they are teaching to a class that has at least 6 or more children that are rude, disruptive and disrespectful. There should be some sort of program that reaches out to these children that do not care about education and lets them know how important education is and without an education they have no future.

E. A. Cox Middle School 5

Posted October 25, 2013
- a community member
good, regular school. It is normal. No crazy shootings.No suicides.so i got to use 15 words or cant post this just wasting words

E. A. Cox Middle School 5

Posted August 28, 2009
- a parent
. Everyone has been so harsh on the E.A. Cox s principle! I have talked to her a few times and she does have a hard shell. However she really does care that s why she is so strict. A few people have made great comments about the special ed/resource program; these are all because of the principle. Her goal is to get every child into the regular classroom before high school. This truly makes or breaks a student's future. I guarantee if you go to the school and ask the principle if there is anything you can do to help out you will see another side of her. Everything she does is for the students. There is no way the school board is going to take her out of the school and I wouldn t either.


E. A. Cox Middle School 5

Posted July 03, 2008
- a parent
I think this school is exellent for my child. There is maybe only two teachers I dont like the rest are pretty amazing.

E. A. Cox Middle School 1

Posted March 12, 2008
- a parent
Cox has a few great teachers that seem to really care about the kids. I am not pleased with the principal. She doesnt have very good communication skills with the kids or the parents. I wish this school would find a new one. Over all this is the only reason why Im not pleased. My childs teachers have all done a great job. The other thing that worrys me as a parent is the lack of supervision.

E. A. Cox Middle School 1

Posted January 23, 2008
- a parent
This school is in dire need of a principal-one who is concerned about addressing problems with workable solutions. There are some extremely good teachers at this school-it's the leadership that needs to be corrected.


E. A. Cox Middle School
no rating

Posted January 14, 2008
- a parent
Awful. Absolutely no structure and discipline is inconsistent. The overall focus of the school is is not on helping the children thrive and most definitely not on the students safety.

E. A. Cox Middle School 4

Posted December 29, 2007
- a parent
I'll echo the great band, music and sports programs. My son has been involved in all and has learned so much.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

E. A. Cox Middle School
633 Bear Creek Pike, Columbia, TN  38401
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 36 reviews. (931) 840-3902
Last modified E. A. Cox Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 5-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top