Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

J. R. Baker Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 10, 2013

J.R. Baker is the best in Columbia. my brother went there both my sons and now my granddaughter. thanks Baker Elementary


Posted August 22, 2013

J.R. Baker is safe clean and the staff work for the betterment of the children's over all education.


Posted April 30, 2013

I have two children who attend J.R. Baker. One of my children attends Pre-K and the other Kindergarden. I have regular communication with the teachers as well as the vice principal. I attend the school parties when I choose, and I enjoy eating lunch with my children at the school. The school allows you and your child different areas inside the lunch room to sit with your child instead of having to sit with the entire class. I also appreciate the lady who works in the office, she has answers for any questions that I have. Thanks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2012

I have two children that have attened Baker ever since Pre- K and this is my oldest childs last year there. I am very satisfied with all the teachers and staff. If one of them ever had a problem their teacher worked extra hard to bring them up where they needed to be. I wish the rest of the schools where just like Baker.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2011

My daughter has attended Baker since Kindergarten and I intend for my son to start in Pre K. The teachers are friendly and work really hard to have the children reach their highest achievement level. My third grader was very prepared for this year and is reading at a middle school level. The Principal seems a little unapproachable at times but she is really nice you just have to initiate the conversation because she is not real chit chatty. Being a teacher myself I have the option to have my children attend the school I teach at and I will not move them away from Baker which is their zoned school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2011

I have had 2 children in the pre-k at Baker. I has been a wonderful experience for both. I think it has really given them a head start in school. I am surprised by the other posts about pre-k on here. Yes, there is homework for pre-k students. What a great way to spend time with your child and help them learn about the alphabet. My girls love it, unless that is you don't want to spend the time with your child, then I can see the complaint.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2011

I have two children in this school and I will say that this school has some of the most caring teachers I have meet. They are all willing too work with you if you have any questions are concerns. I am satisfied.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2011

Baker is a great school for all ages, my child attended the Pre-K program and I was amazed at the transformation I noticed right away. He was very well prepared and ready for Kindergarten by the end of the year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2011

My daughter also attended the Pre-K program and it was the best decision I have ever made. I would not only recommend the Pre-K program to other parents but the school and staff are wonderful as well. I am appalled at what has been written about this school, this site is honoring the school for its merit and people have the audacity to leave negative comments. Great Job Teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2010

This school has had some of the best teachers ever, although some of the worst also. I am so glad mine are done with elementary since the principal at Baker is the worst I have ever had to deal wtih. She is rude, hard to approach and always her way. Her teachers are never wrong, very one sided. Used to be Maury Co. best elementary school, don't think it has not been in years, very sad.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2010

I think the school is overall a good school. Some of the teachers are questionable though. My children have been going to this school for 2 years and I really haven't found a teacher that I really liked. I take that back there was one. He is a second grade teacher. I guess I just do not agree with how teachers respond to the children. The office staff are really nice. I would have to say that the school is average. It has it's ups and downs just like any other school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

I also had a child in the Pre-K program this year and I don't agree with the way they handle things at all. First off, homework for Pre-K? Come on. It was homework for us parents to do. And all these things for my kid to sell, I feel he was far too young to be participating in fundraisers. The teachers never show up on time in the morning, and some of us have to be to work! They also were absent ALOT of the year. Very inconsistent. I am disappointed as I heard that this is suppossed to be the best Pre-K program in Maury County. If this is the best, I would hate to see the worst.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2010

I am very upset as a parent at the Pre-K System at Baker and if you are thinking of sending your child there dont do it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2010

Our daughter has attended Baker Elementary since kindergarten and this school has excellent, caring teachers, staff and principal. I am very sad that the school board is forcing the 5th graders to go to middle school next year instead of letting them finish in the elementary schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
37%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 49% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
35%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
58%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 84% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
29%

2010

 
 
9%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 48% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
37%

2010

 
 
25%
Science

The state average for Science was 56% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
26%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 57% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
25%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
49%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
46%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students50%
African American47%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White51%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Students with disabilities46%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students42%
African American33%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White47%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Students with disabilities31%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students73%
African American53%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilities77%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students86%
African American67%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities77%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students34%
African American21%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White36%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Students with disabilities36%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students53%
African American36%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White68%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities46%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students51%
African American7%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White72%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Students with disabilities46%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students94%
African American86%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilities80%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 61% 67%
Black 24% 23%
Hispanic 13% 7%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 69%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:15 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Della H. Matlock
Fax number
  • (931) 840-4414

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1301 Hamphire Pk
Columbia, TN 38401
Website: Click here
Phone: (931) 388-3319

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Columbia Academy
Columbia, TN







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT