Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Columbia Central High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 27, 2013

the maintance of the school is horrible. the teachers really dont care about your academics . Guidence Conseluers just put you in classes you dont want. and then dont go over class change policy enough. thats why the drop out rate is so high at this school. Bathrooms are in terrible condition. The whole building needs to be torn down and rebuild. the administrators seem to be distant figures in the wind. NOT A FRIENDLY SCHOOL!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 8, 2012

This school is so run down..needs a face-lift along with some faculty...can't wait for my child to be out of high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2012

The school is ghetto. It needs a makeover..and some of these teachers need to pay more attention to issues of bullying at the school..I don't feel much attention is given in these areas..not to mention used condoms have been found on school premises..they need to enforce stricter rules!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2010

Fro years this school has gotten a bad rap. YOu have got to see for yourself, not the truth. Every school has it's bad kids, but this place is awesome! Great Staff that gives their all to the students. Great opportunities offered here while so many others h.s. do not. Highly recommend the band and ROTC. Teaches self discipline and old fashion manners. Very proud my child attends CCHS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2010

We have been a part of this school for the past 3 years and been totally happy. My child has received everything she needs to have the greatest range of options available to her as she chooses a college. She has also been mentored and encouraged by outstanding teachers in the developed of all the skills that will allow for success in college and life. Totally pleased! Great School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2010

We have a 9th grader that attends Central. We cannot say enough about the academics, teachers and staff. It is a school that cannot be judged from the curb. You have to look inside to see what wonderful things are offered here. If your child has ability, it can be nourishedl. I do not doubt my child can achieve the high goals she has set by attending Central.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2010

The teachers and administrators at this school are GREAT. They care about the students and go way out of their way to help the students succeed!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2010

CHS is a great high school I provides an opportunity for students to receive a well rounded education regardless of their interest whether it is music or academics
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2009

I have had two children who have graduated from Central High,one in 2009. They both got a wonderful education. From art to algebra to zoo(small amimal care) the program is a quality one.The teachers are caring and the academics were great. Outside the classroom, the events are well planned and well supervised. There is a very small percentage of students who are trouble makers, they stay to themselves much of the time (birds of a feather). I never felt that my children were in danger or unsupervised. If I had other children, i would send them to Central without reservation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2009

I attended CHS for four years, it was the best experience of my life. The staff is wonderful and always admire an open mind in every student. The demographics when I attended were very severe. I was the first generation of Saturn kids completely educated in Maury county. I wish every day that I could just return to the life I had at CHS, but it has prepared me for the life I have now. The good and the bad, I deal with through my experiences and education at this amazing place. I love this school and its staff with all of my heart and I try to better myself everyday, hoping to make them proud of me.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 22, 2009

as a former student of this school, i also feel that there is a lot of peer pressure and you have to be strong minded. also some of the teachers tend to give up on students if they feel that the he/she shows little or no interest in the class instead of trying to push the student or make it interesting so that he might learn to like the class. as far as extracurricular activities they have the best!! especially band, jrotc, and mock trial. the school also has lost of fun things to do during the football season such as bon fires tail gating and the best pep rallies ever!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 23, 2008

the academic offerings at this school are what my child needs to gone on and succeed in college.Opportunities abound for students to be engaged in numerous extracurricular activities. Recent ACT test results show the school to be exceeding the State and National average which is a great accomplishment and even greater if you take a look at the demographics of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2007

If your child is prone to succumbing to peer pressure, this is not the place for him or her. My daughter went from being an honor roll student at our school in Georgia to a bottom of the bucket student. Kids here apply lots of pressure, especially to the girls. If you don't conform to a certain group of kids, they will terrorize you. She hates school so much now the only way I could keep her going is to home school her. The faculty is overwhelmed by the number of students and the kids are just a number. Unless your child is an academic standout with lots of self-esteem, this will be a painful 4(+?) years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2005

Columbia Central is a wonderful school if your child is an outstanding student who requires little direction. My children have experienced what Central has to offer from both ends of the spectrum, from high achievers to one who needed additional guidance, which is apparently not available due to lack of resources. If your child can succeed without the assistance of teachers, guidance and administration, this is the school for you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2005

This is an excellent school. The teachers expect great things from all there students and it shows in the results. From the principal on down, professionalism is apparent in this faculty. The staff cares for their students and it is obvious in the climate of the building. The students have gone on to win scholarships at Ivy League schools as well as state schools. This school cares about the top, middle, and lower-tier students. They try to serve the best interests of all of them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2004

Central high has a strong academic program, an outstanding band. NJROTC is very strong, active. Has a strong AP program, many students in top colleges. The building is 40 years old -- kept clean, but needs work. Administration is student oriented, innovative, very positive. Guidance department does a good job with college bound kids, works hard with scholarships. They need more counselors, however. Mass comm department is outstanding, has national awards. Strong in art, music. Strong parent involvement in band, ROTC, athletic boosters. A few parents in academic boosters.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

333 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
45%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 42% in 2013.

267 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
78%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 62% in 2013.

349 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
56%
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

336 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
61%
English II

The state average for English II was 59% in 2013.

346 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
62%
English III

The state average for English III was 40% in 2013.

264 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
41%
U.S. History

230 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students67%
African American50%
Asiann/a
Hispanic44%
White78%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disabilities19%
English language learnersn/a

Algebra II

All Students54%
African American40%
Asiann/a
Hispanic47%
White60%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Biology I

All Students69%
African American55%
Asiann/a
Hispanic61%
White77%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilities30%
English language learnersn/a

English I

All Students66%
African American43%
Asiann/a
Hispanic44%
White80%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Students with disabilities15%
English language learnersn/a

English II

All Students53%
African American34%
Asiann/a
Hispanic57%
White63%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Students with disabilities13%
English language learnersn/a

English III

All Students35%
African American17%
Asiann/a
Hispanic64%
White45%
Economically disadvantaged22%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

U.S. History

All Students93%
African American91%
Asiann/a
Hispanic83%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities73%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 62% 67%
Black 31% 23%
Hispanic 6% 7%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 53%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:45
School end time
  • 2:25
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Cynthia Johnson
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling

Programs

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Spanish
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

921 Lion Pw
Columbia, TN 38401
Website: Click here
Phone: (931) 381-2222

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Columbia Academy
Columbia, TN







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT