Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Riverside Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 1, 2013

My daughter attended Riverside last year as a second grader. She had to change schools based upon us moving to Columbia. This school has been a let down all together. There has been a handful of times that she has come off of the bus crying because of the bullying that went on and to be 100% clear, it was from students of opposite race - Mama bear kicked in and I had to get on the school about controlling the situation better and demanded my daughter sit in the front of the bus so the driver could keep a better eye on her. My daughter complained about her teacher yelling 'shut-up' in the class... this I DON'T TOLERATE at home!! There was also an incident where she wrote about a current event of a 'rape victim' from Columbia! I was appalled! It's unfortunate because I know that this school can be a whole lot better than what it is. I feel as if my child is going backwards in education. She used to go to Heritage Elementary and their curriculum was a whole lot promising (she would have twice as much homework). What's even more unfortunate is that she has to start the 3rd grade here again because we just can't afford to move out of the county at the moment. Hope it's better this year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2010

The teachers at this school have been exceptionally great with my two girls. Thank you Riverside!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2010

i give the school a four star rating because my son has been going here for two years and the teachers are wonderful here. He is being taught very well and his Mrs. Bartrug has been wonderful in teaching him and helping him understand his lessons.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2009

I feel there are good and bad but yoju have to stay on top of it or nothing happens for the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2009

My son is in Kindergarten and I am very uhappy with many areas of this school. Starting with the actual physical structure of the school. The process for dropping off and picking up your child is very unsafe due to the fact that there is nowhere to pull up and pick up your child. It is very unorganized and the patrol lady does not seem to know what she is doing alot of the time. There is not an environment to challange your child whatsoever because of the demographic of the students. I will not be sending my child back next year, even if we have to move to a different district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2008

This school has really diminished in stature in my opinion since the implementation of the school-wide Title I program. Our school not only has an 81% rate of students on free or reduced lunch, it now caters mainly to this population in every possible way. The school plans on 'phasing out' the Accelerated Reading program - which my child has participated in since starting at this school in Kindergarten. The principal has made no commitments about a 'replacement' program for those of us who have children that are not included in the 'at-risk' category. If nothing changes, I will request an out-of-zone status for my child. If that is not possible, we are prepared to sell our home and move to an area that is better suited for our child's educational needs and meets our educational expectations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2008

I feel that this school is one of the best elementry schools in columbia. Has great teachers and friendly staff. My daughter was in kindergarden last year and learned a lot.She is more than ready for first grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2008

Was very unsatisfied with my childrens experience with this school. The principal does not take problems seriously and the teachers are hateful to the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
34%

2010

 
 
33%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 49% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
21%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
48%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 84% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
22%

2011

 
 
29%

2010

 
 
29%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 48% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
28%

2010

 
 
29%
Science

The state average for Science was 56% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
22%

2010

 
 
35%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 57% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
13%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
28%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
32%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students35%
African American5%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White51%
Economically disadvantaged27%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students27%
African American5%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White38%
Economically disadvantaged19%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students45%
African American5%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White65%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students79%
African American60%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students34%
African American29%
Asiann/a
Hispanic57%
White29%
Economically disadvantaged28%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students44%
African American48%
Asiann/a
Hispanic36%
White45%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Students with disabilities10%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students37%
African American38%
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
White32%
Economically disadvantaged28%
Students with disabilities10%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students91%
African American92%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities70%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 50% 67%
Black 35% 23%
Hispanic 15% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 85%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

203 Carter St
Columbia, TN 38401
Phone: (931) 840-4422

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Columbia Academy
Columbia, TN


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT