Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Spring Hill High School

Public | 9-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 4, 2014

The statement below was posted in 2009 and is as current in 2014 as ever! About 16 or more teachers left last year due to this. Kids rule the school. Teachers are reprimanded for sending kids that misbehave to ISS. They won a "School that works award." HOW??? Test scores? maybe ,not by administration. My child has had FEW teachers that really care. In fact, two teachers have insulted him in front of his peers to the point of me having to taking him to a counselor. But the kids are so out of control, I can hardly blame them. They are stressed out and not supported. SOMETHING NEEDS TO HAPPEN ASAP!!!! The principal is passive aggressive, unorganized and does not know how to lead or inspire loyalty in teachers or students. Administrative discipline is arbitrary and unpredictable. Teachers function in spite of the principal's poor direction and lack of focus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2012

I have grandchildren that transfered to this school last semester , I was very upset to learn the school has no respect for thier students, the teachers are rude, hateful, cusing and threating students they dislike fro what ever reason is un- called For. rateing lower than low compared to most. what has our educational system come to. a popularity contest at best. how sad. what has happen to our teacher no disire to teach our children it is a real shame.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2011

My son just completed his first year at Spring Hill HS, and I can say that I have been impressed with what the school offers academically to prepare the students for college. I love the block system and how it provides an atmosphere of success for the students. It sets them up to succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2010

Spring Hill High School isn't a good school for EDUCATION, they care more about sports and dress code. Some of the teachers treat students different because of their race or sexuality. Most classes are to easy because they care more about dress code and sports rather than eduacating students. I give Spring Hill High School a thumbs down for poor eduacation and caring.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 12, 2009

My daughter has transfered to this high shcool her last year, I wish we would have transfered years ago. She has made straight A's and is a different child. She works harder and enjoys going to school. Love Spring Hill High
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

I love Spring Hill High School because my Grandson goes there and they try in every way to make sure a student doesn't fall behind. Very dedicated to their jobs and envirorment.


Posted September 1, 2009

They care more about sports and dress code than education
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2009

Alot of people are putting down this school for no reason at all. If people would just follow the rules and come to school for educational reason, then there would not be any problems. If the students do not try they will not learn. The teachers are great and truly care about the students. Everyone is asking way too much out of these teachers and not giving any of their self . Teacher are there to help their students!! Use them as a resource. So all whom have gave this school a bad rating, how about you come into the school and give up some of your time and money to help out. The school only has so much funding.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 15, 2009

The principal is passive aggressive, unorganized and does not know how to lead or inspire loyalty in teachers or students. Administrative discipline is arbitrary and unpredictable. Teachers function in spite of the principal's poor direction and lack of focus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2009

I believe this school is truly under-rated. This is my son's first year in public school after being home-educated since kindergarten. I believe there are many classes and activities that are not being taken advantage of due to little parent involvement. I do not blame the school system for this, I blame economics. Both parents having to work to make ends meet which, in turn, leads to little time for parents to devote to the school system itself. I have been happy thus far with my child in this school system.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2009

SHHS is a great school! I went there last year and ADORED it, sure some of the teachers were a little off, but hey, not everyone can be perfect, and yes they are bigger on dress code than some other things, but then again, a lot of the students are REALLY REALLY bad about abusing the dress code! There is a reason for it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 18, 2008

it's a great school with inspiring teachers and a good education
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2008

As a former student the way it sounds it hasnt changed at all. When I was there in 07 all we ever heard about was dresscode, rules, etc...Frankly I learned nothing there its not the teachers fault (some of them are at fault) the ones that want to don things right are oppressed by a uncaring Admin and co workers that don't care. As for extra activites if its anything besides football or band you might as well forget it the staff care nothing about anything else. As far as the rules on 'safety' they really dont change a thing if something bad is going to happen it will. I would not not send my child or any child here.


Posted February 13, 2008

ok first off as a current student im not happy with the place the faculty doesnt care about our education theyre more conserned with enforcing the dresscode than anything else they have ignored most students education and once A students r now failing because they dont understand the curriculum because the teachers neglected to teach them properly. the school lunches rival that of prison food, they dont even have enough to cover all lunch shifts, the students who r unlucky enough to get last lunch have to eat peanutbutter and jelly sandwiches. it does have some redeeming qualities some of the teachers r nice, for example Mr. Copen, Mr. White, Ms. Brilove, and Ms. Mycheck.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 10, 2007

shhs is NOT the type of school you should enroll your kids in. according to shhs' student handbook, they must pay $10 for a locker with a lock provided by the office. all the other students who weren't able to pay for that, must carry there backpacks around all day including their after-school activity equipment. i really dont appreciate that because it isnt right. instead of them worrying about trying to make money, they should be trying to improve their test scores! as a parent, i come home everyday being notified about how teachers arent meeting the standards. dress code shouldnt be up to the board. if the dress code policy is passed next year, that doesnt mean that test scores will increase. shhs is a boring school and from my opinion, thats why students act and do the things they do...they're bored!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2006

Spring Hill has lots of teachers that want to help students learn. Overall, it is a very good school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 15, 2006

My Granddaughter enrolled this school. We were amazed at how far behind they are. Parent involvement is almost nil. The Disciplinary Board needs serious help, too. We are removing our Granddaughter from this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2006

Academicly, this school is behind. The teaching staff hardly tries to make sure their curriculum is being understood by their students. The learning enviornment is very poor, and grades are not taken seriously. Learning should be a great experience, but in Spring Hill High School, it is a burden. Improvement is strongly encouraged.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 9, 2005

spring hill is a good school. there are plenty of stupid rules the no lock on lockers policy is just plain retarded. other than that it is a productive, and safe enviroment for students to learn and get the education needed to prepare them for college and other future careers. i give spring hill a 3 out of 5 rating.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 11, 2005

My son has been at shhs for 2 years and i love the teachers and other staff. I get regular letters about his progress and if his progress begins to slip i get a phone call from his teacher.The teachers and staff really care about the children and even silly rules are for their safety.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

215 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
40%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 42% in 2013.

181 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
28%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 62% in 2013.

185 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
61%
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

251 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
62%
English II

The state average for English II was 59% in 2013.

245 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
67%
English III

The state average for English III was 40% in 2013.

179 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
42%
U.S. History

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students83%
African American81%
Asiann/a
Hispanic65%
White85%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilities60%
English language learnersn/a

Algebra II

All Students39%
African American26%
Asiann/a
Hispanic21%
White42%
Economically disadvantaged28%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Biology I

All Students82%
African American81%
Asiann/a
Hispanic57%
White84%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilities42%
English language learnersn/a

English I

All Students68%
African American62%
Asiann/a
Hispanic47%
White71%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilities19%
English language learnersn/a

English II

All Students58%
African American47%
Asiann/a
Hispanic68%
White60%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilities22%
English language learnersn/a

English III

All Students40%
African American17%
Asiann/a
Hispanic33%
White44%
Economically disadvantaged18%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
African American78%
Asiann/a
Hispanic94%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities67%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 75% 67%
Black 15% 23%
Hispanic 8% 7%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 35%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

One Raider Dr
Columbia, TN 38401
Phone: (931) 486-2207

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Cornerstone School
Spring Hill, TN


Summit High School
Spring Hill, TN



Columbia Academy
Columbia, TN




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT