Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Macon-Hall Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 1205 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

26 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 2, 2014

My Granddaughter has attended Macon Hall Elementary School for 3 years. The principal, vice-principal, counselor, 4th grade teacher and APEX teacher have been excellent. They are very caring and dedicated educators that have the students best interests at heart.


Posted July 31, 2013

I'm all about good schools ,when my husband and I were searching for a home that was top on our list. I'm so pleased that we have 3 children attending Macon hall and we all love it.Everyone is so nice and the school itself is awesome.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2013

The only reason I'm giving this school 1 star is because I have to give a rating. I moved to this area and transferred my daughter here based on reviews from friends who have kids enrolled there. WORST MISTAKE EVER! My daughter was being bullied by a classmate and the teacher and staff claimed to be concerned, but never did anything about it. It escalated to my daughter being slapped in the face. LAST STRAW! The students are treated like they are in jail, there were never any field trips and they are made to sit and eat in silence for lunch and are punished if they talk. I had hopes based on the fact that the principal was my elementary school principal, but I think their time has passed and they need to retire. My daughter began failing and acting out of her character and when I fianlly figured out why, I made the decision to move and get her back into her previous school. I have been 100% disappointed in the staff at the school, from the top down. I've heard that this school has drastically changed from previous years. I'm just glad I was able to get her out of there before it was too late. My child has rebounded and is finally back on track since leaving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2013

This school is awesome! My special needs child has thrived at Macon Hall. Their teachers are very caring and the children are great. The only problem I have with this school is the front desk staff, who have somewhat of an attitude, but the principal and vice principals are great,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2012

This is my daughter's second year at Macon-Hall. We moved here from overseas, and the teachers have been phenomenal. She is blossoming from a shy girl to one who is gaining confidence and excelling academically. The principal is great, too. She promptly took action when there was a problem with another student last year and is very accessible. The only two negatives I would give is the lunch schedule (due to number of students?) and the attitude of the ladies in the office. They could you some customer service training.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2010

We lived in the city and needed to move to the county. I was really nervous because I know that in Cordova, there are so many different schools. So I used this site when we looked at homes to see the school zone at each address and that's how we finally settled into this school and home. I am so very pleased. My daughter is in Kindergarten there and she cries if I make her stay home because she is sick. She just adores her teacher and the entire school. We have been nothing but pleased and they do so much for the kids. Couldn't be happier with our decision.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2010

The school has a great principal but some of the teachers arent so great... As a parent hope u get lucky and get a good teacher theres only a hand full the rest of the teachers arent so great
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2010

I love this school and it is very educating the principle is great and truly knows every child by name
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 22, 2009

We came to Macon hall after an awful experience in another shelby co school, it was the best desicion i have ever made. we went from struggling with bordem and behavior issues as a result of that to her saying 'I cant wait till summer is over so I can go back to school!' my daughter makes principles list every term! and we have gone from phone calls 3x a week to NONE in the whole year! the parents are great and involved! the kids are great, the learning level is amazing! this is a WONDERFUL school! SO HAAPY HERE!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2009

Macon Hall is an excellent school. I have 3 children who've been students there and my family loves it. The principal is great and, truly, knows every child by name and can identify the parents and to which child they belong. Excellent instruction from teachers who care about teaching and the child's success. Now, this school does not 'baby' children but let them know their self-worth and cultivates their mind by teaching children to think, reason, and make decisions. As an educator, myself, I value education, delivery, and the culture of the school. Macon Hall is a winner in all 3 categories.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2009

My daughter has had the honor to attend Macon-Hall for 6 years. It seems like yesterday when I left her with her Kindergarten teacher.Today, we are in the 5th grade enjoying our remaining days at this wonderful institution. Every year has been filled with creative learning, lasting friendships, and educators that care for the students as if they were their own. My gratitude can never be expressed in words for the well rounded education my daughter has received. I tip my hat to each instructor at Macon-Hall and am grateful for your commitment to our future leaders!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2009

Macon-Hall is an awesome school in every way! After having two children attend Macon-Hall, I can honestly say that you could not find a better education for your child. The teachers are dedicated professionals who truly know how to teach every child. They are warm and nurturing. They have high expectations for all students, but work hard to meet all the individual learning styles and needs of so many students. The entire staff at Macon-Hall is involved in each child's total education, and the principal, amazingly, knows every child in the school. I would unequivocally recommend this school for anyone living in this area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2009

Macon-Hall is a great school! I was stunned by the remarks of the last review. My daughter attended Macon-Hall Kindergarten through 5 grade, we were extremely pleased with the education she received. The administrators and teachers are very professional and tend to the students on their individual needs. If you take a moment to look at their test scores you will see that the teachers are very dedicated and want to see each child succeed. I think that the other reviews are true statements of Macon-Hall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2009

I am concerned that all students in this school are not treated fairly in this environment. Administrators aren't genuine and mask some of the real issues in the school. The teachers all look like they are going to happy hour. I think the dress code should be modified.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2008

This is a great school! I had two children to attend there, and we all were very pleased Mrs. Chambers 5th and Mrs. Robinson 2nd are great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2008

Macon-Hall Elementary is an excellent institution. My daughter just completed first grade there and has had Mrs. Jaime Ross as her teacher. My husband and I appreciate and are quite pleased with her teaching style and the success of our daughter. We hope that she has the same great success throughout her entire academic career. She will definitely be well prepared for college, medical school, and beyond!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2008

I have had two children to attend Macon Hall. One child had to transfer to Chimney Rock due to rezoning. That school did not compare to Macon Hall. Macon Hall has a wonderful pricipal who know the name of every child, dedicated teachers who aren't afraid to challenge their students, great parent involvement. Although it is a large school, all of the children seem to know and respect each other. I would recommend Macon Hall over any other elementary school in this area!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2007

Excellent school. super principal, willing to help every student achieve. Excellent PTA program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2007

I have 3 children that attended this school only one now, but the teachers, and staff are excellent. They are all involved in the learning of the children and I would not recommend any other school other than this one for my child. If your child has special needs it is an even better school my child got everything he needed by attending her for a child with special needs
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2006

Our daughter has loved her time at Macon-Hall. As a parent it wonderful to know that your child is getting excellence academic instruction, strong social guidance and personal attention. The administration and staff are fantastic! It's a big, busy place, but somehow they've managed to keep it personal and give every child the attention they deserve. Thanks for doing a touch job so well!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

185 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
62%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 49% in 2013.

185 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
64%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

185 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
75%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 84% in 2013.

185 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

205 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
57%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 48% in 2013.

205 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
61%
Science

The state average for Science was 56% in 2013.

205 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
66%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 57% in 2013.

189 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
63%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

190 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
73%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

189 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
71%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

190 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students67%
African American62%
Asian73%
Hispanicn/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilities75%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students63%
African American58%
Asian73%
Hispanicn/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilities75%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students76%
African American72%
Asian73%
Hispanicn/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilities50%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students91%
African American88%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilities75%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students58%
African American47%
Asian85%
Hispanic73%
White66%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disabilities71%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students62%
African American56%
Asian69%
Hispanic60%
White69%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disabilities82%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students68%
African American56%
Asian77%
Hispanic73%
White86%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilities47%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic93%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilities77%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students64%
African American57%
Asian73%
Hispanicn/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilities33%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students74%
African American69%
Asian64%
Hispanicn/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilities61%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students71%
African American62%
Asian73%
Hispanicn/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilities50%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students93%
African American90%
Asian91%
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities75%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 52% 23%
White 35% 67%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 2%
Hispanic 4% 7%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 41%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9800 Macon Rd
Cordova, TN 38016
Phone: (901) 759-4530

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Heritage Baptist Academy
Shelby County, TN







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT