Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mt Pisgah Middle School

Public | 5-8 | 601 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 8, 2014

Mt.Pisgah is a good school . the teachers were excellent and if they fuss or get on to a student it is because they dont want them to fail . the students are okayy most students are well behaved some students just want attention and do uneccasary things and thats why they get in trouble but the school is awesome and their food is okayy i cant complain this school is not a bad school at all its really fun you should really try this school so this school is wonderful so all you people saying that it is bad it is really not maybe your child got off track cause mt pisgah has a lot of people in junior honors society enriched classes so check your child not the school


Posted March 14, 2014

Small overall enrollment so better teacher : student ratio's. Strong parental involvement and outstanding PTA board. Great Principal who is involved in all aspects of the school and attends all activities to promote the school and encourage it's students. Strong music program. Mt Pisgah needs parents of it's students to be present and actively part of the PTA and other clubs and organizations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 22, 2010

I just LOVE parents who blame the school for their kids not doing well. Why don't YOU hold your kids accountable instead of allowing the school to raise your kids.


Posted March 25, 2010

I've read good and bad reviews about this school. Well heres how i view the school. The faculty is strict because they truly care for our safety. The teachers, now, they can be anything from the best teacher ever to one of those ones that really could care less, but there aren't many teachers like that here, and overall they are here to help. This school does offer many opportunities such as Honors Algebra, Honors Physical Science (9th grade classes) and have a dance team. I am apart of all these and have to say i am immensely happy here. This school also teaches life lessons, to carry with you for the rest of your life. Im an 8th grader here and can truly say these have been the most memorable 3 years of my life and part of me doesnt wanna leave fpr high school. Overall great school :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 25, 2009

MT Pisgah Middle is one of the worst schools that my child has attended. The teachers do not keep parents involved, the principle is not as involved as he should be and the curriculum is not challenging. The school needs alot of work. Very disappointed in the teachers and staff at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2009

AMEN to this review. This has been our worst year ever. We had teachers that did not movitate my son at all. He went from a straight A student to a B and C student. I am working now on a transfer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

Mt. Pisgah has a wonderful facility and some of the teachers really do an excellent job. Some of the students are very much out of control. There is a lot of bullying, fighting, and foul language at the school . The administration has lost control, I heard that this use to be a good school but now I wouldn't send my pet there for learning and I don't have one. I took my child out and enrolled them somewhere else. Do you homework Parents!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2009

The teachers are good from what we've experienced but the peers are not. There is fighting and cussing and just not a good environment. I think the teachers do the best they can. What can you do? Parents need to discipline thier own children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2009

I think the previous comment is correct. Over all the school is not that bad. I think some changes need to happen. Unfortunately the school has deep traditional roots making it hard for the kids to share their talents. If the school would update the teaching style and realize we are in a new century, this school would be great. (I say that like Tony the Tiger.) True to the previous comment '....some of the students get out of control.....). That is true some children do lack respect for authority. If your child is in the 5th grade, send them to Macon Hall. Let them be little one more year!! As Mt Pisgah starts at 5th grade and goes to 8th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2009

This is a pretty good school overall. I am curently in the 8th grade and all of my teachers are excellent. There are a couple teachers that are strict with some things but the important thing is that they teach you what you need to know, which they definatley do. My grades have gone way up since I've been there. Here's the downside: some of the students get out of control. These kids like to set fires just to see how many classes they will be able to skip. Besides that one thing, Pisgah is an amazing school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 3, 2008

This school is okay... It is challenging... But it is like any ordinary school... Not every teacher is there to be helpful... But they also have high school classes such as Algebra and Physical Science... And they have gym, art, band, enriched art, chorus, and strings... But there are a lot of rules... I am a 8th grader at this school...
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 31, 2008

Mt. Pisgah Middle School is terrible! The teacher don't care about your education at all! Sometimes, you could get suspended just because you talked! I honestly think Briarcrest would be a beter school than this!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 18, 2008

mt.pisgah is a really bright school. it is a two story middle school, most middle schools arent even two stories. the teachers are very great and well working with the students. they dont really have the best food but its not as bad as cordova. ive been to cordova and all there food was very disgusting.even though they dont have much field trips it is a very awesome school
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 19, 2008

mt. pisgah is the greatest school! the staff is incredible! the classes are challenging, but the teachers help you. there are many clubs you can join. mps rocks!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 16, 2008

Pisgah was the best school ever, all my teachers were awesome, they not only gave me the best education possible but they taught me a lot about life, I was in all honors and was involved with cheerleading there, I couldn't get enough of that school, they cared so deeply for us students and they tried there best to keep it a clean school, I am on my way to highschool now but I am so glad to have gone to Pisgah, I will never forget it. All the teachers seemed to share a bond with each student, your student should be very excited about going here, it was the best experience of my life,
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 11, 2008

I am a middle schooler here and i think this school is great! It has great oppertunities and is a great school in general.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 8, 2007

I presently have one child attending Pisgah and one child graduated from there. I am very pleased with the school. The curriculum is challenging and all of my childrens teachers have been caring and very willing to help my children in anyway they can. All I had to do was ask. I love the fact that there are strict rules that must be followed in regards to dress code and student conduct. To me they are exemplary. There are a wide variety of extracurricular activities to choose from. Parent involvement could be better, but that is the choice of the parent, not the school. The school is what you make of it and what you get out of it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2007

I went to Mt.Pisgah Middle School for two years and it is the worse school I had been to. The teachers can't control the students and the teachers are horrible at teaching. I didn't learn anything there and I HATED going to school there. I would not let your kids go there unless you want you kids to have bad grades and not learn anything and hate school. If your kids have to go there I would homeschool them because they would learn alot more.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 24, 2007

I go to Cordova Middle School and I will be in the seventh grade. Now I had a choice in going to Mount Pisgah or Cordova Middle. I decided on Cordova. We have great T-CAP scores and informative teachers I am glad I go to my school!


Posted July 11, 2007

I would have to say this school has a long way to go. While most of the teachers have good intentions toward the students some do not and it shows in how they treat the children. Children are labeled and not given an opportunity to be treated fairly. The school board should 'clean house' and see the difference a new team of unaffected teachers and administration make.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 57% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
32%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
43%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
51%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2013.

174 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
27%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

174 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
52%
Science

The state average for Science was 62% in 2013.

174 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
47%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

174 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

185 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
34%

2010

 
 
24%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 47% in 2013.

185 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
44%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

185 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
46%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

185 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 41% in 2013.

160 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
18%

2011

 
 
12%

2010

 
 
11%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 47% in 2013.

190 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
52%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

164 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
59%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 82% in 2013.

190 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students47%
African American37%
Asiann/a
Hispanic42%
White68%
Economically disadvantaged28%
Students with disabilities17%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students62%
African American53%
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
White83%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Students with disabilities17%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students60%
African American51%
Asiann/a
Hispanic42%
White85%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Students with disabilities13%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students91%
African American90%
Asiann/a
Hispanic92%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities63%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students60%
African American53%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White72%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Students with disabilities40%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students48%
African American38%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White65%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Students with disabilities30%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students56%
African American46%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Students with disabilities30%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students90%
African American88%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities75%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students30%
African American24%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White50%
Economically disadvantaged29%
Students with disabilities21%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students55%
African American51%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White72%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Students with disabilities43%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students62%
African American58%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilities40%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students93%
African American93%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities86%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
100%
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

English I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 65% 23%
White 25% 67%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 2%
Hispanic 4% 7%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 44%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1444 Pisgah Rd
Cordova, TN 38016
Phone: (901) 756-2386

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Heritage Baptist Academy
Shelby County, TN







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT