Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Dexter Elementary School

Public | PK-4

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

29 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 18, 2006

I have 2 in Elementary and 1 in Middle. I am very impressed with the Elementary. This is our first year here, so I don't know about all of the programs or teachers, but my second grader has an amazing teacher. My fourth grader also has 2 good teachers. There seems to be a very active PTA program from what I could tell from the first meeting. I was worried when we moved here from MS. I had heard horror stories that pretty much all of the Memphis and surrounding area public schools were to be avoided at all cost. That does not seem to be true of Dexter. I just hope that it continues to remain a county school. They have a good reading program in place, and I look forward to learning more about the other academic and the extracurricular programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2006

Dexter Elementary has been a fantastic school for our child. She attended 2004-2005 3rd grade, and 2005-2006 4th grade. Each year she has had a wonderful teacher. Dexter Elementary has a nurturing environment that was welcoming to our child, and to ourselves, the parents. The school is still new, and has a wonderful layout. Each classroom is a nice size. The PTA is fantastic, and has many opportunities for you to become involved with your childs school. There are Academic Clubs for all ages, Mouse Squad, Yearbook, Art, and many others. The Support Staff are fantastic. The Educators at Dexter are commited to helping your child achieve their potential as students and as people interacting with others. Dexter Elementary has been a wonderful educational experience for our child. Go Dexter Patriots! Thank you.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 20, 2006

I gained custody of my 4 kids in January, my 3 sons all attend Dexter. This is their first year in public schools. I have been very pleased with the staff and teachers. It will be sad when it is annexed into the city. Ms. Johnson is truly a major asset to the school and my family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2006

My daughter has attended Dexter Elementry for 3 years. We have had outstanding results from our teachers. The principal is hard to get to know & shes not at all friendly. The other staff in the office you just have to get to know.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2005

I did alot of reserch on differnt school in the cordova area and me and my husband desided on dexter and now i really wish we would have went with another school I was really disappointed in the school over all . The teachers were really cold toward us they were not welcoming at all and our son has allways liked his teachers exceped at this school he does'nt. I am not saying it is an awful school i am just saying I was highly disappointed and If I could do it over again I would have put him in another school.If I were to rate this school i would give it a 2 maybe b/c of the teachers and the rooms have no stimulation for the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2005

I am so thankful for the great transition into school that the Kindergarten teachers offer. My son had Mrs. Aiken. She was wonderful. I would like to thank the school for the understanding and consideration that they gave through a trying first year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2004

This is a terrific school! All the teachers truly care and work directly with your child. I have established a relationship with the principal and she has done a wonderful job with the children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2004

My children have been going to Dexter since the first year that it was open and so far have both enjoyed attending the school. So far, I have been very pleased with the teachers. My son has ADHD and an Anxiety Disorder and everyone has been very helpful and understanding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2004

I have been very pleased observing Dexter Elementary grow in the two years of operation. I am sure this year will be another productive year with students working to their full potential under a Great Administrative Team.
—Submitted by an administrator


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
46%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 49% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
41%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
60%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 84% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
29%

2010

 
 
33%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 48% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
34%
Science

The state average for Science was 56% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
46%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students66%
African American66%
Asiann/a
Hispanic61%
White63%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disabilities56%
English language learners42%

Reading/Language Arts

All Students50%
African American47%
Asiann/a
Hispanic35%
White59%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Students with disabilities50%
English language learners17%

Science

All Students68%
African American66%
Asiann/a
Hispanic57%
White72%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disabilities56%
English language learners42%

Social Studies

All Students86%
African American81%
Asiann/a
Hispanic91%
White88%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilities56%
English language learners92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students60%
African American51%
Asiann/a
Hispanic77%
White55%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilities57%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students58%
African American51%
Asiann/a
Hispanic64%
White55%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilities64%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students52%
African American44%
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
White65%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Students with disabilities50%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students91%
African American89%
Asiann/a
Hispanic91%
White95%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities72%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 42% 23%
White 27% 67%
Hispanic 21% 7%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 2%
Two or more races 3% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 57%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7105 Dexter Rd
Cordova, TN 38016
Phone: (901) 373-3526

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT