Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Dexter Elementary School

Public | PK-4

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 16, 2014

My daughter attended this school for kindergarten, 1st grade and part of second grade. We moved and I wish we could have taken the school with us. The principal really cares and encourages parent involvement. The teachers are really involved and are easily accessible to the parents. It is a well cared for school and it is in a safe and family friendly area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2011

My son went to this school... we have now sadly moved away but this school had such a positive impact on my son and myself. The staff is awesome and are so caring. His teacher was Mrs. Crossett and she is so awesome and caring and such a wonderful teacher. I wish we could have relocated her with us and for every grade :D lol. The principle and entire staff just care and you know and feel it. I give this school an A+++ no matter what other people may say.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2010

One of the best public schools at Cordova, TN. My daughter is in this school for past 3 years and she has gained a lot from this school. Teachers are very friendly and identifies talent of students in all areas.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2009

My daughter is in Kindergarten here this year, and so far it has been great. She has an awesome teacher and she loves everything about Dexter and I do too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2009

My daughter has started Kindergarten at Dexter Elmentary School and I love it. The staff is very nice and I look forward to her becoming the best that she can be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2009

My son has been in Dexter Elm. since Kindergarten and we have loved everything about it! The school and staff are welcoming and warm and treat the children as if they were thier own. I highly recommend this school and have been very happy with all aspects since he started attending.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2009

My daughter is in the first grade and just loves her school and her teacher. I could not imagine having a better teacher than she has this year anywhere else. I have also dealt with the principal, who always has responded to my concerns quickly, thoroughly, and to my satisfaction.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2008

I love Dexter Elementary! The staff and teachers are awesome. I have 2 children who attend and I love the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2008

My son has attended Dexter Elementary for 2 years now. I am very pleased with the staff and regulations that they have there. I am new to having a child in school, so needless to say I have high expectations of the school my child attends. So far everything has been great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2008

All of my children have attended Dexter Elementary and their lives are better for it. It is a big school with lots of children but it is run by one of the best principals I have ever come in contact with. She has high expectations from her teachers, staff, and students; and they all do their best to meet those expectations. My children have had some of the best teachers--caring, competent, and dedicated to their jobs. While no school is perfect, I believe you will get out of the experience what you and your child put into it. It is a relationship between the school and the parents. Dexter has much to offer our kids and our community...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2007

I think Dexter is a great school. I appreciate the way it is run and I think the teachers are great! I have been active and I think the principal does what is necessary in order to keep almost 1000 children in a safe environment where they are actively lear
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2007

Dexter is a wonderful school! The teachers are great and the curriculum is challenging. The PTA is very active, however, more parents could be involved. The atmosphere is very structured and strict, but it is only for the safety of the children. I would rather have an unfriendly principal that knows how to run a safe enviroment than a friendly one that would put my children's safety in jeopardy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2007

I am a parent of a kindergartner at dexter, I am not pleased with the school at all, no friendly atmosphere, not inviting. Communicattion with parents and teacher very poor.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2007

My son went to Dexter 06-07 year. I was unimpressed with his and my first school experience. He had to change teachers after 2 weeks.(Which I was happy about as she was very rude to the students and me)The teacher he went to was no better. As far as the principal, she had no care about my concerns or complaints. he is going to a different school this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2007

I have two children that go to Dexter elementary. One has graduated to fifth grade. She went K-4. I have been pleased with Dexter all of their academic lives at Dexter. My children have had some fantastic teachers. The office staff and the principal have been great as well. Kristin M.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2007

My daughter attended school 2006-2007 school year, but will not be going back next school term. This is a great school, but the principal has some major issues. The school board needs to evaluate her duties and look into allegations of all parents. Ms. Davidson is not friendly and has no family roles assuming she has no kids and etc. Good luck to the teachers and parents. Be prepared for the long haul !! Valarie Wilson
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2007

My daughter was in Kindergarten at Dexter during the 2006-2007 school year. Her teacher was terrific and had wonderful communication with the parents. The school is also very 'family friendly' and I spent numerous days eating lunch with her and getting to know her classmates. I enjoyed all the school activities and the Watch DOG program they have is great, especially for children that don't have a father at home. I am also very pleased with her academic experience at Dexter. The kindergarten program is wonderful and they do a great job at making learning fun. The principal is also very helpful and has not been rude in my experience with her. I know Dexter isn't perfect but I think they provide a wonderful environment for learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2007

I have been very disappointed with my daughter's teacher. I would expect that a learning environment would be more inviting. I am quite disappointed. We are changing schools in one month.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2006

This is my sons first year at dexter. I love his teacher she's great now on the other hand the principal and the office staff are cold to the children she runs the school like a prison and don't understand that we are the parents and they are our children not prisoners.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2006

I have 2 in Elementary and 1 in Middle. I am very impressed with the Elementary. This is our first year here, so I don't know about all of the programs or teachers, but my second grader has an amazing teacher. My fourth grader also has 2 good teachers. There seems to be a very active PTA program from what I could tell from the first meeting. I was worried when we moved here from MS. I had heard horror stories that pretty much all of the Memphis and surrounding area public schools were to be avoided at all cost. That does not seem to be true of Dexter. I just hope that it continues to remain a county school. They have a good reading program in place, and I look forward to learning more about the other academic and the extracurricular programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
46%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 49% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
41%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
60%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 84% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
29%

2010

 
 
33%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 48% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
34%
Science

The state average for Science was 56% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
46%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students66%
African American66%
Asiann/a
Hispanic61%
White63%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disabilities56%
English language learners42%

Reading/Language Arts

All Students50%
African American47%
Asiann/a
Hispanic35%
White59%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Students with disabilities50%
English language learners17%

Science

All Students68%
African American66%
Asiann/a
Hispanic57%
White72%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disabilities56%
English language learners42%

Social Studies

All Students86%
African American81%
Asiann/a
Hispanic91%
White88%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilities56%
English language learners92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students60%
African American51%
Asiann/a
Hispanic77%
White55%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilities57%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students58%
African American51%
Asiann/a
Hispanic64%
White55%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilities64%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students52%
African American44%
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
White65%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Students with disabilities50%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students91%
African American89%
Asiann/a
Hispanic91%
White95%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities72%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 42% 23%
White 27% 67%
Hispanic 21% 7%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 2%
Two or more races 3% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 57%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7105 Dexter Rd
Cordova, TN 38016
Phone: (901) 373-3526

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT