Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

East Robertson Elementary School

Public | K-6

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 30, 2012

East Robertson Elementary is far by the best school my children have ever attended! At East they have strong principal, teacher and staff leadership and understanding which is great for the attention that the students need to thrive in class. They have wonderful communication / involvement with the parents / guardians about our children and welcome any questions or concerns that we might have. They listen and answer any suggestions that we might have to improve the quality of the school. They offer many opportunities to let us be involved with the school and children. All in all, they treat the parents as partners...not outsiders. Therefore, I KNOW they treat the children as though they were their own! Hats off... East Robertson Elementary Faculty and Staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2011

The staff at this school is rude and unprofessional. I have 2 children at this school and they spend very little time actually in the classroom with their 'teacher.' The office staff is condescending and every week there is another note home that children need to send in supplies for the teachers or money for this or that. At the beginning of the year you have a list of supplies to bring in as well as a $25 'supply fee' with a note in all caps that this fee will cover all of their supply needs for the year, then immediately the weekly requests for money and supplies begins. My children have cried to me that the teachers give rewards and prizes to the kids that bring in supplies for them and that the teacher checks their packs every day for money and supplies, that she is so disappointed in them when there is not any in there. Shame on You for guilt tripping children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2009

I'm very impressed with this community and the faculty for East Robertson Elementary School. - One of the best I've ever worked in.


Posted October 27, 2008

My daughter goes to East Robertson Elementary School, she has been there since 1st grade. She is in 5th grade now, this is her last year there. Our hearts break knowing that she won't be there anymore. The teacher's, pribncipal, and other staff members are what make the school #1. Everyone goes beyond there call of duty. We appreciate all that they do. Thanks for loving our children as much as we do, it means alot. You make the parents life so much easier by not having to worry about our kids, we know they're in good hands. We love everyone there!!! Thanks, Mike and Tammie Clark 10/28/2008
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2007

I give the school 10. I believe there is no better place to go to school. The principal along with the teachers and staff are wonderful. My child is in the 4th grade and will have on there in 3 years. I recommended this school to anyone. The school board is in the process of adding on and remodeling the school so don;t let the age of the school fool you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2007

I have a fourth grader at ERES and I could not be more pleased. The building is old but that only gives it a little more charm. I have not met a teacher that doesn't have our childrens best interest at heart. Mr. Stubblefield does an outstanding job as our principle. As a mom who volunteers on a regular basis, I have had the opportunity to meet and work with most everyone. I have a younger child who will begin kindergarten in 2009 and I am already excited about doing it all over again. I've never met a finer group of people striving to instill strong morals and Christian values to get our children started in life. I am proud to call these people my friends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2006

ERES is a small town. Everyone I meet has been nice.The school is very old and desperately needs to be improved. The air doesn't seem to work very well.So far my family seems to be satisfied with the education and staff. Trust me I am an over protctive mom and if my son goes to ERES than its a good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
50%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 49% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
48%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
68%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 84% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
25%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 48% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
45%
Science

The state average for Science was 56% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
50%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 57% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
23%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
45%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
57%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 62% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students55%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White56%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Students with disabilities26%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students38%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White40%
Economically disadvantaged28%
Students with disabilities21%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students64%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White64%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilities32%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students77%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilities42%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students70%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White66%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilities53%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students58%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White57%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilities40%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students75%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilities60%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students95%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilities73%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students57%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White59%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disabilities38%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students62%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White62%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilities56%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students68%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White71%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilities50%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students89%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilities63%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

English I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 67%
Hispanic 5% 7%
Black 3% 23%
Two or more races 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 50%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5177 East Robertson Rd
Cross Plains, TN 37049
Phone: (615) 654-3874

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT