Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Montgomery Central High School

Public | 9-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 17, 2013

All around good school love the teachers. The lunches could be better and timing could be better. But I love it and love going
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 13, 2011

Once upon a time, this was the best school in the area. We spent a lot of money buying land in the area in order for our children to go to this school. It offered incredible programs including a marksmanship program that our son was particularly interested in. HOWEVER, shortly after we bought our home, Clarksville in its infinite "wisdom" decided that this would be the perfect place to ship the inner city kids so that there would be more diversity. The resulting fights and racial unrest caused not only our family, but several of our friends to remove our children and they are now home schooled. The policy of "the students should adapt", should not include violence and being ignored in favor of the "new" kids. Specificaly, we were told that all of the remedial classes were reserved to assist the newly bussed in kids and our son was simply going to have to struggle. God love the home school program that we are now involved in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2009

Leadership is lacking at this school and the teaching my children received was very uneven. Personal experience with some teaching staff was extremely unprofessional. A small school like this one doesn't afford much choice when teachers aren't meeting your child's need. And the principal is doing very little to weed out those teachers who are just 'biding their time,' while they waste the precious time of the students they here to inspire.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2009

this is the best school in the Montgomery County School System if I do say so myself. All the teachers care a lot about their students and everyone is as sweet as could be. no other school in this county can beat MCHS
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 22, 2009

A very down to earth school. the teachers here care about student development. A very tight knit community where people have good values. This is where we wanted to go when we moved to Clarksville and we love it here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2008

this school is a great learning environment ment, and it is fun to learn here. The teachers and principles work with you and help you every step of the way to get into a good college
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 5, 2008

I have been a student at MCHS for four years and I do not believe I could be better off anywhere else. While some of the faculty is perhaps not the most involved or encouraging we have many teachers who are top of the line. We have an excellent math team as well as various other clubs and organizations. It is an overall excellent school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 6, 2007

Central is a very poor school. The staff and faculty are not very respectful of the students. They seem to think kids are nobody's. My child has been to 6 different schools and this is by far the worse. I hope to move out of this school district soon. Would not recommend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2007

Montgomery Central High School is a great school, the curricular activities they have are fantastic, JROTC, Band, Sports; they're all fabulous. I'm a student there, and the teachers are great; they're one of a kind.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 7, 2005

MCHS is a great school. I attended there and so do my 2 children. The discipline is strict but the school is safe. I believe the staff cares and wants to get to know the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2005

MCHS is a good school if your child does not have any learning disabilities. If they do, they target them as trouble makers, and do their upmost to get them out of their school. I have had 3 children go through, 2 with disabilities, both had trouble, 1 was expelled, and they tried hard on the other, the 3rd child was a B honor roll, and no disabilities, had no problems. They are partial and discriminating, if at all possible, if your child has a learning disibility, do not send them to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2004

MCHS is a rural school with a very supportive faculty and staff. Students receive individual attention and many of the teachers live in the area so their own children can attend Central. It offers a variety of sports and extra curricular activites for all students. The JROTC program has won a national championship and is the best in the county. The Parent-Advisory committee is an excellent way for parents to get involved with MCHS. They often ask the parents to participate in school activities and events. Both of my children went through the Central network and have become wonderful, successful adults because of the care they were given at MCHS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2003

Central is a wonderful school. It has a terrific atmostphere and the faculty there is outstanding. I wouldn't want my children to go elsewhere
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

246 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
49%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 42% in 2013.

168 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
31%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 62% in 2013.

246 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
73%
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

252 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
68%
English II

The state average for English II was 59% in 2013.

246 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
66%
English III

The state average for English III was 40% in 2013.

178 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
49%
U.S. History

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students60%
African American39%
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
White63%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities27%
English language learnersn/a

Algebra II

All Students27%
African American22%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White28%
Economically disadvantaged21%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Biology I

All Students68%
African American64%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilities23%
English language learnersn/a

English I

All Students68%
African American50%
Asiann/a
Hispanic58%
White70%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilities21%
English language learnersn/a

English II

All Students61%
African American71%
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
White61%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilities24%
English language learnersn/a

English III

All Students39%
African American26%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White40%
Economically disadvantaged28%
Students with disabilities14%
English language learnersn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
African American94%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 85% 67%
Black 8% 23%
Hispanic 3% 7%
Two or more races 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 39%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3955 Hwy 48
Cunningham, TN 37052
Phone: (931) 387-3201

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Weems Academy
Clarksville, TN


Academy For Keener Minds
Clarksville, TN


West Creek High School
Clarksville, TN


Living God Academy
Clarksville, TN


Unity Christian Academy
Clarksville, TN



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT