Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Centennial Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 783 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 16, 2012

I have one child who went from Kindergarten thru 5th grade with great experiences every year. My younger son is nox in 3rd grade and has had a great experience each year. We have had different teachers with both sons and have been pleased. The administration is supportive and the office is friendly. My oldest was well prepared for Middle School when he left Centennial. As an educator myself, I highly recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2009

My son is in kindergarten and the teacher is awsome. He loves going in there everyday never cries about not wanting to go like he did last year when he was in preschool. I heard some bad things about the school when I first enrolled him but I have found none of that true in fact I think its the best school. The school has helped him to become independent. Now the only bad thing I can say about it is that the drop off situation in the morning is ridiculous my son gets a tardy almost once a week .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2009

I feel that my child is gaining a quality education by attending Centennial
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2008

My daughter went to this school and we had nothing but heart ache from it she started in kindergarten,and from day one til the last day there was always something ,even after meeting and such with other staff things never got better for her or us ,The school was set in haveing things there way and not focuseing on the big picture,providing whatever help they could .So we changed her to another school and not to my surprise things were better from day one .To be honest I will never send any of my childern to this school ever again .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2008

My son is not zoned for this school. But, I had heard some people say this was an excellent school. So, I registered him to this school for Kindergarten. He has been at this school for first grade, Primer and now he will be in the second grade. I love this school. I like the layout, the teachers and the principal. It's amazing to me that the principal knows each and every child. To me, she is by far the best principal. I feel like my child is safe here. He has had only one problem with a student bullying him and the teachers took care of it. It is not the teachers responsibility to disipline the kids, but they will for the safety of the other children. I blame parents for their kids behavior. But, this school is by far the best!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2008

I have 3 children which have gone or will go to this school,my oldest child is now in high school and still goes back to see her teachers they are like friends and family to her.This is a great school and I would not want my children to go anywhere else in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2007

they are very good to my kids and they make sure the kids are taken care of.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2007

When my daughter came home the first day of school caring, I knew we were in for a very long year. Besides her teachers lack of benevolence towards my chides needs, there were two occasions my daughter was denied phone access when she was not feeling well and I had to take he to the after hours clinic. My children no long attend this school. I would rather pay Teuton for a private education than subject her to what Centennial has to offer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2005

The staff is so friendly and caring. They honestly take their time with the students and help them reach there goals and understand what they are learning. My boy started here when he was 5 years old and he had learned so much in so little time. He never went to headstart or daycare. So they made learning fun for him. I would recemend any child to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2005

This school has an excellent academic program. The teachers that my child had were very concerned about my child's achievement. My daughter flourished in this structured, yet nurturing environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
64%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 49% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
49%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
74%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 84% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
47%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 48% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
48%
Science

The state average for Science was 56% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
59%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 57% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
40%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
57%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
80%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students70%
African American46%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilities39%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students59%
African American15%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White66%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilities33%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students70%
African American46%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilities44%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students92%
African American85%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities72%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students49%
African American21%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White52%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Students with disabilities11%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students61%
African American36%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White66%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Students with disabilities22%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students67%
African American50%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White69%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilities6%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students95%
African American93%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities61%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students79%
African American80%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilities20%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students70%
African American70%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilities27%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students91%
African American90%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities67%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students94%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities67%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 85% 67%
Black 8% 23%
Hispanic 4% 7%
Two or more races 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 56%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

198 Upper Lake Dr
Dickson, TN 37055
Phone: (615) 446-0355

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Bilandy Academy
Dickson, TN





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT