Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Dickson County High School

Public | 9-12 | 1462 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 12, 2014

I went to Dickson County HS 30 years ago. I'm still a Cougar at heart. When I went there, academic activities including the Math Contest, the Science Fair, and other competitions were considered very important. We had several students place well in both statewide and national competitions. Sports has always been #1 at this school, and I suspect that's not going to change. But, if students and parents are willing to be the exception and stand out from the crowd, excellence is definitely available. You must be willing and dedicated, and never care what others think. From DCHS, I was able to successfully graduate from both College and Grad School, and I had a successful career at NASA as well as Verizon Wireless. You can make it here.... But you must make your own path and not be satisfied with mediocrity.


Posted December 19, 2012

It's really hard to say anything good about this school some of the teachers are ok but mostly they are incompetent sports are up on a pedestal if you play football you can get away with murder I would say I am not prepared for college at all they feel if you don't take honors classes then it doesn't matter if you know how to do anything the office workers are always in a bad mood even though they barely do anything all day the administration is godawful
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 12, 2012

I recently just stopped going to Dickson because of personal issues. But I loved the school when I went there. A lot of people were to get along with and if my mother wouldn't of passed away, I would still be going to the wonderful school. The academics were good. I enjoyed the school. I miss it alot. I have went to Humphreys county school and they are not near is good. The students arent as friendly, the staff isn't as good, and the lunches are terrible. The prinipal was friendly and actually spoke to everyone. The school had two students pass away this year and I was friends with both, and the school was behind the family and friends. Wonderful School!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 13, 2011

I have had children in Rutherford Schools, Metro-Nashville Schools and now Dickson High School. Overall, their EOC scores are higher, the disciplen is better, there are more honors/AP offerings, more varied elective offerings - and in my opinion they demand far more personal responsibility from my children. This is a good way to prepare them for college. I moved to this county because of the district's good reputation for being a safe, strict, and structured learning environment. And they have not dissappointed me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2011

This school is one of the worst schools in the state of Tenn. If your student is having any troubles at all they will put him/her in "special classes" in which all they do is discipline the student and read everything to them, the school WILL NOT do anything to help them learn. The staff is never on the same page and do not know what other staff is saying or doing, one so called staff member will tell you one thing and another staff member will say the exact opposite. Then if you try to contact them you will be ignored for long periods of time and when you do get a hold of someone they will flat out lie to your face. As for the good reviews on this site I have been personally told by a staff member at Dickson High School that they have been encouraged to go on the internet and post reviews of the school to make it look better. If you care about your children s education at all please, please do not force them to go to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2010

this school is great i go there and the school spirit is wonderful so are the acedemics everything is wonderful.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 30, 2010

Some of the students were barely literate. If you stick with the honors classes and take an ACT / SAT prep course, you might make it through college. Don't count on it, though. The honors students were mostly druggies, and the good kids were to clique-ish to get to know.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 1, 2010

This school is Horrible. The Things that they are Teaching here are very Far Behind and the Language courses there's only 2 to choose from.


Posted July 5, 2008

Wonderful School with caring staff. No student is overlooked. Hardly any 'trouble makers' in a school of this size is impressive.


Posted August 16, 2007

Dickson County High School....What I love so much about it.... 1. The extracurricular activities 2. The teachers 3. The principals 4. The staff 5. The spirit of Dickson County High 6. The commitment of keeping the bulding standing strong 7. The sportsmanship 8. The competitveness 9. The Year-round schedule 10. Experincing the real highschool life
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 12, 2005

I love the high school. It has something for everybody. Like they have a good football, golf, wrestling,baseball, softball, and a lot of other teams to be on. The teachers care about their students. They are very nice and do not like to see someone do bad. DCHS has a good music department. They have a marching band, concert band, a jazz band, and their brass section is great. They have a program that they just started called G.A.M.E. it is so big. It keeps all the students to be good so we can get game points.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 29, 2005

I only went to DCHS 1 year and I had a good time. The teaching was wonderful, Another thing is thr prices are to high for anything ex: milk carton 1.00, grab bags of chips 1.50, slice of pizza 1.75. other than that it was a good school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 22, 2005

This school has positives and plenty of negatives. Tradition is written all over the administration and staff: and the tradition of our 'fathers' isn't always a good thing. Academics are overlooked and sports are put on a peddlestool. They're more concerned about looks than brains - the school offers minimal higher learning.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 19, 2004

As far as I am concerned, DCHS is the best school in the state of Tennessee! Great teachers who care; administrators who enforce the rules and keep the school disciplined and running smoothly; and students who take great pride in their school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

there is no consistency in this school. the principals in this school are never on the same page when it comes to disipline. no two handle same situations in the same way. kids with past problems are always treated as problem kids and never given the opportunity to change. they are always judged by their past actions
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

327 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
49%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 42% in 2013.

344 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
32%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 62% in 2013.

402 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
67%
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

375 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
73%
English II

The state average for English II was 59% in 2013.

376 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
72%
English III

The state average for English III was 40% in 2013.

360 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
49%
U.S. History

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students79%
African American69%
Asiann/a
Hispanic81%
White79%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilities43%
English language learnersn/a

Algebra II

All Students33%
African American20%
Asiann/a
Hispanic40%
White33%
Economically disadvantaged21%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Biology I

All Students71%
African American59%
Asiann/a
Hispanic55%
White73%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilities35%
English language learnersn/a

English I

All Students84%
African American68%
Asiann/a
Hispanic88%
White84%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilities36%
English language learnersn/a

English II

All Students64%
African American47%
Asiann/a
Hispanic40%
White66%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities33%
English language learnersn/a

English III

All Students51%
African American29%
Asiann/a
Hispanic31%
White54%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Students with disabilities8%
English language learnersn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities87%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 87% 67%
Black 9% 23%
Hispanic 3% 7%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 45%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

509 Henslee Dr
Dickson, TN 37055
Phone: (615) 446-9003

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Bilandy Academy
Dickson, TN







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT