Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Oakmont Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 20, 2014

Dickson is not a friendly place at all for outsiders. The school is not the exception, the buddy system, favorites and racist. My kids hate going to school, and often became "sick" so they begged to stay home(didn't fall for that one) I almost guarrantee the good reviews are done by the faculty's faithful friends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2013

OES is a wonderful school. The teachers are very involved and truly care about the students. The principal is very interactive with the staff and students. The staff is always having events for the students and parents. I am very satisfied with every aspect of the learning experience my children are getting at OES.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2013

I love Oakmont! My child is getting an excellent education there. He also receives wonderful care for a chronic condition. Thank you, Oakmont Staff. :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2012

My daughter attended this school for kindergarten, I LOVED her teacher (Miss Jennifer Nolan) but I cant stand the school! I have heard the teachers yelling at the children when no parents were around--and there are many who choose favorites. I pulled my daughter out after her first year here,and I refuse to send any more children in the future! We did get lucky, however, with Miss Jennifer. My daughter LOVED her!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2007

Oakmont is a great school. Our son is in Kindergarten and he absolutely loves it. His teacher is Mrs. Spann and she had been teaching Kindergarten for 31 years. You could not ask for a more qualified Teacher. He can hardly wait to get back to school after breaks. Oakmont makes learning fun and the Teachers and Staff are amazing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2006

This is the first year that my children have attended OES. The school has excellent academic programs for all levels. They have programs to help with children who maybe falling a little behind on their work, which allows extra practice on specific subjects. Their extracurricular activities are amazing. I have found that they do more to keep the children more interested in school than any other school in our county. The teachers, principal, and staff see to it that all students try their best at everything that they do. They encourage the children to give it their best shot and nothing less. They also let the children get involved in simple 'jobs'. The children are allowed to be office workers, library helpers, helpers for the younger or new students, and jobs that help keep the school clean. Excellent school, in my opinion!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2004

Excellent School. Great faculty.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2004

Oakmont Elementary is by far THE best school in middle Tennessee. Our children are all grown now but they all 3 attended Oakmont and my family at the time was very blessed to have such an outstanding teaching staff and support group to guide our children. Especially since we were newcomers to the area after moving here from Michigan. But my fears and worries were soon a thing of the past after meeting the teachers, office staff and principal Mrs. Thomas. I still go back now and then for visits and it is always a pleasure to see old friends and touch base with a place that is very near and dear to my heart because Oakmont gave my children the firm foundation they needed as far as education and the promise for their future. Thank you Oakmont for your years of caring for our children. May God truly bless you.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
56%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 49% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
38%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
57%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 84% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
46%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 48% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
44%
Science

The state average for Science was 56% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
53%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 57% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
42%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
47%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
57%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students47%
African American30%
Asiann/a
Hispanic62%
White49%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Students with disabilities14%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students38%
African American22%
Asiann/a
Hispanic39%
White43%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students63%
African American48%
Asiann/a
Hispanic69%
White67%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilities32%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students88%
African American91%
Asiann/a
Hispanic77%
White89%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities68%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students57%
African American42%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White58%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities21%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students47%
African American32%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White52%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Students with disabilities21%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students77%
African American68%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilities53%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities84%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students77%
African American50%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilities59%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students68%
African American25%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disabilities71%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students84%
African American50%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities65%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African American83%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilities88%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 71% 67%
Black 16% 23%
Hispanic 10% 7%
Two or more races 2% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 68%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

630 Hwy 46 South
Dickson, TN 37055
Phone: (615) 446-2435

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Bilandy Academy
Dickson, TN





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT