Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Centennial High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

32 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 8, 2014

So excited about the direction this school is going! This is the strongest administration this school has had in the last several years we have been involved there. The teachers are not only strong academically but have a compassion for this school and the students they teach. Both my children graduated with high honors and scholarships for college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2013

All of the great strides Centennial made under Dr. B are lost. We have a new principal that speaks with the passion and knowledge of an anemic, monotone, pseudo-intellectual. Most of the students never see her. We went from a 6 to a 9 on this Great Schools rating site under Dr. B. We will be back to a 6 all too soon under this administration. We need a new director too. He hinders the progress of most schools while looking for the next photo op or chance to self promote. He is also the reason we went from a great principal to someone just taking up space in an office. It was the worst handling of a situation that had nothing to do with schools possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2013

There are some fantastic teachers here that inspire students to learn and grow. Fortunately, we've experienced most of them. Unfortunately, they are the exception. This school is plagued with petty, power tripping tyrants that harass students over minor dress code issues, give less than achieved grades when parents dare to question what or why they are teaching a certain way, etc. I was hopeful the new principal would be a catalyst for change, treating our students like young adults getting ready to face the reality of life outside of HS. Sadly, this is not the case. The dress code (stricter than the Williamson County dress code) perpetuates the illusion of gangs being prevalent in this school. Furthermore, it treats the young adults of this school differently than their peers in neighboring schools. There was a survey given to the parents but as far as I know the actual content of the survey was not made public - only the results. The educators would be wise to spend more time inspiring our children and less time nitpicking and making examples of them. Communication with the parents and being accountable for what and how you are teaching seems obvious, but not welcome
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2013

Everyone knows what shame it was to treat the previous principal they way they did. The superintendent should be ashamed of himself. He owes the entire school community and most especially the principal an apology. His bungled handling of what should have been a private matter at the most set the school back hugely. We had come so far with such great leadership. Then the interim principal proved to be useless and harmful. And then they hire an inexperienced kid to run the most difficult high school in the county. Centennial will fall back off the cliff and undo all the hard work that has done by a great principal. Because of poor leadership from the home office and hiring of weak leadership at the school, I cannot rate Centennial highly at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2013

Centennial is a great school that has come a long way in a very short time. The leadership that guided the school to such a high level is now gone. He did indeed bring CHS from a 6 to a 9 in this site. Hopefully we won't fall back to where we were. The students are great and there are some good teachers. The school spirit is very good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2012

Fabulous school. The academics are highly challenging and the school spirit is incredible. Many of the poor teachers are now gone and the school has an entirely new attitude and atmosphere. Go Cougars!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2012

Our family has now had a year at Centennial after having the previous year at Ravenwood. Centennial is absolutely wonderful and there is no way we would ever want them to go back to Ravenwood. Our student was pushed exceptionally hard but given the support and resources they needed to meet the high expectations. No offense to Ravenwood, but the teachers only told kids what they needed to learn, but never actually taught. The teachers at Centennial TEACH. The administration is very strong and responsive. The atmosphere is wonderful and i have never seen better school spririt and pride.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2012

To the person that posted on April 11 about too little home work, low rigor, and "segregation" of freshman, are you serious? Centennial has the highest expectations in the county. My child came from Ravenwood to Centennial and the difference is HUGE. Centennial's challenge to students is far ahead. The freshman have their own lunch period and directed studies period that enhances the Freshman Academy. Other schools in the county do something very similar, and this is one of the reasons your child has less homework at home. They are doing it during study hall, and if they need help, they get it through the Freshman Academy and don't leave it to chance. Freshmen are interacting with upper classmen all day long, but you make it sound like they are sequestered away from everyone else. Nothing is further from the truth. Centennial is amazing and by far the best school in the county for genuine learning and a real world, normal school experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2012

Having been a teacher at CHS prior to moving to MNPS, I can tell you CHS kicks tail. The faculty are committed to excellence and growth. Bottom line, I saw kids develop, and that is what Centennial continues to do. Residing in Centennials Zone, I get to see my former students all the time! They pop in to tell me how life is going and how much their times at CHS have impacted their lives. Continue the legacy. CHS will always be my true home as an educator!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 11, 2012

My son is a freshman at Centennial and I have to say I'm stunned at how little homework he gets. Other than studying for tests he's had actual homework a total of 6 times during this year. Some of his classes are so easy he really does no studying - History and English being two of them. If you want your child to be prepared for college he/she MUST take honors level classes, anything at a lower level is a waste of their time. The college prep classes have been dumbed down so badly that the students really aren't learning anything. Not sure why the school feels it necessary to segregate the freshman so they have little to no contact with older students. This freshman year has just been an extension of middle school. It's crucial for social and academic development for freshman to have contact with older, experienced students in order to learn how to prepare for college. They need to see what older students are doing to get ready and to learn from older peers the appropriate way to conduct themselves. Having all of the student body interacting throughout the day would really help the freshman grow up. Right now it's not happening.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2011

Centennial is a really special place. With the energy that Dr. Brown brings to the school and his philosophy of loving, challenging, and supporting all students, great things are happening at Centennial. The school spirit is amazing, the students are respectful and well mannered, and the teachers are wonderful. We could not be happier. We are one of the families that was rezoned from Ravenwood, which is a good school, but Centennial is pushing our student harder and farther than Ravenwood ever did. Our student does not deal with the clique issues that are rampant at Ravenwood because they just don't seem to exist at Centennial. Join the Centennial family and you will love it too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2011

My oldest daughter graduated in the Class of 2011. Any parent would want a similarly compelling high school experience for their child. Academics, Art, Choir, Drafting, Student Council, Sports, Spirit, Theater and real relationships with friends and teachers for four years. CHS helped her be accepted at nationally recognized Undergraduate Architecture programs at top universities, with scholarships. The professional educators and administrators at CHS want your child to be successful. They want parents involved (a lot happens between open house and graduation). They will partner with your student to help them discover their interests, strengths, and weaknesses (this is a two way relationship). They will work to create the best possible educational experience for your child within the constraints of the larger Williamson County System. The Parent Teacher Student Organization (PTSO) is a great place to get plugged in. At CHS your families investment will pay a lifetime of dividends. God bless.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2011

We have been completely amazed at how great Centennial is for our children. We moved in from out of state & was expecting TN schools to come up short of our previous schools. We went around to the various schools before purchasing & found CHS to be the most down to earth school in a relatively upper class district. From day one we have had multiple people in the front office, counseling & teachers help us get transitioned to the academic courses & school procedures. As parents we have seen our children love everything from the computer aided design courses to the year round running program to being able to get a quick frap in the school's coffee shop. Our children have been successful within their abilities while getting to know a great group of students. If you are moving to the area, I would encourage you to go to the schools & meet the people who your child will be spending most of their teen years. While the test scores are very respectable for a school of diversity they do not predict my child's success..the people working with them influence the life long learning process along side of parents who truly care. Hope to meet you at one of Centennial's many great functions!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2011

By far the best school in the county in preparing students well for the real world. Centennial students go out into the and succeeed. Other high schools prepare their students to go out into the world, get intimidated, and come back home to their protective bubble.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2011

Top ranked is a way to describe Centennial High School. A web-exclusive extended list of America s Top High Schools in 2010. CHS ranked first for Tennessee comprehensive public high schools. The current graduation rate of CHS is 99.4%, the highest among Williamson County Schools and 98% of the most recent graduating class went on to attend a four-year university. Twenty-two Advanced Placement classes are offered at Centennial and they are very popular among 10th, 11th, and 12th graders. In 2009, 89% of the students received a 3 or better on the AP test. Testing is an important aspect of Centenial High School. The ACT is required to graduate. The average score in 2009 was 25.4, 24.8 in 2007, and 24.4 in 2008. Although not required, many students take the SAT. The combined score in 2006 was 1267 and the score in 2007 was 1306. The school produced six National Merit Semi-Finalists in 2007, nine in 2008, and 13 in 2009.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2010

We have two kids at Centennial. It's a great school. Faculty and administration are truly engaged with the student population and the families. AP and Honors classes are challenging and doing a great job to prepare our children for college. We have two more children and look forward to both of them attending Centennial in the future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2010

I love this school!!! All the gossip that has been going around about Centennial High is complete nonsense!! They are rumors which rude parents from other schools begin. Centennial has wonderful academics, and teachers that truly do care about students' education. The students all have a love for each other that you honestly couldn't find at any other school. If you would like your child to grow accustomed to diverse cultures and ways of life, Centennial is the best place to be.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 2, 2010

Centennial is an awesome awesome school!! I hate how the rumors that other parents of different Williamson County Schools have ruined the reputation of this wonderful school!! The teachers are great, and the students are even greater!! There's such a wonderful, loving atmosphere when you walk in the building. (They also have an awesome media team) Lastly, the new principals really have their heads on straight!! It's just a wonderful place to be!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2010

My daughter came from Franklin Special School District and has a disability. I was always asked from FSSD schools 'what does your daughter need from us to be successful'. Since we've been at CHS, I've been battling to get the services my daughter does need to be successful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2009

Centennial High School is an excellent school with profound students. Some of Williamson County's most prestigious students who go on to achieve the atheltic and academic endeavors come from Centennial High. Everyone should go there who has the opportunity!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

357 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
42%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 42% in 2013.

414 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
57%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 62% in 2013.

176 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
71%
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

432 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
80%
English II

The state average for English II was 59% in 2013.

445 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
79%
English III

The state average for English III was 40% in 2013.

268 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
63%
U.S. History

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students78%
African American63%
Asian94%
Hispanic63%
White85%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilities53%
English language learners40%

Algebra II

All Students61%
African American38%
Asian86%
Hispanic34%
White71%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Students with disabilities20%
English language learners25%

Biology I

All Students92%
African American67%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilities50%
English language learnersn/a

English I

All Students81%
African American51%
Asian79%
Hispanic56%
White93%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilities38%
English language learnersn/a

English II

All Students79%
African American47%
Asian92%
Hispanic40%
White89%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Students with disabilities15%
English language learnersn/a

English III

All Students54%
African American22%
Asiann/a
Hispanic20%
White68%
Economically disadvantaged30%
Students with disabilities13%
English language learnersn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities93%
English language learners83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 67%
Black 13% 23%
Hispanic 12% 7%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 22%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Nurse(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
Fax number
  • (615) 591-2567

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5050 Mallory La
Franklin, TN 37067
Phone: (615) 472-4270

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Ravenwood High School
Brentwood, TN


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT