Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Franklin, TN
Students enrolled: 1,553
Before care: Yes
After care: No

4 stars
Based on 36 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


38 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Centennial High School 5

Posted July 08, 2014
- a parent
So excited about the direction this school is going! This is the strongest administration this school has had in the last several years we have been involved there. The teachers are not only strong academically but have a compassion for this school and the students they teach. Both my children graduated with high honors and scholarships for college.

Centennial High School 1

Posted December 17, 2013
- a parent
All of the great strides Centennial made under Dr. B are lost. We have a new principal that speaks with the passion and knowledge of an anemic, monotone, pseudo-intellectual. Most of the students never see her. We went from a 6 to a 9 on this Great Schools rating site under Dr. B. We will be back to a 6 all too soon under this administration. We need a new director too. He hinders the progress of most schools while looking for the next photo op or chance to self promote. He is also the reason we went from a great principal to someone just taking up space in an office. It was the worst handling of a situation that had nothing to do with schools possible.


Centennial High School 3

Posted October 23, 2013
- a parent
There are some fantastic teachers here that inspire students to learn and grow. Fortunately, we've experienced most of them. Unfortunately, they are the exception. This school is plagued with petty, power tripping tyrants that harass students over minor dress code issues, give less than achieved grades when parents dare to question what or why they are teaching a certain way, etc. I was hopeful the new principal would be a catalyst for change, treating our students like young adults getting ready to face the reality of life outside of HS. Sadly, this is not the case. The dress code (stricter than the Williamson County dress code) perpetuates the illusion of gangs being prevalent in this school. Furthermore, it treats the young adults of this school differently than their peers in neighboring schools. There was a survey given to the parents but as far as I know the actual content of the survey was not made public - only the results. The educators would be wise to spend more time inspiring our children and less time nitpicking and making examples of them. Communication with the parents and being accountable for what and how you are teaching seems obvious, but not welcome

Centennial High School 1

Posted July 15, 2013
- a parent
Everyone knows what shame it was to treat the previous principal they way they did. The superintendent should be ashamed of himself. He owes the entire school community and most especially the principal an apology. His bungled handling of what should have been a private matter at the most set the school back hugely. We had come so far with such great leadership. Then the interim principal proved to be useless and harmful. And then they hire an inexperienced kid to run the most difficult high school in the county. Centennial will fall back off the cliff and undo all the hard work that has done by a great principal. Because of poor leadership from the home office and hiring of weak leadership at the school, I cannot rate Centennial highly at all.

Centennial High School 4

Posted July 14, 2013
- a parent
Centennial is a great school that has come a long way in a very short time. The leadership that guided the school to such a high level is now gone. He did indeed bring CHS from a 6 to a 9 in this site. Hopefully we won't fall back to where we were. The students are great and there are some good teachers. The school spirit is very good.


Centennial High School 5

Posted October 08, 2012
- a parent
Fabulous school. The academics are highly challenging and the school spirit is incredible. Many of the poor teachers are now gone and the school has an entirely new attitude and atmosphere. Go Cougars!

Centennial High School 5

Posted May 31, 2012
- a parent
Our family has now had a year at Centennial after having the previous year at Ravenwood. Centennial is absolutely wonderful and there is no way we would ever want them to go back to Ravenwood. Our student was pushed exceptionally hard but given the support and resources they needed to meet the high expectations. No offense to Ravenwood, but the teachers only told kids what they needed to learn, but never actually taught. The teachers at Centennial TEACH. The administration is very strong and responsive. The atmosphere is wonderful and i have never seen better school spririt and pride.

Centennial High School 5

Posted April 19, 2012
- a parent
To the person that posted on April 11 about too little home work, low rigor, and "segregation" of freshman, are you serious? Centennial has the highest expectations in the county. My child came from Ravenwood to Centennial and the difference is HUGE. Centennial's challenge to students is far ahead. The freshman have their own lunch period and directed studies period that enhances the Freshman Academy. Other schools in the county do something very similar, and this is one of the reasons your child has less homework at home. They are doing it during study hall, and if they need help, they get it through the Freshman Academy and don't leave it to chance. Freshmen are interacting with upper classmen all day long, but you make it sound like they are sequestered away from everyone else. Nothing is further from the truth. Centennial is amazing and by far the best school in the county for genuine learning and a real world, normal school experience.


Centennial High School 5

Posted April 15, 2012
- a teacher
Having been a teacher at CHS prior to moving to MNPS, I can tell you CHS kicks tail. The faculty are committed to excellence and growth. Bottom line, I saw kids develop, and that is what Centennial continues to do. Residing in Centennials Zone, I get to see my former students all the time! They pop in to tell me how life is going and how much their times at CHS have impacted their lives. Continue the legacy. CHS will always be my true home as an educator!

Centennial High School 3

Posted April 11, 2012
- a parent
My son is a freshman at Centennial and I have to say I'm stunned at how little homework he gets. Other than studying for tests he's had actual homework a total of 6 times during this year. Some of his classes are so easy he really does no studying - History and English being two of them. If you want your child to be prepared for college he/she MUST take honors level classes, anything at a lower level is a waste of their time. The college prep classes have been dumbed down so badly that the students really aren't learning anything. Not sure why the school feels it necessary to segregate the freshman so they have little to no contact with older students. This freshman year has just been an extension of middle school. It's crucial for social and academic development for freshman to have contact with older, experienced students in order to learn how to prepare for college. They need to see what older students are doing to get ready and to learn from older peers the appropriate way to conduct themselves. Having all of the student body interacting throughout the day would really help the freshman grow up. Right now it's not happening.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Centennial High School
5050 Mallory La, Franklin, TN  37067
(615) 472-4270
Last modified Centennial High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Centennial High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 38 reviews. Top