Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Fred J Page High School

Public | 9-12 | 835 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 2, 2014

im a student at page high and people think it is a terrible school but it is actually great. all of my teachers are amazing and there are so many nice people. if you dont understand something, most teachers will go out of their way to help you. it is a smaller school with a tight-knit, family-like bond & a lot of spirit. the athletics as well as the academics are exceptional. a great school.


Posted March 17, 2013

Page High School has Tennessee's top-rated AP Calculus and AP Chemistry programs and ranks among America's Top 500 schools. Graduates attend Ivy League and other prestigious universities. Most teachers, outside of the history department, are exceptional and set high expectations. Students at other Williamson County schools come in with high scores but do not show growth. Students at Page come in with slightly lower scores but show tremendous growth far surpassing the other local schools. In a recent survey, parents and students alike applauded Page for being one big family where everyone sticks up for each other. In fact the school has the lowest occurrence of bullying and cliques in the entire county. This high school is the best-kept secret in the Southeastern United States. See their Wikipedia page as witness of their athletic and academic success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2010

I am a PROUD parent of 2 Page High Students and a third child who will be there in the 2010-2011 school year. I cannot say enough about our wonderful staff and our Page High community. We have outstanding teachers, extremely involved parents and good students. We chose to move into the Page High district and have never regretted it.... I did the research and Page won hands down! Our school is the best kept secret in Williamson County and I love the community feel everytime I come into he school, attend a sporting event or a school event. I am very much a proud Page High Parent! All schools in Williamson County are good schools and Page High ranks right up there with them all!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

Hi i am a student at page there are only few good teachers. One teacher at page stops her class to answer text messages or phone calls. Page only has a few good sports. There is also a lot of drama and rumors about people that is not true
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 28, 2010

My two older children attended Page. By the time my third child was old enough for high school, I had already decided not to send him there. The teachers at Page were very hostile toward my daughter and indifferent toward my son. Students who don't make waves are usually ignored. Those who challenge, are put down on a daily basis. I feel so guilty about putting my two older children through that. My younger son went to a private school and now has many more options, because he was educated in math. Although all of my children have gone on to be successful, contributing members of society, I will never be able to make it up to my children for that poor high school education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 31, 2009

Page High School is a joke. It has a terrible reputation in the county. It is a very small school and students are forced to conform to fit in. The marching band at PHS always does very well, but athletics are a joke. I think an AP class at Page is a standard class at any other school in the county. There are a few good teachers, but other than that, it is a joke.


Posted December 9, 2009

I feel that Page High school is a great school. I was involved in sports, clubs, and was also the president of the school when I attended. Graduates from my class went to colleges all over the country. We had someone go to Stanford, Boston University, Boston College, UT, Alabama, etc... I have found that at Page, you get the best education that you want. If you want a good education, it is easy to achieve. I always found that no matter what your involved with, the teachers are warm and friendly; however, if you are a trouble maker, they might not be as nice, but I think that is with every school. I know that Page has a top rate special program that no other school in the county can offer. Also, Page has the best education for people going into specific jobs after graduation.


Posted October 4, 2009

We are new to Page and definitely feel it is the best kept secret! There is a wholesome-ness to the culture. The students are very well behaved, considerate, and have a lot of fun in their various activities. We met this spring with Dr. Anthony and she recruits the BEST teachers - those with good rapport with students/parents, and who have good track records. We attended Open House and were VERY impressed with the teachers. Each were very caring, prepared, and since have communicated well, using email, Parent Connection and other web based resources to keep parents informed! Our student is in the band and they easily beat out larger bands from larger schools. We are VERY impressed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2009

I am a mother of 3 Page High School graduates, 2 of which went on to college. I think if you asked any of them they would agree that the teachers at Page make the school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2008

Hi, i am currently a student(senior) at middle college high school. I attended page for the first three years of high school. If you were not involved with sports at page you really were not shown the atention you needed. They care a lot about there atheletics and had a great program for that but if you were not into sports, you were left in the cold. A lot of the teachers are coachs. If your in their class, the refer to sports and sports related things to teach class. Im personally not into sports so half the time i had no idea what they were talking about. Parents, if your child is not into sports, do not send your child to this school. Please consider somewhere else because page will not help them.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 13, 2007

As a former student I can say that Page High should, if it is not already, be held in as high esteem if not higher than any other school in Williamson County. During my time there I felt like Page was consistently overshadowed by the academic and athletic successes of much larger schools like Franklin and Brentwood, but looking back I realize that simply wasn't true. Page was and still is the diamond in the rough with an unbelievably successful music and arts program including a state championship marching band and vibrant drama program, as well as a nationally recognized JROTC program which I'm proud to say I was a part of. I value my memories of being a student at Page and can honestly say it was the caring faculty and administration as well as numerous extracurricular opportunities that prepared me for my college career.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 22, 2007

My child is at Page HS now, I love this school. There is much accountability here as it is a rural environment and many of the kids have grown up together; therefore, many of the parents have also known each other for years. The drama and music departments are garnering a positive national reputation for the school. There was a state of the art performing arts center,constructed and opened a couple of years ago, along with a recording studio. The marching band is going for their 4th consecutive state championship, it's a miracle what these kids do when you look at the state of their instruments they have to use. Pathetic that a program that has gotten terific publicity for the school is ignored when it comes to passing out funds to replace instruments that are older then the kids who play them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2006

I am the mother of 3 children. My older children both attended Centennial High School, and our youngest was rezoned for Page High. At first we were apprehensive about him attending such a small school, but quickly learned the advantages of the rural high school. He has had a wonderful experience in both academics and athletics, and could not be in a better learning environment. I'm certain our principal, Dr. Anthony knows each and every student's name. She is very dedicated, and has the best interest of Page High students as her goal. I would highly recommend this school over the larger schools in Williamson County.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2006

As the parent of one Page High graduate and a current sophmore, I can say without hesitation that this is the best highschool in Williamson County bar none. If the sports teams are not as well recognized as the larger schools, they offer more students an opportunity to participate. The academics are second to none. Just look at the scores. When you get past the, 'country image', you see that this is school is about what is best in class, inclusion and excellence!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2005

I am a former student of Page High, and I was just shy of miserable at this school. I ended up transferring to Middle College in order to escape. The majority of my teachers didn't care about students on an individual basis, which is almost understandable in a large school. However, many could put forth more effort if they desired to do so. Administrators only care about the image of the school, attendance numbers and test scores. They are not concerned with the well-being of the students. Teachers pay no mind to students that are at risk of failing, while Middle College instructors will assist in any way possible. I was failing classes and had given up the idea of college while attending Page. While attending Middle College, I became an A student and applied and was accepted to a university. I regret not leaving Page High sooner than I did!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 9, 2005

At PHS I studied Japanese for two years, participated in JROTC for 4 years, was on student council for 4 years, and took part in several plays and musicals. (Now I hear that they have added a brand new state of the art theatre so I am jealous.) <BR><BR>I didn't realize how great my highschool experience at Page was until I spoke with people from other schools many years later. Some of the teachers there have profoundly impacted my life.(As I write this I can still hear Mrs. Macurda's voice correcting my grammar and punctuation.) <BR><BR> The parents at Page have always been very involved. In fact, my godfather started a jazz band there a few years ago and the school later decided to create a jazz band class. Those kids eventually were able to record a CD in a recording studio. They now play out at fairs and festivals. Great School!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 25, 2005

This is the review of a former student (2000 graduate). Since leaving PHS, I can honestly say that I was DEFINITELY prepared for college. I had the necessary communication skills (especially computer skills), and I was comfortable asking for help from my college professors because of the relationship I had with my PHS instructors. PHS always focused on the students' safety and education. Also, as a student who transferred there in the middle of 10th grade, I cannot stress how welcome I felt in a new environment. Make no mistake - PHS is a well-kept secret in Williamson County public schooling.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 5, 2005

I have been an involved parent of two teenagers who goes to PHS. I have nothing but high praise for this school and the community! The leadership of Dr. Anthony and her staff is just incredible. the hours they have dedicated into the students is just unbelievable. look at our scores and dropout rates. I am very grateful that we can be a part of this school and its environment. This school is very unique...every student counts here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2005

Well actually, i'm not a parent, i'm a student but i still wanted to post on here how great Page high school really is. I'm not American, but middle eastern, and thought that a country state such as Tennesse would be prejudice against strangers, but i was suprised of how nice and respsectful the whole school, the people, and everyone else was to me and my brother who attended Page as well. The school offers great opportunities and challenges to all its students which makes all of thse students better people and more determined individuals. And i think that's what a real school is all about.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 22, 2004

All my children went to Page High School. They are all in college and doing so well. Page is one of the smaller schools in Franklin, but it makes it more comfortable for the kids to come to the teachers when they need extra help. One of my children is now at Vandy and she is doing so well. My other child graduated from Martin. He was top of his class. I think the teachers at his school really influenced what he has become. The teachers are great. The programs are outstanding, and I truly applaud this great little school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
96%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 42% in 2013.

158 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
81%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 62% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
96%
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
English II

The state average for English II was 59% in 2013.

198 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
97%
English III

The state average for English III was 40% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
96%
U.S. History

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
African American83%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities88%
English language learnersn/a

Algebra II

All Students89%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Biology I

All Students91%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White92%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

English I

All Studentsn/a
African American86%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilities75%
English language learnersn/a

English II

All Students92%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities73%
English language learnersn/a

English III

All Students95%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities73%
English language learnersn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 93% 67%
Black 4% 23%
Hispanic 2% 7%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 11%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Librarian/media specialist(s)
School psychologist
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • School psychologist
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (615) 472-4751

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Tennis

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6281 Arno Rd
Franklin, TN 37064
Phone: (615) 472-4730

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Ravenwood High School
Brentwood, TN


Independence High School
Thompson's Station, TN




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT