Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Franklin Christian Academy

Private | 5-12 | 100 students

We are best known for our welcoming community and Christ-centered classes.
 
 

 
 

Living in Franklin

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $290,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $850.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 8 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 11 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 8, 2013

This school has been great for my son. It has changed his life. For the first time I think he has felt safe and cared for at school. The academic curriculum is right on par with other schools in the area. The sports program has been fantastic. The headmaster has spent time with my son and has blessed his life. We have been blessed to be there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2013

FCA has been the best thing for our granddaughter. We have seen her mature and advanced with her peers at FCA. FCA is a roll model for all private, Christian school.. They are caring and loving as well versed in academics.THe teachers are most willing to help each student plus the students thrive in a smaller environment. IWe really can't say enough good things about FCA. They deserve a 5 star rating.


Posted August 7, 2013

FCA is a very small school that has a huge heart for Christ centered learning. Both of my children have enjoyed their teachers who have academically challenged them. Even though we recognize that the process of learning is as much the child's responsibility as the teacher's, I would rate the teaching staff at FCA as very good and in some cases excellent. The extracurricular offerings for this small school are outstanding and the cultivation of a sense of community is exceptional. When FCA transitions to their new campus in 2014, I believe their growth will be explosive. For the money, FCA is the best option in the county for a private Christian school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2013

FCA is the best school for our daughter. We started 2 years ago in the 5th grade and this year she will be in the 7th grade. It has a loving Christian environment that helps her grow and be who Christ wants her to be. The teachers are very caring and helpful in class and teach her to apply herself in each subject and in every situation. The class sizes are small which helps her learn better and she is able to not get lost in a big school atmosphere. She truly has a family at FCA and the leadership qualities that she is learning is mentored by the older students in high school. They are taught to be servant leaders to their classmates and they show the love of Jesus to their friends and fellow students at FCA. The administration is helpful and we can't wait to see what God has in store for our daughter at FCA in the years to come. We love FCA!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2013

Franklin Christian Academy (FCA) has been a true Godsend for our family. As the only 5th-12th grade school in Franklin, TN it offers a secure and loving environment focused on a Christ centered learning. Students are taught the true meaning of servant leadership. Learning both the standard course curriculum and the biblical truths our nation and society were built upon. FCA prepares its students mentally and spiritually for the future. For a quality education in a Christ centered environment one cannot find a better school in all of Williamson county.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2013

My son is preparing to start his 4th year at FCA. He is getting a great education based on a Christian World View. The teachers care deeply for the students both academically and spiritually. Our entire family has been extremely blessed by Franklin Christian Academy!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2013

FCA has provided our son a great education in a caring Christian environment. The small class size gives opportunity for deeper relationships and deeper learning. Education is not just about surviving, rather it should be about thriving. The staff is an amazing group of men and women who love the Lord and love teaching. My son has been impacted by everyone at FCA. He is now thriving in school. He is very proud to be a falcon!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2013

Franklin Christian Academy taught my child absolutely nothing. She came into the school ahead of most of the students academically, and after we took her out and placed her in a public school, she was extremely far behind all of the students in her grade academically. This school does not prepare you for college, and/or life in general, whatsoever. Do not waste your time here. Invest your money in a private school that will actually TEACH the students something. I truly regret every dollar I spent for that school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2012

FCA is making lots of positive improvements in the area of raising standards of academic performance and discipline. One of the core values of the school is to value kids who don't necessarily fit a specific mold, but can have differences celebrated. This does not mean that it is all inclusive and a fit for every student. Several students have left the school due to inability to adhere to school discipline, and also inability to be dedicated with a strong academic effort. The school is better for this. I would urge anyone interested to contact the school and meet with the Admissions office. Decide for yourself. It seems about 80% of the reviews posted here are very positive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2011

We love FCA. This is my son's 2nd year and he is learning so much. The teachers are so caring and Christ-centered. There are great families at FCA too. I would highly recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2011

Great School! It is the best thing that could have happened for my son and our family. I am not sure where the last comment is comng from. I have never gotten the impression that the school is about money since it is one of the less expensive christian schools around. I have taught at another well known private chistian school in the area and F.C.A. is better than any other I have seen. They have all the accrediation that is required for graduation from the state. They also have the same accrediation as most private schools in the area. People who hate authority figues usually have problems with authority in genereal..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2011

THIS SCHOOL IS A PRISON. my son has attended FCA for 3 years and unless your child has a brain problem or cannot handle themselves in a public school environment your child will be completely and utterly MISERABLE at this school, it does NOT help get into any good colleges. Your child will grow to hate all authoritive figures in their lives. DO NOT SEND YOUR CHILDREN TO FCA. all Hugh Harris thinks about is the money and the new building, and the other teachers are young and very inexperienced. Mrs. Branson talks rudely of the students behind their backs. I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS SCHOOL
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2011

My daughter has enjoyed her first year at FCA. She has come out of her shell and feels that her teachers and the staff care about her. The faculty is working with us to continue to challenge her and are concerned with her academic success, personal growth, and spiritual maturity. We have been thoroughly pleased this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2011

Excellent faculty. Great vision. This school works hard at developing a strong Christian worldview with challenging academics.


Posted April 19, 2011

FCA has been so good for our family. My children have flourished in the small individualized environment going from typical shy, socially awkward I'll-just-read-a-book-and-ignore-life kids in school to class leaders with strong academic habits and a love for learning and its challenges. The teachers are both engaged and relational and at the same time they work hard to hold the kids to high standards in academics, engagement and personal character. Switching from our local public school, as highly rated as it is, was the best choice we could have made. Due to the small environment some draw backs about the school would include limited choices in foreign language and music and arts programs. But the choices offered are quality and taught by experienced professionals. Over all we are very happy with the school and look forward to many years there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2011

It is unfortunate to hear about those allegations. As a school, we try to make decisions on what is best for each student on a case by case basis. We communicate with each family about their child's progress. The three pillars of our school are outstanding academics, transforming discipleship and live giving community. That is what we are about and what we aim to do each day.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 18, 2011

I am so impressed with FCA! The teachers are so qualified and really care about the students. It is a small school intentionally so that they can give individual attention to the students!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2011

This school has such a wonderful and caring environment for students. They focus on the core values of academics, community, and discipleship and it really is what they portray it to be when you ask them what FCA is all about. Our headmaster is a great guy who sets the stage for his teachers to follow. He engages with the kids and really does care about them and it shows. The teachers make learning fun and the kids want to go to school because they feel loved and a part of a community.The teachers graduated from very good colleges and universities and are various ages.The diversity of the school is wonderful! I would, and have recommended this school to anyone who is seeking a quality Christian education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2011

All of our children have attended FCA and I can't say enough good things about it! The teachers and faculty really get to know the students and help them on a personal level. Their academics challenge the students and they do an excellent job in preparing them for higher learning. Thank you FCA!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2011

I have never enjoyed teaching as much as I do at FCA. Having been in a variety of settings -- public and private, from elementary to university levels -- I can honestly say that FCA's students, their families, the administration and my colleagues are unparalleled. FCA consistently encourages me to find new and creative ways to teach a subject I'm passionate about, to all types of learners.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 77% 67%
Hispanic 11% 7%
Black 7% 23%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
Two or more races 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Special education coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15 am
School end time
  • 3:10 pm
School Leader's name
  • Hugh Harris
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College prep
  • Dual Enrollment
  • Independent Study
  • STEM
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Global
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Special education coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Learning lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Franklin Christian Academy provides challenging academics, life-giving community, and transforming discipleship.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$9000 - $10000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2417 Bethlehem Loop Rd
Franklin, TN 37064
Website: Click here
Phone: (615) 599-9229

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Benton Hall School
Franklin, TN




Currey Ingram Academy
Brentwood, TN




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT