Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Montessori School Of Franklin

Private

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Franklin

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $290,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $850.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 8 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 7 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 18, 2013

As a highly satisfied parent of a child attending the Montessori School of Franklin for the last four years, I can tell you that my child has thrived in Ms. Patti's room and in the elementary classroom. My child has grown in self confidence, academic knowledge and life skills far beyond friends in other schools. I can honestly say that no one's perfect, but any issue I have had has been addressed promptly and I have worked with the staff to make sure I am doing my part to give my child and the school my support to ensure both are successful. There is tremendous caring at MSF for every student at every level. Ms. Bunmi is fantastic and so is Ms. Patty and Ms. Ramona and all the other teachers. People often ask me "Is your child gifted? He is so smart." My answer, "He's wonderfully gifted to be part of MSF. MSF is enabling him to reach his full potential." Thank you MSF for all you do for all of the students and for the great information you share to help the parents support our children to reach their full potential as well. A special thanks to Ms. Patty who works tirelessly as the Executive Director to make MSF a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2013

We love MSF! So impressed with the level of learning and the loving atmosphere that Ms. Patti works to create for her students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2013

I am writing to recommend the Montessori School of Franklin. My child thrived there! During his three primary years with Ms. Patti and Ms. Shaun, we watched him grow in confidence. He learned valuable life skills, and develop a love for learning. By the third year, he was reading from the fifth collection of Bob Books with ease. He was able to phonetically write mini-chapter books with illustrations. He knew how to solve a page of math problems, using addition, subtraction, multiplication and division. He gained an understanding of the Decimal System and was able to read 4 digit numbers. The Montessori science and cultural curriculum was impressive too; and Ms. Patti was good at keeping the kids excited and engaged with cultural celebrations. I loved the fact that my son learned to manage time and read a clock, as well as keep his own calendar. He graduated with a love of knowledge, increased self-esteem and the ability to communicate with respect to peers and adults. I guess I can sum it up by saying that if I ever have another child, he will definitely get the same opportunity at Montessori School of Franklin as my last. Our family had a wonderful experience there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2013

We absolutely love Ms. Patty and Ms. Shaun and the whole MSF staff. This our 2nd year in Ms. Patty's Class. My child has learned so much since attending. All the staff is highly educated and have the proper training to ensure that each child is successful. We visited several schools before choosing MSF and it was by far the BEST choice. We are having no regrets about our decision. Last year was our first experience with the Montessori model and it is amazing. We would recommend this school to anyone who wants their child to successful. The best director! The best staff! and The Best Students!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2013

This school strikes a balance between genuine care/concern/nurturing and high academic excellence. My eldest daughter has been at the school for three years and is in Kindergarten now. She is reading at above a 2nd grade level, knows her numbers into the thousands with ease, can count to 30 in Spanish as well as other vocabulary and phrases, knows her planets, continents, and frankly is better at geography than me! Most of all, she LOVES to go to school! My youngest daughter just began in the Toddler program. We had tried two other schools before this program opened and due to separation anxiety she cried everyday at drop off even though the programs were excellent. The first day in Ms Melanie's class she had a bit of a sad look but went without complaint. Everyday since we've left her with a smile and a hug, usually taking work off the shelf before we're even out of the room. She is becoming very independent and secure with herself and doing many daily tasks, such as putting her shoes on, pouring water (with supervision), and more on her own at just barely 2 years. Her favorite phrase is, "I do it myself!" We LOVE this school and all of the teachers in it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2013

My 4 and a half year old daughter and my 3 year old son go to Montessori School of Franklin. My daughter is in Ms Bunmi's class, and my son in Ms Christy's. Ms Christy has recently arrived at MSF and is a wonderful teacher. My son LOVES her. He used to cry when I left him, but Ms Christy is so gentle and warm, and creates such a comfortable and peaceful environment in her classroom that he soon was skipping his way to the classroom and waving me off at the door with a big smile. He learns age appropriate life skills (he loves chopping fruit, making juice, pouring, gardening!), as well as introduction to maths/counting and reading/ writing. All of this in fun ways! Ms Christy lets each child be their own person, while patiently, gently steering them to grow to their full potential.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2013

Montessori School of Franklin is a wonderful school with so much to offer each and every child. The staff is comprised of caring, compassionate, and gifted Montessori Educators who put your individual child's needs above all else. We have been amazed to watch our children grow and flourish in this environment! It is truly unique and wonderful. There are many happy parents in all of the classrooms (I am one of them!). I would recommend it to anyone I know.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2013

Don't bother with MSF unless you can get your child into Miss Bunmi's room or have a child in elementary. The other classrooms are subpar and won't prepare your child for the next step of their education and by this I mean Kindergarten/ first grade, which is just sad. Unfortunately, I'm speaking from experience. The worst part is that this school is being run by a Board of Directors that consists of a bunch of moms who thinks that they can adequately run a school between spin classes and family vacations, and an education director with only a high school degree and her Montessori certification. Don't be fooled - it's not working for the benefit of the teachers or THE STUDENTS even tho that's really who a school is supposed to be for.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2012

I'll keep it short... Ms. Bumni is THE reason why my daughter goes to this school. We love her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2012

I have been involved with Montessori education for my children for more than 6 years and in many states. This is hands down the best program my child has been in. Who can beat having the Best Teacher in Nashville (see Nashville Scene magazine). It is filled with love and compassion. I never worry about my child's safety or education when I drop her off. As an old review suggested, I did "my research". I love the parents and the staff. Since beginning with Ms. Bunmi, my daughter reads with ease. She sounds out words with phonetic skills I haven't seen in many 4 year olds. She knows her planets, lifecycles, multiplies and divides. Im excited to see what else she will learn before Kindergarten. I am so glad that someone recognized her amazing abilities and developed her in so many ways. Everyone should "do their research". They will find that those who disparage this program are actually at other flailing programs in the area. They just can't match the quality of this program without trying to tear it down. It is an amazing school with staff that care about my child as if she was their own. Dont be surprised if your child never wants to leave school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2012

Ms. Bumni named "Nashville's Best Private School Teacher" and I can tell you from personal experience that she most certainly is THE BEST. This school is simply amazing. There is a true love of learning and love for the children there. The Natural Playground is fantastic and the sustainable garden adds an element of education missing from other schools. You very simply must take the time to visit this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2012

Nothing to me is more important than to whom I entrust to teach, nurture, and care for my child, and the Montessori school of Franklin leaves me with no reservations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2011

Montessori School of Franklin is such an amazing school. We are thankful everyday that we found it. All the teachers are devoted to the philosophy, the children and in making it a loving nurturing learning environment. Entering into his third grade year, we are amazed with the difference in our youngest son s love for learning as much, if not more, than how much he has learned. We have two older children in non-Montessori schools who are both equally intelligent as our youngest. After seeing how much they were stifled and put off with learning, we explored the Montessori philosophy of learning and are amazed with the results. The students are happy to go to school, happy to learn and actually learn, not just memorize. They learn a sense of respect, responsibility and love for themselves, others and their environment in addition to all the school subjects. The older children (Elementary age) are given the opportunity to peer teach with the younger children and my son really loves this. He loves teaching, designing the materials for his teaching and giving presentations to his class. This school is definitely worth a look.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2011

My experience with MSF comes from observing my "grandgirls" grow and flourish in that environment. Every visit for me has been a happy one--happy children, loving and caring teachers, friendly parents and grandparents, lots of smiles and love. In addition, their new facility has given MSF a wonderful opportunity to expand and grow so as to be able to offer even more programs for the lucky children who attend.


Posted May 29, 2011

If you want your child to love learning and be surrounded by wonderful teachers who truly care about your child and his/her development, then this is the place for you. I won't comment on the teachers who have recently left (my child is not in that classroom), but will say that the teachers my child has at MSF are fabulous. Can't wait for my second to be old enough to be enrolled.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2011

I am sorry that someone has to bad mouth this school without the facts. It's a shame! My children love it at Montessori school of Franklin. They have done nothing but excel in everything that they do and I owe it to the teachers and staff. Not only is the school about academics but it teaches love and nurturing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2011

To "do your research" below - I too enrolledmy son based on the teachers alone, the same two teachers that you are refering to in your review. Since the departure of the one teacher, my son has absolutely blossomed under her replacement, who is a fully certified Montessori teacher. The replacement (who was actually the room assistant and just took the lead) has my son reading everything and anything whereas the previous two years, I was told that he wasn't ready or, in Montessori terms, wasn't 'in his sensitive period' for reading. Ha! I'd say that my child's potential is finally being realized and he is more excited than ever about school. In fact, he actually cried because school is over for the year. As for your accusations re: parents filling in, fingerprinting, the board of directors, etc, I'd encourage you to do your own research before posting inaccurate, frankly untrue reviews. Not one thing you said is correct except that they SHOULD talk to a lot of the existing parents. This school is actually better than ever.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2011

In response to the parent below (do your research), though it is true that two teachers are beginning their own endeavor and are no longer with MSF, the integrity of the school and our commintment to the fundamental teachings of Montessori (the spirit of the child, peace education) has not shifted. The same loving nurturing environment that has guided children for a decade is thriving. Certainly it is bittersweet to lose talented beautiful teachers such as we have, but we hope that they will continue to light the world through Montessori education as we will do also. It is imperative that you do research your child's scool so please feel free to come and see our campus, meet the staff and board and see peace education and solid commitment to Montessori in action.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2011

To any parents considering this school, be warned...do your research into what really goes on behind the scenes at this school. We enrolled our son based on the teachers alone - they had a couple that were fabulous....but this year they fired one, and the other is leaving after this year. Additionally, they have not replaced said teachers with anyone qualified. They are using parents to fill in. Parents who I am guessing have not been run through the rigorous screening process (bkg check, etc.) that a teacher would be subjected to. The school is run by a parent-led board consisting of members who have no background in education or Montessori. The individuals on the board have little integrity and even less business acumen. This school is a sinking ship. Just do your research - talk to lots of parents first. You'll find out quickly what really goes on.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2010

I have watched my son truly become a child who loves and is excited by school. He had a poor experience at a traditional school, so we decided we needed to try an alternative school. Thank the stars above that we found Montessori of Franklin! The teachers and staff are outstanding. And the teacher/child ratio is good as well, meaning they get the one-on-one time they need. Excellent!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 92% 67%
Black 4% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 2%
Hispanic 2% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Instrumental music lessons

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AMS

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

244 Noah Drive
Franklin, TN 37064
Website: Click here
Phone: (615) 794-0567

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT