Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Gallatin Senior High School

Public | 9-12 | 1352 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 5, 2014

I am writting in response to the December 6, 2013 review. If I can help you in any way, feel free to come bye the athletic training room. I will make sure you get connected to everyone that can listen and help your situation. Tell us your needs? If not me, see our STARS counselor. I have been at Gallatin HS for 7+ years as an athletic trainer and have taught health science education courses previously. Gallatin it is a GREAT school. I have previously worked at two universities were I was an instructor and athletic trainer. I am continually impressed with our administration, teachers, coaches and support staff as a whole. There are more academic programs and honors courses at GHS than any school in the county. Athletics is first class. I consider myself a proud member of the Green Wave and school spirit is unparalleled. Conquer and Prevail... GHS, all hail!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 6, 2013

Overall the staff is on a power trip and does not try to help you. I enjoyed my teachers very much but the rest of the staff was awful. They argued with me about accepting my doctor's note when I was out sick a couple of times. I gave it to them on time and had my doctor write it out so I don't see what the problem was. Also, I don't have my parents here in Tennessee. I am taking care of my self. I was always a good student on top of that. One day I found out I was getting evicted and found out all my college saving were stolen from me. During the break between class I stepped outside the school building and called my apartment complex to see if there was anything I could do and the staff took my cell phone, and suspended me for THREE days because of it. Like I said they do not want to help you at all. The last reason why I completely despise this school, is because today I called and asked if I could go around during lunch time and take donations for my mother who was mugged last night. She lost all her money and has four kids (one with autism) to take care of. They were VERY rude to me about it. I would recommend Hendersonville High School, Station Camp, or Beech for your child.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 14, 2012

I couldn't disagree more!!! We moved to Gallatin before our son started High School and when we came from another jurisdiction and came here, our kids were lost. It didn't take long for our kids to get up to speed on what they were lacking and they are all A & B students and in advanced classes to boot. I agree about the sports, more emphasis there than other things but athletes build active children as far as the leaders in the athletics, I have a few faves but over all the school is FANTASTIC!!! To m e, it isn't always up to the teacher or principal to encourage involvement, they are our children, our responsibility, WE ARE THE PARENTS, it is our job to get involved!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2011

This used to be a great school. Graduated from there in the 80's. Sent two kids there. Wouldn't send a third so we moved out of the zone just to get away from the school. Approach to education has went downhill fast since the departure of Mr. Bills. Current principal does not encourage a relationship between teacher and parents or principal and parents. Getting information or help for your child is like pulling teeth. Sports programs especially football and cheerleading do not encourage character building and both are in dire need of new leadership that will focus on discipline and building positive role models. It's a shame to see my high school in such a state.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2011

The teachers are outstanding. Administration is wonderful. The student body is just like any other student body. There are some really good students, along with some mischeiveous students. I was a 1993 graduate of GHS. I have been back for 3 years and it is outstganding. We are a leader in technology throughout the Sumner County School System. Our School Will always be a Clean and Welcoming Building. The Athletic Facilities above and beyond any High School in the State. As a matter of fact, most colleges lack the facilities at GHS. We have a fulltime Athletic Trainer on Staff who provides treatment, rehabilitation to all GHS athletes. Academically the school is very strong. We have a Staff who works with students in all aspects of their academia. Tutoring is in the mornings through remediation with a chance for credit recovery during morning and summer sessions as well. GHS is the only school in the county to offer The Freshman Academy, where the freshmen are introduced with a year long transition to the life as a High School Student. GO GREENWAVE!


Posted March 18, 2010

I absolutely love this school! I was there my freshmen year and half my sophmore year then I just recently had to move. I still come down there alot to see my old friends. Keep up the good work GHS! your still my favorite school :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 8, 2009

This school is a special place. I am a first year licensed type II Alternative teacher in the math department at GHS. I once took pride only in my athletic ability and now as I serve the community of Sumner County I am proud to have a roll in the academic developement of these young people here. Our new principal, Ron Becker, is doing a fantastic job in his efforts to focus the school on academics and not so much on athletics like I've heard it was in the past. Great schools website gives GHS a 5/10 score based on performances on standardized testing. With taking into account the schools issues in the past of perhaps new schools opening up and taking many high achievers with them and very poor zoning of the schools here, greatschools.com has mis-interpreted the acheivment here at GHS.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 14, 2008

I believe Gallatin High School is a great school. Mr.Lassiter is a good principal. The extracurricular programs are amazing though. I'm very involved in the musical department there. And, I'm a cheerleader. The spirit of this school is awesome. So many have the Green Wave Pride everyone is so jazzed up about. The town is also very involved with the school. Especially at the parades and games. I love this school. Roll Wave Roll!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 1, 2004

Gallatin senior high school is a really great school that i have ever been to. Mr. Benny bills is a great principal. He cares for every student once they come on the first day of school of freshman year all the way after you graduate. In the three years i have been here was the best time of my life. Every teacher made you feel safe and you can confide in the teachers. Ever since what happened with tssaa and mcgavock, with them cheating us out of going to the state championship. I'm very glad that I go to gallatin high school. Class of 2006 roll wave roll.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 6, 2004

This school, Gallatin High, is very diverse and offers every interest to keep your child occupied. Benny Bills, The principal, is very kind and trys to make every student feel welcome.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

411 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
45%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 42% in 2013.

300 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
32%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 62% in 2013.

365 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
54%
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

390 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
57%
English II

The state average for English II was 59% in 2013.

364 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
55%
English III

The state average for English III was 40% in 2013.

311 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
32%
U.S. History

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students57%
African American43%
Asiann/a
Hispanic41%
White63%
Economically disadvantaged49%
Students with disabilities36%
English language learners25%

Algebra II

All Students49%
African American34%
Asiann/a
Hispanic36%
White55%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Students with disabilities24%
English language learnersn/a

Biology I

All Students55%
African American28%
Asiann/a
Hispanic60%
White64%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Students with disabilities22%
English language learnersn/a

English I

All Students65%
African American56%
Asiann/a
Hispanic46%
White71%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilities36%
English language learnersn/a

English II

All Students57%
African American34%
Asiann/a
Hispanic55%
White64%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disabilities29%
English language learnersn/a

English III

All Students45%
African American20%
Asiann/a
Hispanic45%
White55%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Students with disabilities8%
English language learnersn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
African American90%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities87%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 71% 67%
Black 21% 23%
Hispanic 7% 7%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 53%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
Fax number
  • (615) 451-5426

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

700 Dan P. Herron Dr
Gallatin, TN 37066
Phone: (615) 452-2621

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Aaron Academy
Hendersonville, TN


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT