Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Gallatin, TN
Students enrolled: 517

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Union Elementary School 5

Posted December 18, 2014
- a parent
Feels like my kids are attending a private school!! The teachers genuinely want to be there and the additional staff are fantastic. Mr. Sullivan is a fantastic principle. It's a great STEM school while learning what they need to educationally and socially.

Union Elementary School 3

Posted April 29, 2013
- a parent
The school is OK. We expected higher, based on what we had been told and what the school claimed. The after care needs to be replaced. This was the school where the privately run daycare director embezzled almost $20,000. The school and the district did not catch it for months. The quality of care is average to below average and needs to be improved ASAP. Why not replace with the higher quality YMCA day care process that is in the majority of the schools in Sumner? The price is the same, the staff is a higher level, the parents would get a discount on the YMCA fees and the parents would have a backup for when the Union after care is close.


Union Elementary School 4

Posted October 30, 2011
- a parent
This school is one of the better ones in Sumner Co. However, if you have a child who is either above average or below average they might be better served elsewhere. Its a good school for average performers.

Union Elementary School 5

Posted October 21, 2011
- a parent
our child is now at Union. There is a huge difference in the focus of the staff and the principle (and parents) from the other school that my child attended in Gallatin/Hendersonville. Danny Sullivan is very accessible, open and knows the children by name. Prior principle at other school hide in her office and never saw her out and about. He is the type of principle that I had before growing up at a public and then at a private school. He is out in the school, helping kids out at drop off, talking to kids and parents alike. He is involved and interested. He follows up. That is a huge difference and what the other principles in Sumner County should strive for. Teachers are supportive, communicate and follow up. Parents are involved. But, it is also due to the school setting the foundation for it 1st.

Union Elementary School 5

Posted October 09, 2010
- a teacher
Union Elementary is the first and only STEM elementary school in Tennessee.


Union Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 13, 2010
- a parent
Union STEM School is a wonderful school with loving teachers and a great principal. Mr Sullivan has brought new and innovative idea into the school. We love the private school feel in a public school environment. In my opinion, Union is the best school my children have ever attended.

Union Elementary School 1

Posted January 20, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Union Elementary School 5

Posted August 07, 2008
- a parent
Both of my children attend this school as well as the after care program. I was a stay at home mother for many years and my education was not what it should have been so to have a place that is safe and educational for life and academics - is such a relief. I am very fortunate to have my child here and truly appreciate the open door policy and emcouragement for parental involvement.


Union Elementary School 4

Posted August 13, 2007
- a parent
I can not say enough great things about the principal and most of the teachers at this school. For the most part it is a great school and parent involvement is excellent. Mr. Nolan is a wonderful principal and very respected by students and parents. My only complaint is about the access to special education services. If your child is on grade level or above they will excel at Union. However if you have a child with special needs this school would not be the best choice for your child. The special ed teacher they do have is wonderful (absolutely wonderful and dedicated to each child) the problem lies in that they do not have a full time special education teacher and services are limited. Otherwise Union is #1 in my choice of schools at this time.

Union Elementary School 5

Posted May 21, 2007
- a parent
Union elementary school is a public school- but it is so much more- it provides 'private school' quality education. Our family is so impressed with - everything! The principal, the teachers, the entire staff, the parent involvement, all the activities - are all great! We are blessed to have our two grandchildren enrolled at Union.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Union Elementary School
516 Carson St, Gallatin, TN  37066
(615) 452-0737
Last modified Union Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Union Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top