Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 21 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Station Camp Elementary School 5

Posted November 30, 2015
- a parent
Station Camp Elementary is simply an OUTSTANDING school. The principal (Mr. Cripps) is amazing and his leadership is reflected all the way down through every aspect of the school. The teachers are highly dedicated, skilled, and caring. The parent an PTO involvement is also exceptional. The administrators are friendly and helpful and even the food services staff are kind and caring. They may be strict about only allowing students who actually reside within the zone for this school to enroll, but this is probably because the school would be overcrowded otherwise due to all the people who would love to have their children attend this fantastic school.

Station Camp Elementary School 1

Posted November 12, 2015
- a parent
The school and teachers are great. However, the horrible administration and leadership of the school eclipse everything. Their unflexibility in the day to day running of basic prodedures and parent involvement is horrendous. This is an elementary school not a prison camp. I have had 3 children in this school and this is a serious problem. If in doubt - ask a parent of a child and you will hear the same thing. Awful administration. It ruins the school.


Station Camp Elementary School 5

Posted August 07, 2015
- a parent
Our two children have attended for the last four year. All of our experiences have been very positive with every teacher and faculty member.

Station Camp Elementary School 5

Posted April 07, 2015
- a parent
My son went there when the school opened, he was in 2nd grade. We loved every minute of it!! Great staff and great school!

Station Camp Elementary School 5

Posted February 24, 2015
- a parent
Passionate, accessible teachers instill love of learning with outstanding education and hands on exploring opportunity. Mr. Cripps is an exceptional principal, the very best attitude and calm demeanor with children. The school is clean and well supplied. PTO is incredible and parent involvement fantastic.


Station Camp Elementary School 5

Posted January 11, 2015
- a parent
Over 1,000 students are enrolled at SCE and this can be an intimidating number for many families. Despite its large number, there truly is a feeling of support and care for the students. Each grade has its own hallway and there is a strong bond between the teachers and the students. School-wide, the upper grade students have the chance to partner with the lower grade students, i.e. in a peer buddy system (reading buddies). SCE partners with the adjacent Station Camp High School and "adopts" football players and cheers them on during the yearly parade that occurs at the school. The administration is professional, approachable, and genuinely cares for the staff and students. The PTO is active and supportive. The related arts' programs augment an already comprehensive course of academics: PE, art, music, computer/keyboarding, and library are offered currently. There is a strong sense of school spirit, with Bison Spirit Nights held at restaurants in the local community. Select choir, SCE Striders (running club), A-Team (volunteer opportunities), Art Club, and 4-H are just a few extracurriculars offered here as well. I highly recommend this school.

Station Camp Elementary School 5

Posted September 11, 2013
- a parent
I have twins at SCE, we have moved a lot so they have attended many great schools BUT this school is by far the BEST school they have ever attended! Everyone is so caring and helpful! The special education department is awesome! The teachers have all been great and communicate regularly. The principal, assistant principal, everyone at the office is wonderful and accommodating. I cannot say enough about the special education department and the dedication of the teachers. They have tutored, mentored, and helped my kids become even better in all aspects of their lives. We will miss SCE more than words can say if we need to relocate again. If you can attend this school, do this for your kids! Thank you SCE

Station Camp Elementary School 5

Posted October 01, 2012
- a parent
Great school and great teachers with wonderful parent involvement. I have children in this school and woul very much recommend this school to anyone who is looking to relocate.


Station Camp Elementary School 2

Posted August 26, 2011
- a parent
Our son had previously attended SCE for two years when we had to make an abrupt move after the start of the school year.Despite his physician's, therapist's and former teacher's strong suggestion that he be able to remain at the school, the principal absolutely refused to make an exception.After allowing only 24 hours to register our son at another school, it took almost a full day to reach her to discuss the situation.The subsequent phone conversation was even more disappointing - it started with her accusing my husband of being a liar (stating that she doubted we ever even lived at the address that our son was registered to) and it only went downhill from there.When questioned by my husband regarding whether she had the students' best interests in mind or if she were merely looking at numbers, she stated that she had 925 students to look after and that 25% of them had additional needs (like our son).Considering her answer, I'm sure you can understand her position on the matter.Our situation is temporary and we will be moving back into the SCE district before the end of the school year.Due to the administration, we will now request that our son be allowed to attend elsewhere.

Station Camp Elementary School 5

Posted August 03, 2011
- a parent
. I would have to disagree with the 7/26 review. We just moved from New Hampshire and I have a 5 year old son starting kindergarten. We didn't have all of the necessary paperwork on the day of registration and the staff was more than accommodating and just told us to make sure that we had everything before the school season started. Getting the paperwork up till this point was a complete nightmare (the DMV especially) and it was such a relief to have the staff on our side, especially the principal. When registering my child, all members of the staff there, acknowledged all children and my son who is very nervous to start kindergarten, made him feel welcomed and excited by the time we left. I have heard nothing but great reviews about this school and I am very excited about our move to Gallatin and my son going there.

Nearby schools

Station Camp Elementary School
1020 bison Trail, Gallatin, TN  37066
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. (615) 230-0387
Last modified Station Camp Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top