Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Dogwood Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 597 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

35 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 13, 2007

Dogwood is good school with a solid toolset of educators, administrators and facilities. I found my daughter to be challenged with standard curriculum and enrichment activities while simultaneously having fun with her peers. If there was one problem with this school it is the over-involvement of a small sub-set of parents. Frankly, there are some parents who question (without merit) the decisions of the educators and administrators. I believe this under-mining of school authority makes up a majority of the otherwise small set of problems the school deals with daily. Overall, Dogwood is an excellent school. You will not go wrong placing your children there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2006

Dogwood seems to be living mainly on reputation the last few years. The two years my daughter attended I was unimpressed with the academics; I saw her struggling in math and reading, yet she always brought home A's and B's---it made no sense to me. When I had concerns, I had to be the one to bring it to the teacher. The office staff is very cold and unfriendly; I never felt welcome to just visit---would always get the 'third degree' if I didn't have an appt. The learning enviornment has little to no flexibility in teaching or meeting some student's needs. My children are now in private school enjoying the smaller, more welcoming environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2006

We moved to Germantown having a full experience of elementary schools from around the country, including public, private, and parochial. Relatively speaking, it's OK. The kids have made friends easily, which is a real plus. The academics and resources are questionable, certainly not at the level we're used to, but not hideous. The office staff and some teachers are unfriendly. The parents don't have an organized way to greet and incorporate new families- it's a shame, because it seems that over time we have met nice families. The resources are pathetic, no field trips, no computer class, limited days of PE. We plan to leave our kids there, for the 'real world' experience, and know that they thankfully have high IQ's so it doesn't really matter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2006

We have had a wonderful time at Dogwood with the exception of 5th grade where there is less than a week of homework the entire year! How can 5th be such a weak year for such a wonderful school? 5th grade needs to be stronger.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2006

The bottom line is that the test scores are great and the area is lovely but many of the teachers are just collecting a paycheck until retirement. Hopefully the school will hire some enthusiastic teachers to liven things up because the teacher's attitude does reflect on the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2006

With two children currently attending Dogwood, I would put any parent new to the school at ease. Your experience will be great! The attention to academics is unparalleled. With a new focused and caring principal, this school will continue to excel. Parental involvement is key to this school s success and I encourage all parents to find a spot. As a working mom, my hours are limited, but all the teachers and PTA have been flexible, letting me volunteer at convenient times or giving me projects on the side.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2006

Most of the faculty are within 10 years of retirement. They rely heavily on audio discs and workbooks to accomplish teaching. I believe the TCAP scores are a reflection of the population served and not the teachers. It is conveniently located to many subdivisions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2006

This school and district has disappointed us from the beginning. The administration and faculty do not seem to understand my children's needs, nor how to meet them in a caring, professional way. Although parent involvement is measured by PTA enrollment, it is a forced thing, to get a directory, and the same parents are called upon to volunteer to provide the extras in MusicSmart nd Artsmart. Since they are not meeting my children's needs, we need to put our financial resources elsewhere to meet those needs, yet the school continues to ansk for money, while the entire district mismanages educational funding. Memphis city schools have better services for special needs children; the county schools, as Dogwood is, need to do better. They can, if their educational leaders open their eyes and take contuing educational classes and exhibit leadership skills in the classroom and respect for parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2006

Our oldest children attended Dogwood before we moved away. We always loved the caring attitude of the teachers and the high level of parental involvement. While very high, the test scores do not reveal the amount of information the students actually learn. Science lab, reading lab,ArtSmart,and PE offer experiences beyond the normal curriculum. Living in a different state, my children are about 2 years ahead of their peers particularly in math and reading. It is amazing what these teachers are doing with limited resources. Even though our oldest is now in private school, I would choose Dogwood again over any private elementary school in the Memphis area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2005

As the single mother of a graduate of Dogwood Elementary I cannot say enough about this school. The support from the staff and administration was outstanding. We recently moved to Ohio to what we thought was an outstanding school district based on 'test scores'. Count your blessings if you are currently in the Germantown school district or planning on moving there. They may not be perfect, but they're pretty close to it. As parents we may not appreciate fully the support system our schools need to provide for our children. This school did and will always receive an A+ in my book.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2005

This school has been a huge disappointment. When we moved to Germantown, we were not allowed to tour the school. On our childrens first day, we were rushed and the administration department seemed un-prepared and uncaring. The principal, still has not met with us. The teachers seem to care for the students. The staff in Ms. Pittman's office could take a class in how to deal with the new parents. Good luck, if you are new.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2003

This school has been such a blessing to us. We have a child who has special needs. We have received nothing but the best in our childs education. We love the teachers. The parent participation is the best. We have older children who did not attend Dogwood and to compare their elementary experience to this, well lets say that there is no comparision. Dogwood is simply the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

We bought the house in this district as we had heard Dogwood is a great school. Once the kids actually started we realized how excellent it is. Academically , discilpine wise, parent involvement, just everything is upscale here. Go Dogwood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

This school deserves an A+! I have had 4 of my 5 children attend Dogwood and all have benefited from the caring and gifted staff at Dogwood. It definitely prepared them for their experiences in middle and high school! I highly recommend Dogwood Elementary for anyone who is looking for a great elementary school for thier child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2003

Dogwood is an awesome school. I just dropped off my youngest (of three) kids at his first day of kindergarten. The teachers are all caring, kind people who give 110%, there is very high parent involvement from helping in the class to working on the school grounds.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 49% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
92%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 84% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
73%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 48% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
77%
Science

The state average for Science was 56% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
74%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 57% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
54%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
88%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students91%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White90%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students86%
African Americann/a
Asian93%
Hispanicn/a
White85%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students88%
African Americann/a
Asian88%
Hispanicn/a
White93%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students90%
African Americann/a
Asian88%
Hispanicn/a
White90%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students69%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White70%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities8%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students88%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White89%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities33%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students91%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White92%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities58%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities92%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 82% 67%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 10% 2%
Black 5% 23%
Two or more races 2% 1%
Hispanic 1% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 5%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Music teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Programs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8945 Dogwood Rd
Germantown, TN 38139
Phone: (901) 757-2310

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

The Bodine School
Germantown, TN







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT