Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Dogwood Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 597 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

35 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Tuesday, November 18, 2014

This is my second year at the school and the school with my children and this school has been in a slow decline and it is only picking up speed. A strong parent support structure makes up for what the administration is lacking, but at the end of the day the children's learning is being impacted. The educational product being developed at Dogwood is not keeping pace with the learning needs of the students. The Administration will smile and nod at problems and then move on. The test scores are declining across the board and this is a reflection on the teachers and the administration. In a panic they are now only teaching to the standards on TCAP test and nothing else is being integrated to develop analytical thinking. My 4th grader has no home work and so much free time during school that she regularly reads a 200-250 page book at school during the school day. If you want a challenging environment for your child this is not the place. This administration is not preparing its students for the next level. The parent involvement is phenomenal and there are great families at the school, but the education is lacking and this is due to a lack of direction and unmotivated teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted Monday, November 17, 2014

This school is in a transition phase since Germantown separated from Shelby County. With some redistricting new children were brought into the school and classes are crowded. The new children have been ignored by the teachers and administration and they only want to focus resources on the legacy students and not any new students. This school has not progressed over the years and is stuck with unmotivated teachers and an even more disengaged administration. This school did not prepare my children for Houston Middle School. The faculty have perfected the art of teaching to the middle of the pack. With the new independence this school had a great opportunity to build it there way and a better way -- they have started all of this transition without a plan. Staff and Administration are pretending this school is not failing and see the world through rose colored glasses - a true disservice to the children of Germantown and to Germantown itself. Thank God I only have 1 child left to get through this disappointing school. Test scores are going down - no way to hide from that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted Monday, November 17, 2014

Disappointing leadership and academics at this school. This is a school that has coasted on a past reputation and is falling behind. Research carefully the TCAP scores for this school - 2013 scores declined significantly for most grades. With 2 children here it is just one disappointment after another with this school. Administration is mediocre at best and they have no plan to keep up with the times. As an active parent in this school and school district alum, it is disheartening to see this school ignore the problems it has created. This is not a challenging and proactive educational environment like it used to be. Something needs to change. This school is all smoke and mirrors and only tells parents what they want to hear and give out as many A's as possible to keep parents happy, but the children are the only ones that lose because they are not academically prepared for middle school. You must be a proactive parent and develop supplemental learning at home for this school because it is deficient in so many areas. Unmotivated teachers with an outdated curriculum. Unless something changes soon this school is becoming nothing but hype and will be a second rate school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2014

i never felt very welcomed at Dogwood. cafeteria is very loud. I was there for 3 years, I wish they have a "new families" committee. We went to Farmington before and the principal, teacher, office staff were way friendlier there, they always greeted me by my name...I dont think Dogwood personnel cared enough to even get to know the new families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2012

We moved into the area for this school, and we haven't been disappointed! My child's teacher is so caring and wonderful. The school is very organized and has tons of parent involvement!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2011

The previous poster must have had a bad day. The school actually has a good mix of young and "seasoned" teachers, most of them highly motivated. Of course there is the occasional bad apple and yes it sucks to have a kid in one of these classrooms. But mostly, the school has very friendly, supportive, motivated, knowledgeable and caring teachers. It is by no means perfect, but some of the things that annoy me are problems of the system, not the school. Parental involvement is very high, even though there seems to be an elite club of parents making the decisions that makes it hard for newcomers to get into the circle. But they have the schools best interest at heart, and if they want to shoulder it all by themselves, more power to them. If you are really dedicated to get involved they will let you. Overall most people here seem to be proud of their school and it shows in students readiness to learn and parents offering their help wherever it is asked for. I agree, the official 100% PTA participation is basically forced, but the real participation is probably close to 90%. And that is great. So far, overall, we love the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2011

This school's teachers have taught over 25 years, have been tenured after two years, and simply are hanging on just to retire. They are not open to new ideas, teaching methods, or continuing education. The leadership at the school is non-existent, the bullying at the school is not addressed, and the only reason there is 100% parent participation is because you have to join to get a class booklet! There is no nurse at the school, just a volunteer parent, and parents are required to pay for everything, as well as volunteer for everything, and therefore high grades are given to SCS district and the superintendent applauds the fact that they spend the least amount of $ on each student for the district in the state! It is ridiculous.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2009

Dogwood is an awesome school! We moved here two years ago and the reason we bought into this neighborhood was because of the reputation of Dogwood School. It has not disappointed us. The teachers are caring and dedicated, and the parent involvement is phenomenal!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

I love Dogwood School, because of all of the dedicated teachers and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

The Kids enjoy the school and learn. They have enough extra events to keep them motivated
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2009

Dogwood is a great school. It starts with two great and caring administrators and includes, teachers, parents, students and the community in everything that makes it top notch. The principals and teachers know all the students and call them by name. I could not be happier! My child rides a bike to school along with several hundred others. The healthy child initiative is strong at Dogwood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2009

Dogwood is a great school. There are hundreds of kids walking, riding bikes to school and they are respectful and orderly. The education is top notch and there are good extracurricular activities. My child loves it and we are thrilled for our child to be able to attend a caring great school in walking distance fromour school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2008

This school is great it gets kids ready for middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2008

Way to go Mrs. Simpson for implementing the carpool line! The school administration has known my child's name from the beginning and that is impressive to me! We've had a tough year due to a special needs child but we are working through it. Unfortunately, this is something that all public schools must work through. I'm writing in response to a couple of other reviews left in 2007. The reason Dogwood doesn't go on many fieldtrips is because this is such an affluent area. Most of the children in this school get to go on many educational and cultural trips. It is an indulgent school that can't justify the risk of a fieldtrip. Instead, the parents are able to pay a few dollars and bring the events inside the school - so way to go! I'm not sure I want my kids on a bus anyway.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2007

I have been a Dogwood parent for many years now and have seen some changes both positive and negative. But throughout these changes one things is for certain, the children are happy and are receiving the best education that a public school can provide (the test scores prove that). With the added support of a strong PTA group, the school has been able to do things that some other schools can not. Dogwood has a large range of activites for all grade levels and adminstrators along with the help of parents continue to come up with ideas to continue to keep the children engaged. You could not ask for a better school for your child to get their early education in. Our teachers and administrators truly put our childrens needs first.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2007

We have been very pleased with the education our children have received at Dogwood. The teachers clearly don't do this for the paycheck, but rather for the chance to make a difference in a child's life, and they do. In every area of staffing at this school, from the Administration, Teachers, Specialists, and support staff there is the highest level of commitment to providing our children a quality education. In addition to a strong curriculum there are marvelous programs provided to enhance the students' experience, including Fine Arts, Science Action, and Reading Enrichment. There are a number of activities where children can get involved such as Safety Patrol, Student Advisory Board, Trash Can Band, Chess Club, and Drama Club. There are a multitude of ways parents can engage, both in the classroom and through activities such as Book Fair, Winterfest and Field Day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2007

Dogwood is a great school. It has undergone many new changes, from administration, to new offices. Parents are welcome to talk to the principal and she listens to our needs. For example, in the 30 years Dogwood has been open, there has never been a carpool line. The parents expressed their concerns and now there will be one. My only concern is that we though 4pm is late for dismissal, I would hate to be in a carpool line at 4:30pm! It is a great neighborhood school where everyone knows everyone and they really pay attention to each child's and parents needs. The high test scores are a result of the teachers, students, parents and community. Way to go Dogwood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2007

Dogwood School is one of the best elementary schools in our community. We moved to this area because of the reputation of the school and we have not been disappointed. As the parent of two older children who attended Dogwood and one still at the school, I continue to be impressed with the academics. The school provides enrichment for the gifted students and resource opportunities for those who need a little extra help. With parental support, the school also offers a Science Action lab, reading enrichment and Fine Arts program to enhance the classroom academics. In addition, the school offers several before-school activities such as the Drama Club, the Chorus and the Dogwood Trash Can Band. The teachers and the administration work diligently to continue to provide the education we have come to expect despite budget cuts that put a strain on the school system as a whole. They should be applauded for their efforts and for their devotion to our children s education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2007

I think the principal does well with what she has, there are just too many restraints on what she can do. This whole school system is crazy especialy the hours. No one is happy and private has become the way to go which is a real shame.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2007

The safety issues of not having an afternoon carpool line is terrible. The hours are awful, it's difficult to fit in any after school activities. There is no team sports from the school. There are no field trips, which is very bad. There used to be a field trip to the Orpheum but sadly no longer. PE is only twice a week for 30 minutes, the playground is not very good. The PTA is held in the morning when working parents can't go and they same people go and decide everything for everyone. I think the teachers are the only asset this school has because they are awesome, but this school could be great with better leadership, more parent involvement (instead of the clique-ish PTA), and a welcoming committee. The school could be cleaner, too. The hours and the lack of afternoon carpool cap the stack.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 49% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
92%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 84% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
73%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 48% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
77%
Science

The state average for Science was 56% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
74%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 57% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
54%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
88%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students91%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White90%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students86%
African Americann/a
Asian93%
Hispanicn/a
White85%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students88%
African Americann/a
Asian88%
Hispanicn/a
White93%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students90%
African Americann/a
Asian88%
Hispanicn/a
White90%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students69%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White70%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities8%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students88%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White89%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities33%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students91%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White92%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities58%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities92%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 82% 67%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 10% 2%
Black 5% 23%
Two or more races 2% 1%
Hispanic 1% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 5%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Music teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Programs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8945 Dogwood Rd
Germantown, TN 38139
Phone: (901) 757-2310

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

The Bodine School
Germantown, TN







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT