Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 42 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


44 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Dogwood Elementary School 2

Posted November 18, 2014
- a parent
This is my second year at the school and the school with my children and this school has been in a slow decline and it is only picking up speed. A strong parent support structure makes up for what the administration is lacking, but at the end of the day the children's learning is being impacted. The educational product being developed at Dogwood is not keeping pace with the learning needs of the students. The Administration will smile and nod at problems and then move on. The test scores are declining across the board and this is a reflection on the teachers and the administration. In a panic they are now only teaching to the standards on TCAP test and nothing else is being integrated to develop analytical thinking. My 4th grader has no home work and so much free time during school that she regularly reads a 200-250 page book at school during the school day. If you want a challenging environment for your child this is not the place. This administration is not preparing its students for the next level. The parent involvement is phenomenal and there are great families at the school, but the education is lacking and this is due to a lack of direction and unmotivated teachers.

Dogwood Elementary School 1

Posted November 17, 2014
- a parent
This school is in a transition phase since Germantown separated from Shelby County. With some redistricting new children were brought into the school and classes are crowded. The new children have been ignored by the teachers and administration and they only want to focus resources on the legacy students and not any new students. This school has not progressed over the years and is stuck with unmotivated teachers and an even more disengaged administration. This school did not prepare my children for Houston Middle School. The faculty have perfected the art of teaching to the middle of the pack. With the new independence this school had a great opportunity to build it there way and a better way -- they have started all of this transition without a plan. Staff and Administration are pretending this school is not failing and see the world through rose colored glasses - a true disservice to the children of Germantown and to Germantown itself. Thank God I only have 1 child left to get through this disappointing school. Test scores are going down - no way to hide from that.


Dogwood Elementary School 2

Posted November 17, 2014
- a parent
Disappointing leadership and academics at this school. This is a school that has coasted on a past reputation and is falling behind. Research carefully the TCAP scores for this school - 2013 scores declined significantly for most grades. With 2 children here it is just one disappointment after another with this school. Administration is mediocre at best and they have no plan to keep up with the times. As an active parent in this school and school district alum, it is disheartening to see this school ignore the problems it has created. This is not a challenging and proactive educational environment like it used to be. Something needs to change. This school is all smoke and mirrors and only tells parents what they want to hear and give out as many A's as possible to keep parents happy, but the children are the only ones that lose because they are not academically prepared for middle school. You must be a proactive parent and develop supplemental learning at home for this school because it is deficient in so many areas. Unmotivated teachers with an outdated curriculum. Unless something changes soon this school is becoming nothing but hype and will be a second rate school.

Dogwood Elementary School 3

Posted March 24, 2014
- a parent
i never felt very welcomed at Dogwood. cafeteria is very loud. I was there for 3 years, I wish they have a "new families" committee. We went to Farmington before and the principal, teacher, office staff were way friendlier there, they always greeted me by my name...I dont think Dogwood personnel cared enough to even get to know the new families.

Dogwood Elementary School 5

Posted March 16, 2012
- a parent
We moved into the area for this school, and we haven't been disappointed! My child's teacher is so caring and wonderful. The school is very organized and has tons of parent involvement!


Dogwood Elementary School 4

Posted October 20, 2011
- a parent
The previous poster must have had a bad day. The school actually has a good mix of young and "seasoned" teachers, most of them highly motivated. Of course there is the occasional bad apple and yes it sucks to have a kid in one of these classrooms. But mostly, the school has very friendly, supportive, motivated, knowledgeable and caring teachers. It is by no means perfect, but some of the things that annoy me are problems of the system, not the school. Parental involvement is very high, even though there seems to be an elite club of parents making the decisions that makes it hard for newcomers to get into the circle. But they have the schools best interest at heart, and if they want to shoulder it all by themselves, more power to them. If you are really dedicated to get involved they will let you. Overall most people here seem to be proud of their school and it shows in students readiness to learn and parents offering their help wherever it is asked for. I agree, the official 100% PTA participation is basically forced, but the real participation is probably close to 90%. And that is great. So far, overall, we love the school.

Dogwood Elementary School 1

Posted June 05, 2011
- a parent
This school's teachers have taught over 25 years, have been tenured after two years, and simply are hanging on just to retire. They are not open to new ideas, teaching methods, or continuing education. The leadership at the school is non-existent, the bullying at the school is not addressed, and the only reason there is 100% parent participation is because you have to join to get a class booklet! There is no nurse at the school, just a volunteer parent, and parents are required to pay for everything, as well as volunteer for everything, and therefore high grades are given to SCS district and the superintendent applauds the fact that they spend the least amount of $ on each student for the district in the state! It is ridiculous.

Dogwood Elementary School 1

Posted March 12, 2010
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Dogwood Elementary School 5

Posted September 27, 2009
- a parent
Dogwood is an awesome school! We moved here two years ago and the reason we bought into this neighborhood was because of the reputation of Dogwood School. It has not disappointed us. The teachers are caring and dedicated, and the parent involvement is phenomenal!

Dogwood Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
I love Dogwood School, because of all of the dedicated teachers and parents.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Dogwood Elementary School
8945 Dogwood Rd, Germantown, TN  38139
(901) 757-2310
Last modified Dogwood Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Dogwood Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 44 reviews. Top