Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Germantown, TN
Students enrolled: 2,051
 

4 stars
Based on 63 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


67 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Germantown High School 1

Posted September 08, 2014
- a community member
They don't acknowledge their new students and they don't ask them if they come from a different state that did different things. They just judge you based on if they think you went there last year.
1 person found this helpful

Germantown High School 3

Posted August 05, 2014
- a parent
My daughter graduated in 2013 with honors, top 10% of class of 500. Self-motivated and made her own way at GHS. No real college guidance from school but earned full scholarship at top tier school. Faculty seems to operate on survival mode. Many privileges associated with the high school experience are lost because students don't know how to act.


Germantown High School 5

Posted August 04, 2014
- a parent
This school is what you make of it. My daughter worked hard and received a great education and 24 hours college credit. The teachers were very hard working, caring people, and the staff members were very helpful.

Germantown High School 1

Posted May 14, 2014
- a parent
Worst School In Memphis Staff Very Rude , hide a lot of info if it was known to the public they'll put them on the news like southwind.

Germantown High School 1

Posted May 08, 2014
- a parent
Germantown High School, located in Germantown, Tn is NOT A FAIRY TAIL School!! When It Comes To Academics , Germantown Is a Good School , but many teachers and stafff place Germantown at risk for being the best school. Today , my child was in the office sick and needed to call home. She asked the Lady in the office if she could have an excuse note back to class , and the lady told my daughter "No , Leave me alone. I am on my Lunch Break". I found that comment very disrespectful and Rude!!!! There hast been many cases similar to ehat happened to my daughter. I am very disappointed in Germantown High School !!


Germantown High School 5

Posted November 09, 2013
- a community member
Great awesome school to go to and i like theadvisory schedule. Again, a really good school the teachers are very understanding

Germantown High School 5

Posted May 01, 2012
- a parent
This school has something for every student. The IB program is great for the very academic. The fine arts, drama and production/TV station are all superb. Solid vocational classes available as well. Great sports teams and band too. The healthy diversity of the students keeps GHS from being too "cliquish". The overall atmosphere is vibrant, but relaxed and content. All schools have issues, but our kids feel safe and happy here. We are very pleased with our children's experience.

Germantown High School 5

Posted February 11, 2012
- a parent
The IB program is rigorous & challenging & the teachers are inspired, dedicated, & hard-working. My son is pleased that he made the switch from private to this public school. The fine arts program is exceptional. GHS has great school spirit, excellent teachers, strong leadership, and excellent academics.


Germantown High School 5

Posted June 21, 2010
- a parent
This is an excellent school. Not only has a great program (International Baccalaureate), but also has a great band. The band director Mr. Byrd is strict to his students. I feel that my child will have a good learning experience there. They care more about students learning than money. All band members including freshmen are audited to the band, and they charge very reasonable band fees. Germantown High School is great! It is getting better and better...

Germantown High School 5

Posted May 07, 2010
- a parent
Germantown High is a great school! It is getting better since Southwind High School was built in 2007. The school office stuffs are very friendly and helpful. Principal Mr. McIntyre is very involved in student activities. It offers International Baccalaureate (IB) program that best prepares students for the college. I would get it 10/10!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Germantown High School
7653 Old Poplar Pk, Germantown, TN  38138
(901) 756-2350
Last modified Germantown High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Germantown High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 67 reviews. Top