Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Houston High School

Public | 9-12 | 1681 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 12, 2012

Houston has an excellent honors and AP classes. Teachers seem to care and theeducation is excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2011

Houston appears to be an extremely good school overall; it has been fabulous for my boys (currently a junior and a freshman) so far. It is large enough (1600+) that I can't speak to everything, but I know that parental expectations and support are both high, leadership is outstanding, and counselors and teachers willingly work with parents and students to achieve great outcomes. With regard to some earlier comments: the band does take a lot of after-school time during marching competition season (Sep-Oct), but not as much as a sport would; and while a student or parent might be unhappy with some perceived weakness in the Spanish courses that does not mean the school is weak in foreign languages - judging by a neighbor's result, there is a strong program in French, and the German teacher, a native speaker, is incredibly dynamic and effective (there is also Latin, but I don't know anything about it at Houston.) Sadly, the great Geometry teacher mentioned last year (and she was great) has retired, but my junior has been very well-served in every Math class through Calculus. There are some outstanding private schools in Memphis, but my sons are getting a better education at HHS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2011

Houston High Schools is a good school, better than any other school in Shelby County.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2010

This school has great English and Geometry Teacher, but really weak in foreign language (spanish) and AP Math/physics teachers. So watch out Kids who are going to be a Freshman or a Junior. Great Band program but lot of after school time is focused on this. Good luck current students and new students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Two daughters loved this school. I'm proud of Mr. Aitken, the former Principal, and his guidance and support. He's greatly admired for his excellent guidance of the entire student body.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2008

Outstanding teachers make Houston a great place for my children. After 3 years I only have great things to say about HHS. We will miss our principal but look forward to new new ideas
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2008

I am a very happy student with my experience at Houston. I know my parents are too. They have found me to be challenged by the classes and have many great friends. The teachers are incredible, and the principal is amazing! He knows almost every student by name! My sister who graduated almost 10 years ago is still remembered by him. And to the student who believes the administration to punish you for no reason is obviously in denial. I have been treated very fairly with the punishments I have received there and I admit to the fact that I have deserved those punishments. I will be very sad to leave.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 5, 2007

No matter what anyone says, Houston High School is by far one of the best high schools around. The people are great, the majority of the teachers are wonderful, and the experience is one I wouldn't hesitate to relive again. Of course, like any other high school, Houston has its fair share of problem students and teachers, but all around, Houston is a wonderful school. Someone below stated how sending their child to Houston was the biggest mistake, however, chances are it could have been the student himself not taking the opportunities Houston offers.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 21, 2007

I have found the principal to be very involved and instrumental in making the school a safe environment. The teachers over all are good and care. The honors classes do challenge the students. Some of the standard classes do also. It depends on the student. School is what you make of it. I am pleased overall. The extracurricular offerings are varied and offer something for most everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2007

My child went there and graduated in 2007. It was the absolute worst educational experience in history. I do not think that she could have gone to a worse high school. I suggest that parents find an alternative for their child's academic experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2007

Let me tell you. Yeah sure everyone raves on how great Houston High School is, but from a student's perspective it is everything but great. The biggest problem to date would have to be some of the administrators. Disciplining kids for no reason is a big problem. So for my rating of Houston High School, I give it a 1/5 stars.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 1, 2007

Houston High School is still a great school. As a parent and teacher (Houston High) anyone who attends knows that our standards were not lowered cue to overcrowding. With a new SCS opening in August 07 our overcrowding problems will be eliminated. Until you have a child in the school or work with the bright and talented students from the Houston neighborhoods, you really can't determine much about a school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 25, 2007

A quick glance of the school would give you all you need--beautiful campus, many extracurricular activities, etc. But then when one becomes more involved with the school, one realizes that the school is wonderful, only on the outside.The honors courses are excellent. But then the standar courses and the students are horrible. Many mock their teachers, talk about drugs, listen to music, etc. in class. Many parents can give reviews on this school, but have they actual experienced the school firsthand? Have they sat in the wooden desk in the middle of the class, where school really matters? No, most have not.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 23, 2006

The last update for this school was November, 2004? Oh how so much can change in two years, and not for the good. Not to blame the principal or any of the teachers at Houston. They are certainly doing their best. A large portion of the kids that have been added to this school are going to cause the same problems that brought Germantown High School down to where it is now. Germantown High School use to be a well-respected, well thought of school. Not any more. Houston High School was the High School to go to in Germantown; until recently. Now it is following the path of Germantown High. All because of the School Board's zoning lines. Wouldn't it be nice to have out two High School's back?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2004

Our son has really been challenged. The principal is great! The extracurricular enhances the overall program! We feel blessed our son attends such a great school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2004

Outstanding school leadership (principal) and curriculum. My child has attended Houston High School the last two years, and the classes are much more challenging than the private school Briarcrest. Highly recommended.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2003

I think this school is good. I have child attending the school. The school has a large student to teacher ratio. I think there should be more computers in the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2003

The overall 'southern mentality' curriclum and 'lack of willingness' to recognize and acknowlege other minority races keeps us from becoming a 'excellent school'.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

385 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
70%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 42% in 2013.

358 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
46%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 62% in 2013.

414 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
81%
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

494 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
83%
English II

The state average for English II was 59% in 2013.

439 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
87%
English III

The state average for English III was 40% in 2013.

313 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
67%
U.S. History

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students81%
African American65%
Asian85%
Hispanic73%
White89%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilities42%
English language learnersn/a

Algebra II

All Students76%
African American63%
Asian84%
Hispanic67%
White81%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilities25%
English language learnersn/a

Biology I

All Students83%
African American67%
Asian88%
Hispanic77%
White89%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilities42%
English language learnersn/a

English I

All Students87%
African American75%
Asian87%
Hispanic57%
White93%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilities26%
English language learnersn/a

English II

All Students88%
African American76%
Asiann/a
Hispanic80%
White92%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilities40%
English language learnersn/a

English III

All Students67%
African American41%
Asian69%
Hispanic75%
White78%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Students with disabilities14%
English language learnersn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asian95%
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 68% 67%
Black 20% 24%
Asian 8% 2%
Hispanic 3% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 11%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • PTSA School of Excellence (2007)

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:00 am
School end time
  • 2:00 pm
School Leader's name
  • John Aitken
Fax number
  • (901) 756-2377

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Ice hockey
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9755 Wolf River Bl
Germantown, TN 38139
Website: Click here
Phone: (901) 756-2370

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Collierville High School
Collierville, TN



Germantown High School
Germantown, TN


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT