Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Our Lady of Perpetual Help

Private | PK-8

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in Germantown

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $220,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $980.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 26, 2013

Hello im here to tell all of the parents that consider this place for a school for their children that this school is the worst place for a child. #1 the school is run by the parents with the big wallets and only care for their own child. #2 the teachers bribe the children to get their family to vote the school for the best in germantown and they will give them extra credit. #3 the teachers also express their opinions to the children like what movies are bad or what side of the recent election to chose... i could go on but you should get the point. #4 as you may see in the other comments the school only cares about money they would rather buy ipads for the staff then get supplies for a better music program or a better art program because both of those programs need lots of help. also the music teachers charge the students to learn instruments, after school of course but in the music program they don't have any type of instrumental teachings but they do have the bible songs that the school has taught them since they could sing. this school has shown me and my child that if OLPH is a catholic school i don't want my child to be any part of it
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2012

Our daughter has been at OLPH for four years now and I cannot overstate how much we/she have loved it. The teachers are loving, but firm. The academic programs are excellent. The religious education teaches faith and community service to our children. It is a caring, nurturing educational environment all schools should aspire to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2011

I cannot say enough great things about this school. From the Principal down to the parents everyone is involved and working to make this school great. When my husband and I went to the open house last year we were very impressed with the students - ask if they like the school and why and everyone wanted to tell us a story. The parents are involved in everything that goes on at the school and the teachers have "open door" policies, they give you their email address, home phone number etc. and let you know they are always available. With a teacher and a teachers assistant in every class the students get individualize instruction. I was a little taken aback at just how friendly the parents are and how quickly everyone knows your name but this really is a tight knit community. The before care and after care program is very helpful to working parents and the tuition is VERY reasonable. They have PC's in each classroom and they also have a computer lab with Apple Laptops. If you are looking for a small school with a lot to offer call and ask for a tour, you won't regret it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2011

We moved from a larger Catholic School with multiple classes per grade and 29 + students in a class with no assistants to OLPH. In the previous setting with such large class size, there were limited opportunities for children to participate unless they were the top athletes or strongest students. Due to the smaller, more manageable numbers at OLPH, my child gets individualized attn from teachers and staff that help individualize instruction to the needs of the child. My child has been given leadership opportunities that would have never been available at a larger school. There are an abundance of extracurricular activities from Forensics, student government, Beta club, Sports(swimming, golf, soccer, volleyball, basketball, softball/baseball, football) , Chess Club, school newspaper, yearbook staff, SCouts, handchime choir, All West Tennessee music preparation, music lessons and Tae Kwon Do opportunities on campus after school. They also offer before and after care at about 1/2 the price of the previous school - this is an assett to working parents. I would hands down recommend OLPH!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2011

OLPH is small- but has 240+ students overall. The largest class has 24. My child is part of the smallest class-9. And we are thrilled with the attention he is getting at this young age ! The children are all good friends and caring towards one another. There are countless opportunities for extracurriculars- sports, Scouts, Forensics, guitar, marshall arts, parish activities, etc. The principal and vice-principal are available at any time to help or to talk. They are so progressive and involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2011

We love OLPH! Our boys have a challenging, nourishing, well-balanced, competitive education at OLPH. Every year has been a great experience for us. In this day and age, SAFETY is more important than ever. This is a safe, secure campus in the heart of a great community. Fellowship among parents at our school is very strong. It is beneficial to know the people and the children who surround your children, and that's easy to do in a warm, welcoming atmosphwere. OLPH is a very clean school too. The teachers are wonderful, and being a small school, they have a chance to notice things about your child and give him or her a lot of one on one. OLPH has great spirit and many enriching extracurriculars. Graduates are very successful when they reach highschool - and that is the goal! I would suggest to any parent seeking a great, faith filled learning environment for a child, to come take a look at all we have to offer - from the computer lab, to our wonderful gym to even attending a mass with our students as they go weekly! OLPH is an excellent school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2011

My children have been at OLPH for 6 years now and have BLOSSOMED in this safe Christian environment full of academic, social, and religious opportunity. The small class size ensures more teacher to student attention which meets the academic needs of each student. The parish offers religious youth groups and sports in which kids from school and parish readily attend together. There are many opportunities for parents to be involved in the school and are very much encouraged to actively participate in the Home & School Association to promote the consistent development of higher level education standards....go to the website and explore all the wonderful possibilities of this school and view our credentials and record of academic excellence....call for a tour and see for yourself what our school offers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2011

OLPH is a VERY small school. There is one class per grade and the class size is also small. (first grade has 8 students and the average size overall is about 15.) With the small school size you will find the resources, social opportunities for the children and extracurricular activities to be limited. Overall we have been pleased with the teachers and the curriculum, but would prefer more progressive leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2010

We are so pleased with our experience at OLPH. The teachers and staff are committed to the academic and social development of the students. Our families are involved in the school and church; subsequently, we have a strong comfort level for the environment. We feel fortunate to be able to offer our children a strong academic foundation based in our Catholic faith.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2010

Excellent school for my 3 kids. We have been there for 11 years and love the family environment, small class sizes and wonderful teachers that are helping our kids excel!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2010

We LOVE OLPH school!! We have been there for 7 years now and have 3 children attending. Although there are really good public schools here in Germantown, we chose OLPH for it's small, caring environment. Everyone at OLPH knows & loves our children - unlike some schools with 800 kids where the principal has no clue who your child is. The teachers and faculty at OLPH have been fabulous. We can't say enough about how prepared they are to teach the material in a fun way for the kids, while incorporating the Catholic faith and leading the kids to our fantasic test scores - which by the way, are the BEST in the area! Our children honestly love going to school every day, which is a blessing for parents. Picking this school was such a great decision for our family. We would HIGHLY recommend OLPH!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2010

I so love OLPH that it is hard to put into words- The teachers and staff are the best I have ever seen, been around or ever even heard of. My family started there 9 years ago and I thought I would only be attending for our Pre-K years. Could not and would not leave- Outstanding education, environment and family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2010

My child is cared for, challenged and happy! The curriculum is well rounded and truly preparatory.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2009

Excellent environment and staff. Teachers are able to truly know your child and meet his/her needs. Students learn in a positive environment while also learning the faith.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2008

We just started the 2k program this year and love it! OLPH has caring teachers, and involved parent community and is NAEYC accredited (and has been for several years) which is quite an accomplishment with the new standards. I highly recommend this school! I look forward to my kids continuing here through the 8th grade!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NAEYC
  • NCEA
  • SACS accredited

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8151 Poplar
Germantown, TN 38138
Phone: (901) 753-1181

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


The Bodine School
Germantown, TN






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT