Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

5 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Our Lady of Perpetual Help 1

Posted July 26, 2013
- a parent
Hello im here to tell all of the parents that consider this place for a school for their children that this school is the worst place for a child. #1 the school is run by the parents with the big wallets and only care for their own child. #2 the teachers bribe the children to get their family to vote the school for the best in germantown and they will give them extra credit. #3 the teachers also express their opinions to the children like what movies are bad or what side of the recent election to chose... i could go on but you should get the point. #4 as you may see in the other comments the school only cares about money they would rather buy ipads for the staff then get supplies for a better music program or a better art program because both of those programs need lots of help. also the music teachers charge the students to learn instruments, after school of course but in the music program they don't have any type of instrumental teachings but they do have the bible songs that the school has taught them since they could sing. this school has shown me and my child that if OLPH is a catholic school i don't want my child to be any part of it

Our Lady of Perpetual Help 5

Posted September 27, 2012
- a parent
Our daughter has been at OLPH for four years now and I cannot overstate how much we/she have loved it. The teachers are loving, but firm. The academic programs are excellent. The religious education teaches faith and community service to our children. It is a caring, nurturing educational environment all schools should aspire to.


Our Lady of Perpetual Help 5

Posted February 15, 2011
- a parent
I cannot say enough great things about this school. From the Principal down to the parents everyone is involved and working to make this school great. When my husband and I went to the open house last year we were very impressed with the students - ask if they like the school and why and everyone wanted to tell us a story. The parents are involved in everything that goes on at the school and the teachers have "open door" policies, they give you their email address, home phone number etc. and let you know they are always available. With a teacher and a teachers assistant in every class the students get individualize instruction. I was a little taken aback at just how friendly the parents are and how quickly everyone knows your name but this really is a tight knit community. The before care and after care program is very helpful to working parents and the tuition is VERY reasonable. They have PC's in each classroom and they also have a computer lab with Apple Laptops. If you are looking for a small school with a lot to offer call and ask for a tour, you won't regret it!

Our Lady of Perpetual Help 5

Posted February 13, 2011
- a parent
We moved from a larger Catholic School with multiple classes per grade and 29 + students in a class with no assistants to OLPH. In the previous setting with such large class size, there were limited opportunities for children to participate unless they were the top athletes or strongest students. Due to the smaller, more manageable numbers at OLPH, my child gets individualized attn from teachers and staff that help individualize instruction to the needs of the child. My child has been given leadership opportunities that would have never been available at a larger school. There are an abundance of extracurricular activities from Forensics, student government, Beta club, Sports(swimming, golf, soccer, volleyball, basketball, softball/baseball, football) , Chess Club, school newspaper, yearbook staff, SCouts, handchime choir, All West Tennessee music preparation, music lessons and Tae Kwon Do opportunities on campus after school. They also offer before and after care at about 1/2 the price of the previous school - this is an assett to working parents. I would hands down recommend OLPH!

Our Lady of Perpetual Help 5

Posted February 13, 2011
- a parent
OLPH is small- but has 240+ students overall. The largest class has 24. My child is part of the smallest class-9. And we are thrilled with the attention he is getting at this young age ! The children are all good friends and caring towards one another. There are countless opportunities for extracurriculars- sports, Scouts, Forensics, guitar, marshall arts, parish activities, etc. The principal and vice-principal are available at any time to help or to talk. They are so progressive and involved.


Our Lady of Perpetual Help 5

Posted February 13, 2011
- a parent
We love OLPH! Our boys have a challenging, nourishing, well-balanced, competitive education at OLPH. Every year has been a great experience for us. In this day and age, SAFETY is more important than ever. This is a safe, secure campus in the heart of a great community. Fellowship among parents at our school is very strong. It is beneficial to know the people and the children who surround your children, and that's easy to do in a warm, welcoming atmosphwere. OLPH is a very clean school too. The teachers are wonderful, and being a small school, they have a chance to notice things about your child and give him or her a lot of one on one. OLPH has great spirit and many enriching extracurriculars. Graduates are very successful when they reach highschool - and that is the goal! I would suggest to any parent seeking a great, faith filled learning environment for a child, to come take a look at all we have to offer - from the computer lab, to our wonderful gym to even attending a mass with our students as they go weekly! OLPH is an excellent school!

Our Lady of Perpetual Help 5

Posted February 13, 2011
- a parent
My children have been at OLPH for 6 years now and have BLOSSOMED in this safe Christian environment full of academic, social, and religious opportunity. The small class size ensures more teacher to student attention which meets the academic needs of each student. The parish offers religious youth groups and sports in which kids from school and parish readily attend together. There are many opportunities for parents to be involved in the school and are very much encouraged to actively participate in the Home & School Association to promote the consistent development of higher level education standards....go to the website and explore all the wonderful possibilities of this school and view our credentials and record of academic excellence....call for a tour and see for yourself what our school offers!

Our Lady of Perpetual Help 3

Posted February 03, 2011
- a parent
OLPH is a VERY small school. There is one class per grade and the class size is also small. (first grade has 8 students and the average size overall is about 15.) With the small school size you will find the resources, social opportunities for the children and extracurricular activities to be limited. Overall we have been pleased with the teachers and the curriculum, but would prefer more progressive leadership.


Our Lady of Perpetual Help 5

Posted September 30, 2010
- a parent
We are so pleased with our experience at OLPH. The teachers and staff are committed to the academic and social development of the students. Our families are involved in the school and church; subsequently, we have a strong comfort level for the environment. We feel fortunate to be able to offer our children a strong academic foundation based in our Catholic faith.

Our Lady of Perpetual Help 5

Posted September 28, 2010
- a parent
Excellent school for my 3 kids. We have been there for 11 years and love the family environment, small class sizes and wonderful teachers that are helping our kids excel!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Our Lady of Perpetual Help
8151 Poplar, Germantown, TN  38138
(901) 753-1181
Last modified Our Lady of Perpetual Help is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Our Lady of Perpetual Help Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top