Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Gladeville Elementary School

Public | PK-6

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 5, 2014

Well after having one child in this school for four years and the second child for the past two, I have to say things are improving. First child had two rough years as they were the last year prior to retirement for two of her four teachers and that is so unfortunate for our child. Our second child has benefited from the new teachers that replaced the retired ones and the difference is night and day. We still have some issues with bullying and stealing now and then, but just don't let your kids take toys or electronics to school since they don't need them anyway, but the bullying still needs to be addressed. I am not sure it is any better or worse elsewhere as this is the only school our kids have been in. Also seems like the entire county closes school in the winter when many portions of this large county could be open, but instead they choose to close all the schools which probably saves them money on heating, gas, bus drivers, etc. but at the cost of the kids. Hard to learn much with one complete week out of nine for a quarter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2013

Gladeville is a small, but growing community outside Nashville, TN. The office staff know all the kids' names and they sing "Happy Birthday" to them on their birthday and really make a big fuss over them. The PTO is very organized and gets a lot of parent support. They raised money over the past couple years to build an new upper grade playground. However, of all the other elementary schools in the county, Gladeville has the least amount of technology, but they make the best of it. I would love to see Gladeville win so they could buy some much needed computers and other equipment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2013

I'm really surprised at some of the reviews about "crying" and "prison" because in the past three years I've had my children at Gladeville, I have seen or heard nothing of this nature. I'm new in the area compared to most (been here about 4 years) but I'm not treated like an outsider. My son is ADHD and he has not been the easiest to deal with, especially before we found the correct medication, and all three of his teachers were lovely, understanding and incredibly patient. The only thing I'm disappointed in is the gov't grades for the school based on test scores. I do think they could be better, and I've been glad to see that they got As and Bs this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2012

When you look at the test scores & stats for math at this school it seems that they need NEW MATH teachers. What a joke!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2012

Gladeville is a great, growing community and the elementary school is better than average. The teachers here that I have seen are very caring. I don't know about other Wilson County elementary schools, but I'm happy with Gladeville.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2012

I maad sure that my child was prepared to come to school by staying in touch with his teacher periodically. The teachers were quick to respond and were very helpful. They offered a variety of teaching techniques as well.. Once thing that I really admire now is that they have kept up with the other schools by making the school safer by installing the security lobby. This should make the parents feel more secure - I wish they had done that while my son was here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2012

My daughter has came home crying more times than I can count. She seems to always get bullied and speaking to the principal or vice principal falls on deaf ears. The school board seems to turn a blind eye when you voice your concerns. The teachers we have dealt with are unkind and uncaring. My daughter made a picture for her teacher and the teacher crumpled it up in front of her and threw it in the trash. My daughter is heartbroken and begs me to move every day. It has gotten so bad and I have no other options. I have tried to get involved with the school but feel unwelcome. They set double standards all the time like allowing the teachers to dress up for halloween but not the children. This school is a joke and only teaches children that it is ok to be a bully when you are an adult.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2012

If you value your child's emotional and educational well being, do not enroll your child at Gladeville Elem. My child has been bullied for 4 yrs now. The school counselor , teachers and principle are a joke. They are a small minded good ol' boy mentality. They discourage parent involvement . Prison like environment, boot camp mentality. My child's 2nd grade teacher would yell at the kids telling them to shut up. His 3rd grade teacher constantly threatens their class with a paddle which she lovingly refers to as her "best friend." They discontinued the annual Christmas play saying that it was just too much trouble and effort. 3 out of 4 teachers we have had so far blame the students for the teacher's lack of instruction. We have to buy most of his AR books because the school library does not stock them. The school board doesn't care about any of this . Disgusted beyond comprehension.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2012

nothing different ,I think other elemantry school better in wilson county. no star for teaching.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2010

I love Gladeville. This is my child's second year here, and I have been very impressed with the education that she has gotten so far. The teachers are wonderful and they really care about the children. It is a bright and happy place and I feel good leaving my child every day knowing that my baby is safe and well taken care of. She is getting a wonderful education and was more than ready for first grade after a successful Kindergarten year. The teachers and administrators are wonderful and I would recommend this school to anyone looking for a new school for their child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2010

I love Gladeville! It's a wonderful school that feels like a family! Teachers at Gladeville work so hard to help the children learn and be happy everyday! We are so blessed to get to be "Gladeville Gators!"
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2010

Not sure where the 10 came from! My children attended Rutland Elem for several years before we moved to the Gladeville area. The difference is night and day, my children were upset and cried often having to go to Gladeville, they called it a prison. It was so hard on our family I took a job as a lunch lady just to get our children back at Rutland! Rutland, where your greeted with a smile and open arms everyday! :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2009

I have to say- I am severely disappointed with this school. My child went through his kindergarten year, and it was an absolute ordeal for him. To say that we had some difficulty with the teaching staff is putting it mildly.Towards the end of the year, once the parents began speaking to one another, we all realized that all of our children had endured this situation for the whole year. One of the parents had gone so far as to complain to the Wilson County School Board-and they refused to do anything. I personally spoke to the principal with the same result. I'm leaving my son in for one more year, if no improvement, I will pull him out and move.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2005

Gladeville Elementary is a fabulous school! They have wonderful, caring teachers and staff. It is so comforting to feel that my child is safe and happy every morning when I send him to school. It is also wonderful that the teachers will go above and beyond to make sure that your child will succeed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2004

I do not feel the school is up to par. If I had the choice I would send my child to another school in a different district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

We are new to Tn. this year. Schools here are much diffrent from where we came from, however we are very pleased so far with the happiness our children recieve from atending gladeville. Gladeville seems to care about the children first and that matters dearly to my husband and I.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
54%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 49% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
47%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
76%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 84% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
17%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 48% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
53%
Science

The state average for Science was 56% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
46%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 57% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
20%

2010

 
 
25%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
52%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
63%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 62% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students83%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students60%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White62%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students92%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White92%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students62%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White64%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Students with disabilities39%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students59%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White61%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Students with disabilities31%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students71%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilities31%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students62%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White64%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilities27%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students60%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White64%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities36%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students79%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilities64%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students93%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White93%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities73%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

English I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 87% 67%
Black 5% 23%
Two or more races 4% 1%
Hispanic 3% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 24%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8840 Stewarts Ferry Pk
Gladeville, TN 37071
Phone: (615) 444-5694

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT