Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Greenbrier High School

Public | 9-12 | 833 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 19, 2008

I see this complaint about not caring about any one that doesn't play sports with a lot of schools. Have you ever considered that most of the kids that play sports, play more than one sport, and therefore it may seem that their name stands out more? Their schedules have to be shifted to have time for practice in 4th block and so the others feel they are being catered to. My sophomore daughter doesn't feel slighted in the least. Her teacher lets me know if there is a concern, and she praises her when she did well on a test. The math does have tutoring as does science I am told. I am pleased with the school and feel that a lot of what you get from a school is what the students and teachers put in to it. I think GHS is fine.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2008

Greenbrier High seems to only care about the students that play sports. But even only the main sports...football, basketball, and volleyball. They do have very high safety regulations. Some teachers are easy to relate to on a one on one bases. The math department offers tutoring to help your child. But the food there is not so great.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 13, 2007

I have found greenbrier schools as a whole to be a joke! The administration does not comunicate with each other and the students get caught in the middle! most teachers could care less about the students unless they are on the football/basketball/baseball Team! and forget it if you are not from here! you do not stand a chance! We have lived here for almost 6 years and still are not accepted. I tell everyone I know do not ever send your kids to Greenbrier if you want the to succeed in life!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2007

Like any school, Greenbrier has things they can improve on, however, overall our family is happy with the academics and overall 'feel' of the Greenbrier High community. Not too big, not too small with school pride and tradition. This works well for us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2005

This is a school that truly cares about its students. Teachers work hard to foster an environment of academic challenge. Concerns are addressed in a timely and fair manner and most teachers are very open and interested in parent comments and concerns. Parents and the community are very involved, for the most part. In my experience, the people who complain the most about the school are the ones who are the least involved.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 22, 2005

I have not had good experiences with Greenbrier High School. In my experience, I find that only the students that are in a favorable status (sports, family, etc..) have it easy there. I am considering withdrawing my child from this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2004

My son is an upcoming Senior at GHS, and I have one child that is an alumni of GHS. We have been very happy with the school, the teachers and the curriculum. The students and their parents are very involved in supporting their athletic program. The academic quality of the Senior Class of 2005 is very high and I feel sure it is the same with underclassmen. We love the 'small town' feel of the community, even though we are minutes from the 'big city'. I would highly recommend Greenbrier to anyone moving to this area. (Go Bobcats!)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2004

Overall, the school is great, but I feel there could be better preparation for students wanting to go on to major colleges or universities. We feel there should be more emphasis on academics rather than sports or other school extra-curricular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

Greenbrier is a very good school. My son has had nothing but excellent grades since attending. He is involved in athletic activities and the parents of most of the students really participate. I highly recommend this school to anyone hoping to move from the larger cities. The area people are excellent. Very friendly folks. We love it here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2003

The quality of extracurricular activities at this school is poor, as is the quality of university preparation.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

217 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
72%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 42% in 2013.

181 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
39%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 62% in 2013.

188 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
75%
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

220 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
67%
English II

The state average for English II was 59% in 2013.

204 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
67%
English III

The state average for English III was 40% in 2013.

174 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
46%
U.S. History

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students80%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilities25%
English language learnersn/a

Algebra II

All Students50%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White49%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Biology I

All Students65%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White66%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Students with disabilities50%
English language learnersn/a

English I

All Students75%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilities8%
English language learnersn/a

English II

All Students58%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White58%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Students with disabilities21%
English language learnersn/a

English III

All Students52%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White51%
Economically disadvantaged49%
Students with disabilities8%
English language learnersn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities93%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 96% 67%
Hispanic 2% 7%
Black 1% 23%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 33%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

126 Cuniff Dr
Greenbrier, TN 37073
Phone: (615) 643-4526

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Dayspring Academy
Greenbrier, TN



Springfield High School
Springfield, TN



Pioneer Christian Academy
Whites Creek, TN


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT