Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Gene W. Brown Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 6, 2014

I feel there have been major improvements made at Gene Brown. I agree that the cafeteria needs some improvement there and the staff shouldn't yell at the students but the students also need to learn to use indoor voices and not shout across the table at someone. Teachers need to sit with their students once in a while and some students need to be taught table manners and etiquette because not everyone is taught at home. I think the teachers who work with the students who have an IEP are the best! There are some great teachers that do deserve recognition for doing a great job and there are a few who seem to only be there for a paycheck and those are the few who need to be replaced. My child had one of the best teachers but had a difficult bunch of students one year and the next year his teacher was stern and demanded respect and didn't put up with unruly students. This year my child has a new teacher to the school and again it's another amazing year. Each year got better and better. And they all genuinely cared for my child. I wish he didn't have to graduate to middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2013

The cafe is way too small. Ive been there with my younger cousin. She also does not like it . She said the.chicken Had bugs in it. Now from.what i heard and what o seen its not a very. Good school.


Posted August 23, 2012

I have to agree with the post for Aug. 14th - sorry! This school is a mess. I had my daughter there briefly and did not hesitate to take her out. Apart from the fact that she felt very unsafe there, the teacher she had was rude (even to me) and the standard of teaching is way below other schools. I reported an incident that took place in the classroom, that I thought required principal and parent involvement and she basically acknowledged my concern and wished me all the best. The lunchroom - well, that's another story. If you want your children to be herded along like cows or sheep - well enough said! And please tell them not to speak during lunch since the lights are dimmed and they are told they were talking - weird since it is there lunchbreak. I agree, they need to start again with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

I loved this school! This was where my first born attended school for the first time. She loved it and was so excited to return each day. Mrs. Goad was her teacher. She is the best. She was definitely on top of everything in that class and really helped the kids see that learning could be fun. My daughter has taken much from this school and is now in the 4th grade and wished every year that she was still attending Gene Brown! We unfortunately had to move and this is our reason she is not currently enrolled there now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2009

this school is awesome! I recomend everyone to go there..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2009

This is a wonderful school. Principal Binkley is Incredible. The teachers all have such a heart for the kids. We were a little worried about public school but we couldn't be any happier. It has been such a blessing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2008

I can't say enough great things about this school and it's staff. I've heard it called 'the best kept secret in Hendersonville' and I totally agree.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2007

great school, great principal, great teachers. I would recommend this school to anyone.My first grader is very happy. Unfortunately we have to move soon , we hope our next school is as good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2007

Gene Brown Elementary is a great school despite the poor condition of the physical plant. The teachers do an absolutely wonderful job of preparing the kids for success down the road. We had a child transfer from GWB to Merrol Hyde Magnet School seamlessly. The teachers and administrators are caring, loving and they push the kids appropriately. We feel blessed to be part of GWB. Our third grader is doing well and his attitude about going to school is enthusiastic. GWB rocks!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2007

This is a great school! I highly recommend it. The teachers truly care about the kids they are teaching. Mr. Binkley is very involved and you can tell he loves these kids, even though he may have a very difficult job. A principal and teachers like what we have a Gene Brown is what ever school needs to make our kids succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2005

I love this school!They are really involved in your child's learning and improvement. They are also concered about their health and family life, but not in a nosey/none-of-their business kind of way like some places. They host family reading nights and fitness nights where they bring the students and parents together to have fun and be active in their child's education and everyday life. Definitely recommend this school to everyone! Kailey's Mom Kat
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2003

It is a great school the teachers really care and want to help your children learn!!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
41%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 49% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
44%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
63%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 84% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
19%

2010

 
 
27%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 48% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
48%
Science

The state average for Science was 56% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
31%

2010

 
 
61%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 57% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
29%

2010

 
 
21%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
45%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
54%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students63%
African American45%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White66%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Students with disabilities58%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students52%
African American33%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White57%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Students with disabilities42%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students85%
African American83%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities90%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students92%
African American89%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities74%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students45%
African American20%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White53%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Students with disabilities57%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students49%
African American33%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White51%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Students with disabilities72%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students63%
African American53%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White66%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilities43%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students93%
African American93%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White93%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities71%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students51%
African American31%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White59%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Students with disabilities70%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students66%
African American62%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilities80%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students71%
African American69%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Students with disabilities50%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students92%
African American85%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities70%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 76% 67%
Black 15% 23%
Hispanic 7% 7%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 2%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 50%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (615) 264-5819

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

115 Gail Dr
Hendersonville, TN 37075
Phone: (615) 824-8633

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Merrol Hyde Magnet School
Hendersonville, TN




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT