Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 30 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


George A Whitten Elementary School 5

Posted May 12, 2016
- a parent
We've had an amazing experience with this school!! The teachers and staff work very hard to challenge and meet the needs of the diverse learners. The teachers and principal have always taken my concerns seriously and quickly resolved them. There have been some "hiccups" in the PTO, but it is currently being resolved with multiple resignations. They are currently re-organizing the PTO and look forward to a great academic 2016-2017 school year.

George A Whitten Elementary School 5

Posted April 27, 2016
- a parent
LOVE this school! i went here as a child, just purchased my childhood home and now my daughters go/will go here. The teachers are amazing and always keep you in the loop!


George A Whitten Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted February 19, 2016
- a parent
Our teacher is always quick to email back but never wants to resolve any of my concerns just "sweep them under the rug"

George A Whitten Elementary School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted February 19, 2016
- a parent
My student can do her weekly homework in 10 minutes it's not challenging enough .

George A Whitten Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted February 19, 2016
- a parent
The students are expected to behave and respect the staff. Also they are expected to be well mannered


George A Whitten Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted February 19, 2016
- a parent
Certain students have excluded my child and nothing had been done. In fact it's been encouraged for them to have cliques. I'm glad it doesn't bother my child but it bothers me that the teacher let's it go on

George A Whitten Elementary School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted February 19, 2016
- a parent
I'm not sure as far as the principal and other teachers but our teacher isn't very fair she has picked favorites

George A Whitten Elementary School 1

Posted February 19, 2016
- a parent
We have a kindergartner and have had the worst experience at this school. Teacher doesn't take parents concerns seriously, doesn't allow free flowing thoughts from the children. The pto is a joke almost non existent, hardly any events, no parent involvement. We are moving out of this district because of our terrible experience. Do not send your child here. Worst school in hendersonville!


George A Whitten Elementary School 5

Posted August 29, 2013
- a community member
This is a great school and has very good and dedicated teachers. I think all who are associated with the school are happy with the way the children are educated and cared for.

George A Whitten Elementary School 3

Posted August 11, 2010
- a parent
As far as communication with parents in the upper grades, this does seem to be a problem. We have traveled to many place and my daughter has been to a few schools. Registration day has always been a time at other schools to get to know each of the teachers, and for the teachers to get to know each student and parent individually while they could. I took my daughter for reg day, and the teacher didn't seem interested to know about my daughter and concerns I may have had. She seemed to rush us through. I didn't like that much and still don't. But over all my daughter seems to get along well there. The kids are all really nice and she says she likes her teacher. I do like some of the programs they do as well to ensure that all the kids get along.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

George A Whitten Elementary School
140 Scotch Street, Hendersonville, TN  37075
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. (615) 824-3258
Last modified George A Whitten Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top