Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Hendersonville Christian Academy

Private | PK-12 | 11 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Hendersonville

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $183,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $770.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 23, 2012

I have an 8th grader and 5th grader at HCA and we have had a very positive experience. THe environement is safe and the teachers and staff have always been available anytime we had a need or question. The teachers are ALWAYS available for before/ after school tutoring and handle situations in a Christ like fashion. We have been very happy and look forward to another stellar year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2012

He have had nothing but a Great experience with HCA. The teacher's there just love on your children and wants what's best for them. The staff is great for always letting you know of things going on and events coming up. I can not say anything bad about this school, we have been very pleased!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2012

I have been involved with HCA for 5 years. My son started in K-3 and is now in 3rd grade. He is an excellent reader and can spell any word you ask him to spell! It is wonderful to see him grow and learn in a loving, caring enviornment. The class sizes are small, the opportunities for the students to grow and learn are available, and the teachers are well educated. Mr. Slater has done a fabulous job leading, guiding and directing the school. I thank God for HCA!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2012

We have been at HCA for several years. I cant say enough good things about the caring Godly staff that are with my children every day. I know my children are learning from expereinced teachers and are walking with God daily. I would highly reccomend this scgool for any age.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2012

Wonderful school. An incredible environment for my children to be in, exactly what I want for my kids. The staff and faculty are great, they live the principles I want my children to have, they serve as great role models. The academic level is challenging and rewarding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2011

Preschool program was a good experience for my child. He had a great teacher and the children and parents were wonferful. My child went there at 3 and is now 7 and still has friends from the class, as do I with some parents. There is a lot of clicks with the parents and staff though, and I often felt out of place, which should not be happening with adults but sadly it does. I think the elementary is good, but the high school academics are lacking. Overall it was a good experience for my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2011

HCA is a terrific school. When we moved to TN we weren't sure where our kids would attend. They were in a Christian school in another state. Several people recommended HCA and we are glad they did. We are thankful for the emphasis on faith and academics. The kids are excited about learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2011

Excellent school. Our children have been in two other private, Christian schools and HCA is by far the best. The teachers care for each of the students and the administration listens to suggestions. We like the emphasis on fine arts. Our kids achievement test scores have been very good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2011

All of our children attended HCA from elementary school through high school. We found excellent, caring teachers and very good leadership. Our kids still talk about what they learned at HCA. Our youngest is in college right now and our oldest have finished college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2011

As a graduate of HCA I appreciate the preparation I received for college. My GPA in high school was pretty good and I have about the same GPA in college. I was able to get into my college of first choice and received some academic scholarships.


Posted February 11, 2011

This school is pretty good until you get into the high school level. At that point, the education goes down hill. There are not enough classes offered and a couple of the teachers should not be teaching anything! The academic level is substandard, but the Christian environment is what you are paying for. My child should have been able to do much better on their ACT tests, but they just didn't know the material. The sports are good and the fine arts that are offered. I like the smaller atmosphere, but there are issues with some administrators.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2010

We have been very happy with HCA for each of our four children. Parents are encouraged to be involved. It is very common for parents to volunteer for all sorts of things. There are two different parent groups - HCA Ambassadors and the Advancement Team.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2010

I would not recommend this school. Please, before you send your childen here: be sure that you are okay with having NO say in the education or policies; and are prepared to put up with alot of student issues like bullying, teasing and fighting. Some of the teachers are great, but others are just not . The experience was very hurtful, not what I expected from a Christian school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2010

Have been pleased with preschool - 3rd grade. Anything beyond that has been very disappointing. Huge bullying problem that does not seem to be dealt with. Are not interested in parent-teacher type program....even for feedback purposes. Just disappointed.....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2010

The staff doesn't deal with bullying. They allow students to bully other students online and during school hours on cell phones.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2007

This is the best school. I loved attending there. It provided with a fabulous education and prepared me for college in so many ways. The teachers are amazing and they are always willing to help those in their classes. Sports are great. They have an excellent headmaster and high school principal. I would not have choosen to attend any where else.


Posted June 8, 2004

A great school with top-notch education! The teachers and administration truly care about your child's well-being -- emotionally, physically, intellectually, and spiritually. Teachers always have the time to talk to you. You feel as if they are there to help you educate your child -- not that they are there to educate your child and you can be involved as long as you don't disagree with them. And the education is consistently excellent. My child scores well-above average on his national and statewide achievement tests even though he is just an average student in his class. I highly recommend the school. It's small enough to provide my child with individualized attention but large enough to provide him with sufficient social interaction and extracurricular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 88% 67%
Hispanic 5% 7%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 2%
Black 2% 23%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Baptist
Associations
  • AACS

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

355 Old Shackle Island Road
Hendersonville, TN 37075
Phone: (615) 824-1550

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Merrol Hyde Magnet School
Hendersonville, TN




Robert E Ellis Middle School
Hendersonville, TN


Hendersonville High School
Hendersonville, TN



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT