Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Hendersonville Montessori Academy

Private | PK-6 | 50 students

Our school is best known for its Montessori based instruction.
 
 

 
 

Living in Hendersonville

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $183,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $770.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 14, 2012

This is my son's 3rd year at HMA and I can not believe how much he has grown. He is now in 1st grade and LOVING every day! Each night we talk about the things he is learning and he is so excited to share. Not only is this school academic, but they also focus on nutrition, manners, problem solving, public speaking, recycling and the planet earth. The school recently was expanded and now their "outdoor" classroom lessons are one of my son's favorite things. You are not going to find endless hours of homework when you get home, but you will be amazed with the amount of drive and curiosity your independent children will express. Each child is treated as an individual and their education plan has no limits!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2012

My child has been attending HMA for two years and will continue until his grade level is no longer offered. What he has learned in two years is amazing. When I pick him up from school, the first thing he says is, "Why are you here so early?". He LOVES school! He consistently tells me, "School is awesome!". People are constantly amazed at what I tell them he is learning as a kindergartener. The great thing is that they tailor his learning to his ability. The teachers are wonderful! HMA is the best investment we could make in our child. Are you happy with your child's elementary school? Consider Hendersonville Montessori Academy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2011

This is a safe school where the teachers are lovely people who genuinely care about the children. That said, the academics are lacking (my child made almost no academic progress while attending)and they feed the kids snacks like pudding and twinkies on a regular basis. Also, EVERY DAY at 4-ish the TV is turned on for the remaining kids to watch until their parents pick them up. Having attended another Montessori, I can say HMA ts a good school, but not a great one. They give a Montessori handbook when you start, yet break several of the tennants of the Montessori method every day. I would not send another child there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2011

The teachers at CDMS will unlock the potential in your child. Both my kids love the school, adore the teachers and most importantly love to learn. I like small & protective environment. Great place to start your toddler or pre K child. Its the only small school that offers great diverse environment. The director is firm & fair. A great learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2009

Country Day has been amazing for both my daughter and myself! The wisdom and knowledge the staff has in working with children and their ability to understand how the mind of a child operates is fascinating. Not only has the school helped my daughter to grow, they have helped me grow as a parent. My daughter is doing things in 1st grade that I didn't do until 6th! If you want to join an educational family and really watch your child bloom, I recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2009

It has been several years now, but the early education my son received at CDMS was excellent. The little guys have necessary structure, but because it is Montessori, they are also taught to be self motivated & to think for themselves.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2009

My child has been at CDMS for three years. It is a wonderful experience. My child is challenged academically and has learned an incredible amount in a variety of areas.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2008

I love this school and the Montessori Method followed here. Both my children have attended Country Day and I wish the school went through High School! I feel the teachers cared about each of my children as a whole person, academically, socially and physically. I strongly recommend Country Day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2008

My son has attented school at cdm since he was 23 months, WE LOVE IT. The teachers there did wonders for my son. He has gone from a discipline problem to an independant strong learner with wonderful manners and a thirst for knowledge. This school is well worth the money.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2008

I would not recommend this school if you are interested in receiving a quality education. Unless you are interested in a day care or intend for your child to complete their kindergarten year at Country Day Montessori, they will receive an adequate education at best. Check it out, but make sure to investigate other options.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2007

A hidden treasure. Much personal attention from a caring staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Latin
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Outdoor learning lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15 am
School end time
  • 3:30 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 5:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AMS

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori
  • Multi-aged
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Remediation
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Library
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Science Fair
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Create materials for classroom
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

162 New Shackle Island Road
Hendersonville, TN 37075
Website: Click here
Phone: (615) 264-3401

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Merrol Hyde Magnet School
Hendersonville, TN






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT